RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > POWER TRAIN GARAGE FORUMS > Allison Transmission Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2010, 04:28 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
don-deb's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Mt. Olive Shores North......RV community ( winter )
Posts: 149
Allison tranny question ???/

We have a 06 Phaeton 35DH with a Cat 350 and a Allison 6 speed. Today we were on our way to enjoy one of the last weekends we will be using the coach until next season. :(

All of a sudden 2 red lights came on the dash.....one says " check tranny " the other says " shift inhibitor ".....The tranny was stuck in 4th gear.....I couldn't shift it or put it in neutral. What is that all about ?

I pulled to a safe area.....shut down....checked the tranny fluid. All was good. Started back and it was back to normal. The rest of the trip was flauless.

Any ideas ????

Thanks
__________________

__________________
2009 Tiffin Phaeton 40 QTH
2007 Honda CR-V
and our..... Chocolate Lab
don-deb is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-30-2010, 06:03 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Mike Canter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
Don it may have just been a erronous trouble indication or a warning that something is wrong. I don't know how you checked your fluid level but my guess is using the dipstick. What you should do is to check it with the Allison transmission operator keypad. If the transmission fluid is above 140*F then park it on a real level surface with the motor running, give the transmission 5 minutes for the fluid to settle in the pan then you push both the up and down arrows on the keypad at the same time and it will read the fluid level. After the fluid level it will check for error codes and may tell you if you have a problem or not. This is Allison's prefered way of checking the fluid level.

It should explain all this in the Allison operators manual that came with the MH. If not then you can download a copy here
http://www.allisontransmission.com/s...t=OM3349EN.pdf
__________________

__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 06:50 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
don-deb's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Mt. Olive Shores North......RV community ( winter )
Posts: 149
Mike.......thanks for the info. I didn't know about the key pad test....interesting. I checked it the old fashion way.......on a flat surface with the dip stick.

The fluid was clean ( just changed when I purchased 5 weeks ago ) and full. I'll do the key pad test today.......when we get ready to break camp. I didn't think it was a total tranny failure.......with only 26,000 miles on the coach................BUT
__________________
2009 Tiffin Phaeton 40 QTH
2007 Honda CR-V
and our..... Chocolate Lab
don-deb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 07:16 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
HD4Mark's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Marathon, Florida
Posts: 2,909
The up down arrow check needs the tranny to be warm. I tried it with ours after a 45 min drive and got an error code. Nervously got out the manual and all it was telling me is that it was not warm enough to check it. The dash gauge stays so low I wasn't sure it worked at first.
__________________
Mark & Nancy
2004 Winnebago Vectra 40KD
Shep dog, R.I.P. Kenzie dog Toad 2015 Jeep Wrangler Willys Wheeler
HD4Mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 07:43 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Mike Canter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
Thanks Mark, I was just going to tell Don that. It is never going to work after a warmup just in the campground and you will get a code saying it is too cold.
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 09:49 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
don-deb's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Mt. Olive Shores North......RV community ( winter )
Posts: 149
OK........thanks guys. We have about a 2 hour ride home.........I'll give it a check.....using the control pad.... when its home in the driveway.

I'll post my findings.

Thanks again...........
__________________
2009 Tiffin Phaeton 40 QTH
2007 Honda CR-V
and our..... Chocolate Lab
don-deb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 10:19 AM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 10,530
If I'm not mistaken, you can also access historic error codes too by pressing both up and down arrows again following your fluid level check. This might give you an idication of why it locked up in the first place. The definition of error codes is in your manual.

Rick
__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 11:05 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Mike Canter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
Go to page 95 tpo review how to read error codes.
http://www.allisontransmission.com/s...t=OM3349EN.pdf
\
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 11:59 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
One thing to consider... The computer that controls the tans is an electronic device with leads.. This means that it can be "Glitched" by a very strong RF field.. NORMAL cb or even Ham radios will not bother it (They test it with like 500 watt transmitters in the vehicle believe it or not)

BUT: A CBer with an ILLEGAL Kilowatt or so can be splattering all over the RF spectrum and can, in fact, find a crack in the electronic armor of most any nearby computer.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 01:44 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
don-deb's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Mt. Olive Shores North......RV community ( winter )
Posts: 149
OK.......just got back home........it happen again 2X on the way home. I noticed it happens when Im on a winding ...narrow....up/down hilly road. I had to stop....shut the engine down wait a minute.....then fire back up....then the lights where gone......and it shifted fine.

I did the 2 arrow test on the contol pad......it read.... " 95 " then " --- ". It did that until I put it back in drive.

The thing that confuses me is once on the expressway.......and doing 55/60 mph.....NO lights.....NO problems. This leads me to ASSUME the fluid level is fine ?????

Would the exhaust brake have any effect on the problem ???

Thanks guys........
__________________
2009 Tiffin Phaeton 40 QTH
2007 Honda CR-V
and our..... Chocolate Lab
don-deb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 02:22 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Mike Canter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
Hmmm a 95 code means a sensor failure for the fluid level. See page 62.

The big thing is did you hit the up and down arrows the second time to read fault codes? You can do that without the transmission being at operating temps. Read page 95 especially where is talks about reading the codes and the MODE LED to tell you if it is active or a code in history. This test it what is going to tell you more.

Yes the exhaust brake can cause a problem because the transmission is re-programed for the exhaust brake and there is a wire that goes from the exhaust brake to the transmission so it knows to start downshifting when the exhaust brake comes on. Also that fluid level sensor can be the problem.

You should get a four number fault code if you press both arrows twice, Onece you get a fualt code then write it down and press the MODE button to step to the next fault code. Keep writing them down and presssing the MODE button until you get them all.The codes are listed starting on page 102.
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 02:54 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
don-deb's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Mt. Olive Shores North......RV community ( winter )
Posts: 149
OK.....Mike.......I'll give that a try tomorrow morning..........see what I get for fault codes.

Thanks
__________________
2009 Tiffin Phaeton 40 QTH
2007 Honda CR-V
and our..... Chocolate Lab
don-deb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 07:05 PM   #13
Registered User
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,954
I betting on a loose/dirty connection at the tranny....
Midniteoyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 10:56 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
don-deb's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Mt. Olive Shores North......RV community ( winter )
Posts: 149
Well........I finally got time today to get our coach over to a local authorized Allison tranny shop.

The tech brought up code " d721 " using the key pad. Then plugged in his computer into the service port under the dash......to verify the code.....it was "d721 ". He checks the shop manual .....says its the speed sensor.......tells me it will take about 20 minutes to change.......20 minutes later....DONE. We take it for a road test for about 1/2 hour......... problem solved.

Now we have one more trip planned before we pack her away for the winter.........
__________________

__________________
2009 Tiffin Phaeton 40 QTH
2007 Honda CR-V
and our..... Chocolate Lab
don-deb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question on Upgrading Allison 5 spd to 6 spd Greyghost Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 10 08-23-2010 04:55 PM
Allison Transmission Leaks Beethovin Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 21 12-30-2008 02:03 PM
allison tranny spin on filter diebroke Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 11 06-11-2008 04:46 PM
Tranny Swap Question Alarmguy Class C Motorhome Discussions 7 12-26-2005 03:51 PM
Allison Trans Question another Winnie mystery GG1 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 6 10-30-2005 04:10 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×