RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > POWER TRAIN GARAGE FORUMS > Allison Transmission Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 06-09-2020, 07:09 AM   #1

6 Speed Allison Transmission Question

Hello all -- First of all, let me say that I am in no way a mechanic and cannot do much repairs by myself. I am a CPA by profession, so I am a "desk jockey", but we do love our motor coach and want to continue traveling in it. We understand that a diesel coach is more expensive to maintain, and we just recently experienced that. We have a 2015 Thor Palazzo 36.1 model DP with less than 20k miles on it. Over the Memorial Day weekend, we were all set for our first 4 day weekend in over 3 months (due to COVID, of course) and when we were all set to go, I pushed the transmission button to "Drive" once I released the brake, and nothing happened. We have one of those push button transmission "Shift by Wire" systems (manufactured by Arens) designed to automate the gear selection of the Allison transmission. The "Service" light on the keypad was flashing, so obviously something was wrong and we did not get to even leave the driveway. After a mobile tech trouble shot the system, he determined the Shift by Wire system in the back of the coach had gotten water in it and apparently shortened something out. Anyway, $2,400 later, we were in business. We test drove it and all appeared good, except I did not notice that the system was not downshifting when I took my foot off the accelerator and the little green "gear looking" icon on the dash board would not illuminate. We just recently went to Missouri (we live in Louisiana) this past weekend for our granddaughter's high school graduation and that is when I noticed it. I'm not certain how this push button system works, especially the "mode" button. Does anyone know whether or not the system wasn't programmed corr