RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > POWER TRAIN GARAGE FORUMS > Cummins Engines
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2018, 10:48 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 3
Where is Pressure Sensor

I have a 2000 Coachmen Sportscoach Freighliner chassis with a Cummins 5.9 isb. The oil pressure gauge indication is erratic but mostly is peggeg out on high. So far I have verified that the oil pressure is normal, swapped out the oil pressure gauge with a different one and it is not a gauge problem. I can only find one sensor, the one that operates the check engine light and chime. I can not locate the other one that sends the signal to the gauge. Any idea where it maybe located
trijet is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-20-2018, 11:03 AM   #2
Member
 
Truckerdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Flushing, Michigan
Posts: 83
Not 100% sure on your model but look along the side of the block where the cam shaft would be. Lots of engines the pressure gauge ties into the cam shaft bearings.
Truckerdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2018, 11:05 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 21,148
Welcome to iRV2.

When you confirmed , the engine oil pressure , did you remove the Cummins oil pressure sender and install a manual gauge?

It is possible that Coachman installed their own sending unit; rather that share info from the Cummins unit, for the dash gauge package; but it will be into the oil distribution gallery that runs the length of the block , down the side of the engine at the same height as the Cummins sender.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2018, 11:27 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 3
Thanks for the quick replies, I will look for the sender in the areas you both described. When I did confirm the oil pressure with a manual gauge, the Cummins oil pressure sender was removed and the manual gauge was threaded into the hole.

When I spoke to Freighliner last week, they did verify there are two pressure senders but could not tell me where they are located even though it was their gauge package installed in the dash. When I spoke to Cummins they said there are two senders but could not tell me where the one is located that makes the gauge work because Freightliner installed it.
trijet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2018, 11:46 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 21,148
Ok , I didn't realize that Sportscoach used the Freightiner gauge package , or that there were differences in the chassis , between Cat and Cummins installation in the chassis . On my chassis the dash gauge info is shared from the engine ECM.
I'd seen in other posts that the ISC Cummins had two senders , but yours is the first I've seen with the ISB and two.

Just in case you didn't get this info from Freightliner , I'll add it here ; it's too bad that they are no longer supporting , wiring diagrams and schematics for chassis of our vintage in their web site.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Freightliner gauges operation , testing.pdf (127.9 KB, 25 views)
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2018, 08:17 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Damion's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Rice Lake, Wisconsin
Posts: 670
A couple post to read
http://www.irv2.com/forums/f258/1999...rt-401697.html


http://www.irv2.com/forums/f123/350-...or-393172.html
__________________
2003 National Tradewinds LTC 7374 FL XC-Chassis IFS, Steer Safe, 8.3 ISC 350 Cummins, 3000MH Allison, 2015 Equinox, Blue Ox Tow-Bar, Brake Master Air Over Hyd
Damion is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2018, 07:53 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
ladagobago's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: DW Driver -Winter Englewood FL, Summer Willingboro NJ
Posts: 1,359
Blog Entries: 11
I have an ISB in 99 FL and had a oil pressure problem. when I had it fixed it required a new sending unit. there was only one sending unit. Cummins does not have the original replacement but provides a new binary switch only. It requires a minor wiring change and a reprogram of the ECM. It now sets the gauge just above the middle and if the oil pressure drops below 5 lbs it goes to zero.
This is the same as an oil pressure idot light but a really crappy fix by cummins. I would rather have an idiot light. who drives all day watching a single gauge.

I went to a White / blue bird dealer to have it installed and reset the EMC. Much Much less expensive than FL or cummins.
__________________
La Dagobago
99 36 FL Winne Chieftain 5.9 ISB Turbo Cummins DP, 24' box with HD Sporty Hobby of 1970's Suzuki dirt bike restoration. Visit my blog.
ladagobago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2018, 08:53 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Damion's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Rice Lake, Wisconsin
Posts: 670
Disregard my post! Copy paste failed me big time! Sorry! Amazon has $20 sensor that works!
__________________
2003 National Tradewinds LTC 7374 FL XC-Chassis IFS, Steer Safe, 8.3 ISC 350 Cummins, 3000MH Allison, 2015 Equinox, Blue Ox Tow-Bar, Brake Master Air Over Hyd
Damion is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2018, 07:22 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Damion's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Rice Lake, Wisconsin
Posts: 670
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damion View Post
Disregard my post! Copy paste failed me big time! Sorry! Amazon has $20 sensor that works!

