Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > POWER TRAIN GARAGE FORUMS > Caterpillar Engine Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2021, 07:49 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Siletz OR
Posts: 173
No start

Got a Cat C12 2KS04626, engine will not start, got a flash code 34, engine speed sensor, this may explain the random "Hiccup" i get from time to time while driving. I am hoping someone out there has messed with this issue before, all the diagrams say the sensor is located on the front cover, but i got no sensors on the front cover. I did however manage to find this little bugger sitting on the bottom of the engine right in front of the oil pan directly under where the crank would be. i know the engines in the pushers may be assembled a little differently. I called a few diesel shops and they are unsure as well seeing as how i am also supposed to have 2 of those sensors but there is only one.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	speed sensor.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	27.5 KB
ID:	324113  
bowhunter72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-06-2021, 08:01 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Siletz OR
Posts: 173
May have juts figured it out, some one juts sent me a diagram, this particular engine does not use the 3 wire, it used the 2 wire and the 2 wire is located under the engine and the cam sensor is behind the front cover.
bowhunter72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2021, 08:07 PM   #3
Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Georgie Boy Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NORTH CAROLINA
Posts: 97
But did ya get it to start>>>>>>>
denforent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2021, 08:17 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Siletz OR
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by denforent View Post
But did ya get it to start>>>>>>>
No not yet, from my understanding the crank sensor is the secondary sensor, it is used for starting, once the engine starts, the primary sensor, which is the cam sensor takes over. so i am looking at getting the crank sensor out and run my multi meter on it and see if its stuck open.
bowhunter72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2021, 09:55 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Siletz OR
Posts: 173
https://www.facebook.com/10000176313...9305422138189/

Anyone know what is causing this while cranking? this is my fuel pressure.
bowhunter72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2021, 05:34 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
CountryB's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 5,387
Watch this video.

__________________
Mike --- 2005 Beaver Patriot Thunder CAT C13 525HP, Vicksburg 42ft, with HydraLift ---
*SMC-Bvr-Mnco History/Chassis Info https://1drv.ms/f/s!AtvAXw_lfqbToxXYREK9YdBP08Jn
*SMC-Bvr-Mnco Wiring Diagrams https://1drv.ms/f/s!AtvAXw_lfqbTm0WTuuNqpn9a8hCh
CountryB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2021, 11:36 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Siletz OR
Posts: 173
Turns out I got a bad ECM, ran through a few tests, then sent it off to a place in texas, they tested it and found the processor was bad. $895 for a new ECM.
bowhunter72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2021, 12:49 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Siletz OR
Posts: 173
Update: Took the MH out for its first run with the new ECM, ran great, hiccup from last year is gone, but i am guessing the stock software is different then what i had, engine has been derated before i could climb a 6% grade at 50 mph, now i can barely pull 40 mph.
bowhunter72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
no start



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1of 4 generator start switches will not start genny Jeff753 Monaco Owner's Forum 6 09-05-2013 07:07 PM
2000 tropical start not start charlespool Class A Motorhome Discussions 20 01-17-2013 09:28 AM
Generator Start/Start Switch Issues ExplEngineer Class A Motorhome Discussions 10 10-29-2012 10:12 AM
Only start on Aux Start tulsa Monaco Owner's Forum 18 12-05-2011 02:46 PM
1999 ISC/330 no start, suspect start/run solenoid location question daveshan Cummins Engines 0 11-05-2011 05:36 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.