RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > POWER TRAIN GARAGE FORUMS > Cummins Engines
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2021, 12:11 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 106
Oil pressure indication issues

I had posted regarding this issue several months ago with no resolution, so I have done more research and will try again. 1st, I have a single oil pressure "switch" and not a sender. 2nd, I have the Cummins service bulletin that shows the procedure to convert the "sender" to a "switch" and how to reflash the ECU to simply see and indicate (on the dashboard gauge) 55 psi. It also sends a 55 PSI signal to my Silverleaf system. It appears to have been converted, per service bulletin 3377931 after January 2006. Here is the link to the SB. file:///C:/Users/Accounting/Desktop/Oil%20Pressure%20Switch%20Installation.html. To avoid any arguments, I have a switch, not a sender. I have a single switch. No other device is sending OP info to the ECU or gauge. It began as a temporary malfunction, but now, when I turn the ignition on, the OP gauge pegs at max, check engine light. oil light and buzzer all alarm. The op switch is normally closed, so it appears the ECU is looking for an open, rather than closed circuit to indicate the pre-programmed 55 PSI. The error message is "engine oil pressure.....low voltage". Was able to clear the fault code before, but now it throws the code the moment the ignition switch is in the on position, prior to starting. Weather permitting, I hope to install a new pressure switch. I have seen others with this issue, one with the screen name EPP.....Looking for input from those that have had this same issue and found a resolution. Thanks
reosw is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-22-2021, 12:47 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
ArtJoyce's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Ohio
Posts: 495
I would double check the actual actual pressure. On my ISB there is a OP test port just above the the oil filter. I think its a 1/8" plug. Looking at you from the top of the filter mount. When I checked it when I was having pressure problems it was at about 65 psi cold, figured it was because it was so much closed to the oil pump then the sensor/switch.

I also did the SB that changed the sensor 3 wire to the sensor or switch to 2 wire. A few time I have seen it pegged with out even starting the engine. Over time when it happens, I have found to turn the ignition switch on for a few seconds and off for a few seconds, repeating for 4 - 5 times and it seems to clear it. I do not get high OP warning or alarms.

The other thin is there is a OP bypass valve. Easy to take out,
but a pain to get the threads started because of the spring is fighting you. It is also on that filter mount. It's a nut maybe 17 -19 MM. There is a very strong coil spring and a piston that should freely move up and down. I checked mine to make sure there were no burs and it traveled freely. The piston should be able to be pulled out by sticking your finger into it.
__________________
Art & Joyce
Thornville, OH
35' DP Endeavor being pushed by a Kia Soul
ArtJoyce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 01:03 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
ArtJoyce's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Ohio
Posts: 495
I was thinking a little more about it. As a 2 wire sensor/switch there is only two states. On or off. But the OP is monitored for three condition, Low, normal, and high. So when its pegged is it a result of it trying to light up a idiot light? So when it is pegged does it representing either a low or high OP???
__________________
Art & Joyce
Thornville, OH
35' DP Endeavor being pushed by a Kia Soul
ArtJoyce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 02:18 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 106
The change in 2006 was to a single wire "switch" The switch itself it grounded to the block so only one wire is required. Several variations of the problem have occurred, Initially the "gauge" going straight to 55 psi the moment the ignition was in the on position. Then I began getting the pegged gauge, check engine light and flashing oil idiot light on the display panel, along with the same buzzer used to indicate low air pressure. I was able to clear the check engine light with my Silverleaf diagnostics and noted the error engine oil pressure....low voltage. As you stated, the switch has only 2 states...closed or open, so it could not sense a high oil pressure condition, only low. At this point, the ECU throws the code the moment the ignition is on without starting the engine, so high OP cant be the issue. I clear it and it immediately throws another fault code, so the actual OP cant be the issue. I do have a new switch and harness and hope to take advantage of the warm weather to change this week. If that does not solve the issue, I assume Ill attempt to get in touch with Cummins tech support.
reosw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 03:22 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
vito.a's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 4,817
Is this a Cummins ISC engine?
These engines are used in lots of heavy equipment that only requires the Cummins oil pressure sensor. Most coach builders install a second oil pressure sensor for the dash.
Regardless, I would replace it. Many times you can replace them from inside the coach through the hatch.
__________________
97 Monaco Windsor- Sold
07 Monaco Executive McKinley- Sold
04 Monaco Signature Chateau IV
vito.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2021, 07:10 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 106
ISL 400. If there were a second "sender" for the dash gauge, how/why would it provide a constant 55 PSI indication, exactly the same as the reflashed ECU sends after the conversion from a sender to a switch mandated by the 2006 SB from Cummins which eliminated the sender and reprogrammed the ECU. This, from the SB conversion from a 3 wire sender to a 1 wire switch. "With the engine running, monitor the engine oil pressure in INSITE™ electronic service tool. If correctly installed, INSITE™ electronic service tool will show 397 kPa [55 psi] plus or minus 7kPa [1 psi]." Here is the link to the SB. file:///C:/Users/Accounting/Desktop/Oil%20Pressure%20Switch%20Installation.html
reosw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2021, 01:16 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 106
Spoke with Cummins this morning and the "switch" is directly connected to pin 47 of the ecu which was re-flashed during the sensor to switch conversion to send 55 PSI info to any device attached to it, which is why the gauge and silverleaf both show 55. Silverleaf continues to show 55 when the gauge pegs, but given the check engine light it triggered at the same time the gauge pegs, they must be fed by the same source. In fact, resetting the error code momentarily causes the gauge to drop back to 55 PSI so the ECU is driving the gauge.
reosw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2021, 02:30 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 106
Finally validated.....from Freightliner. "Hi Jim,

Your assumption is correct, FCCC did not add any other oil sending unit on this unit. In addition, can’t speak at all about any Cummins modification as to what it may have changed. In the original gauge, normal range was between 30-65 psi, but again this may not be relevant today after a Cummins modification.