I'm not going crazy! If I look at my post on the Android App it comes up all wrong!
See print screen below!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	12p.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	154.0 KB
ID:	211974  
__________________
2003 National Tradewinds LTC 7374 FL XC-Chassis IFS, Steer Safe, 8.3 ISC 350 Cummins, 3000MH Allison, 2015 Equinox, Blue Ox Tow-Bar, Brake Master Air Over Hyd
Damion is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2018, 07:27 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
ladagobago's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: DW Driver -Winter Englewood FL, Summer Willingboro NJ
Posts: 1,359
Blog Entries: 11
I may be listed there but it also state "currently unavailable" It also stated it was for 24 volts. To my knowledge the variable output is not available only the on/off binary sensor is made offered by cummins. I looked everywhere two years ago for a replacement and none were available.
__________________
La Dagobago
99 36 FL Winne Chieftain 5.9 ISB Turbo Cummins DP, 24' box with HD Sporty Hobby of 1970's Suzuki dirt bike restoration. Visit my blog.
ladagobago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2018, 08:32 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Damion's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Rice Lake, Wisconsin
Posts: 670
Quote:
Originally Posted by ladagobago View Post
I may be listed there but it also state "currently unavailable" It also stated it was for 24 volts. To my knowledge the variable output is not available only the on/off binary sensor is made offered by cummins. I looked everywhere two years ago for a replacement and none were available.

Not sure but I believe that is 24 valve engines.
Still out there just more money! $25

https://www.amazon.com/Pressure-Sens.../dp/B071467VCR
__________________
2003 National Tradewinds LTC 7374 FL XC-Chassis IFS, Steer Safe, 8.3 ISC 350 Cummins, 3000MH Allison, 2015 Equinox, Blue Ox Tow-Bar, Brake Master Air Over Hyd
Damion is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2018, 07:22 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
ladagobago's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: DW Driver -Winter Englewood FL, Summer Willingboro NJ
Posts: 1,359
Blog Entries: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damion View Post
Not sure but I believe that is 24 valve engines.
Still out there just more money! $25

https://www.amazon.com/Pressure-Sens.../dp/B071467VCR
Dah. must be senior moment . Looks like some may still find it. I was unable to do so. Commins did tell me it was unavailable and that the engine only needs 5 or more pounds of pressure to be OK> to late for me and very costly too.
It cost me over $200 to get the repair at a dealer plus the cost of the stupid switch and now my oil pressure needle never moves.
__________________
La Dagobago
99 36 FL Winne Chieftain 5.9 ISB Turbo Cummins DP, 24' box with HD Sporty Hobby of 1970's Suzuki dirt bike restoration. Visit my blog.
ladagobago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2018, 09:44 AM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 3
I orderd and just received this oil pressure sensor from amazon (New Oil Pressure Sensor for Cummins Dodge 98.5 - 02 24V 4921511). Installed it last night and my oil pressure indication problem was solved. No more erratic gauge movement with it pegged out on high. Do not go to FL or Cummins to have a swithch installed and computer reprogramed for hundreds and hundreds of dollars. This is a direct replacement for the old malfunctioning sensor and it takes 5 minutes to replace.
trijet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2018, 08:03 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Damion's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Rice Lake, Wisconsin
Posts: 670
Still working fine on my ISC 8.3 Also!
I found it on another forum and what the heck for $20 worth a try!
I connected wire and turned on key, connected air hose with gauge and regulator,
Ran it up and down and work perfect on gauge and ScanGaugeD.
__________________
2003 National Tradewinds LTC 7374 FL XC-Chassis IFS, Steer Safe, 8.3 ISC 350 Cummins, 3000MH Allison, 2015 Equinox, Blue Ox Tow-Bar, Brake Master Air Over Hyd
Damion is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low oil pressure | erratic oil pressure | inconsistant oil pressure GlennLever Cummins Engines 45 08-28-2014 09:24 AM
Low Power> No Boost> Pressure Sensor zinom Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 5 07-26-2010 08:58 PM
Pressure Pro Sensor Leaking? ronboc MH-General Discussions & Problems 12 01-18-2007 05:11 PM
Pressure Pro Sensor clearance on Accuride wheels wagonmaster2 MH-General Discussions & Problems 13 04-11-2006 05:29 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.