....and from Newmar when I asked if they installed any oil pressure related harware "That actually will be chassis which I believe for you is Freightliner".
reosw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2021, 12:39 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 106
FWIW, the interface between the engine and instrument panel is far more complex than simply a sensor/sender for a gauge, ecu, etc. There is a vehicle data computer that receives info from the ECU on a 2 wire data buss. The VDC then sends information to the message center (the array of led warning lights) and the gauges. There is NO direct connection between any sender/sensor and and MC or the gauges. I will post a separate thread regarding this for anyone troubleshoot any gauge issue in a similar setup. there are numerous pages of troubleshooting and wiring diagrams will be happy to share with anyone having issues.
reosw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2021, 07:44 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Damion's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Rice Lake, Wisconsin
Posts: 711
If you haven't done the upgrade to the 0-55 switch?
The old Oil Sensor 3408428 which Cummins discontinued go to Amazon and search for 4921511. There is no official cross reference for it but it works just like the old one and for $20!! Been running one for 15,000 miles now and no problem!
__________________
2003 National Tradewinds LTC 7374 FL XC-Chassis IFS, Steer Safe, 8.3 ISC 350 Cummins, 3000MH Allison, 2015 Equinox, Blue Ox Tow-Bar, Brake Master Air Over Hyd
Damion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2021, 07:13 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Farmington Hills, Michigan
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damion View Post
If you haven't done the upgrade to the 0-55 switch?
The old Oil Sensor 3408428 which Cummins discontinued go to Amazon and search for 4921511. There is no official cross reference for it but it works just like the old one and for $20!! Been running one for 15,000 miles now and no problem!

Damion, what engine(s) and model years is 4921511 oil pressure switch replacement for?

I found this Service Bulletin on Cummins QuickServe. The TSB attached but here is summary:
"(3377931) Oil Pressure Switch Installation". "This Service Bulletin provides instructions to install oil pressure switch, Part Number 4076930.
The oil pressure switch and oil pressure switch electrical cable kit will update the oil pressure sensor to an oil pressure switch on ISB, QSB5.9, ISC, QSC8.3, ISL, and, QSL9 engines....
Recalibration of the ECM could possibly be required with this procedure.
ECMs which have the original production calibration code installed will need to be recalibrated. ECMs which have a calibration code installed that came from a May 2002 INCAL™ Calibration CD-ROM, or later, will not require recalibration. If a persistent Fault Code 141 exists, after the pressure switch installation, the ECM must be recalibrated."
__________________
2004 Holiday Rambler Imperial 40PKD, Cummins ISL 400
Lowflyer1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2021, 08:34 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 106
The SB was accomplished long before I purchased the coach. OP has always indicated 55ish on the gauge and 55 on the Silverleaf VMSpc . I have a new switch ready to install, but fear given how complex the VDC connection are, it may not be that simple.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sb.png
Views:	3
Size:	35.5 KB
ID:	319592   Click image for larger version

Name:	sl.png
Views:	3
Size:	313.2 KB
ID:	319593  

Click image for larger version

Name:	pc2.png
Views:	2
Size:	117.6 KB
ID:	319594  
reosw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2021, 09:06 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,105
A couple years ago I was working with another IRV2 member with an ISC engine that he just purchased. His symptoms were the engine would not rev up and warning light was on. After some research I suspected it was the oil pressure sender. He took it to a Cummins shop and they ended up changing the sender but the new one was a switch, which required the ECM to be reprogrammed. He only saw 55psi on the gauge after that.



My silverleaf shows actual oil pressure so I don't have a switch, which IMHO is better as with a switch you don't know you have a problem until you have a problem. I had a Ford 460 and I started having oil pressure problems, installed an actual gauge to confirm. It ended up being a failed weld on the oil pickup tube (one of many problems I had and fixed with the Ford engine/chassis) but that's another story!
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2021, 09:35 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 106
My engine revs fine, but Im unclear if the check engine light has triggered a limp mode as I have not driven it since the issue appeared. Freightliner sent me a great deal of troubleshooting documentation, but none includes the OP gauge/light/check engine fault. The switch modification was done long before we purchase the coach in 2012, and has always indication 55ish on the gauge and exactly 55 on the SilverLeaf monitor. Given silverleaf receives its info directly from the ECU, but the instrument panel info runs thru the Vehicle Data Computer, I tend to think the issue is somewhere in the VDC network. The attached shot is before the issue occurred.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	unnamed.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	51.7 KB
ID:	319713  
reosw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cat



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
0 Oil Pressure indication 00MonDip Cummins Engines 3 08-09-2020 05:48 PM
Low oil pressure | erratic oil pressure | inconsistant oil pressure GlennLever Cummins Engines 45 08-28-2014 09:24 AM
Fuel Indication issues BusDrivr Tiffin Owner's Forum 2 05-28-2014 07:29 PM
Inside Dual - No Pressure Indication rag_ftw Class A Motorhome Discussions 13 05-06-2011 08:20 AM
Concerns over oil pressure indication on an ISB BlueLine Cummins Engines 25 02-14-2011 03:53 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.