RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > POWER TRAIN GARAGE FORUMS > Allison Transmission Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2020, 05:02 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
CountryB's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 5,124
How easy is it to replace the temp sensor on a 4000MH?

I'm asking for someone else - but we want to know how easy is it to replace the transmission temp sensor on the Allison 4000MH.

This would be the sensor for oil temp (although it looks like it is above the sump) that Allison uses for TCM (and when checking fluid level via shifter panel).

Not the sensor for the dash gauge, which is on the cooler line.

It looks like it is easy to replace, with no need to drop the pan. From the photos it looks like it has a retaining bolt and the sensor just pulls out of the side of case.

Has anyone done this - and can confirm it is not going to be a problem?
Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Allison Transmission temp sensor location.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	168.8 KB
ID:	302566   Click image for larger version

Name:	Allison temp sensor.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	74.1 KB
ID:	302567  

__________________
Mike ----- 2005 Beaver Patriot Thunder CAT C13 525HP, 42-ft Tag, with HydraLift -----
*SMC-Bvr-Mnco History/Chassis Info https://1drv.ms/f/s!AtvAXw_lfqbToxXYREK9YdBP08Jn
*SMC-Bvr-Mnco Wiring Diagrams https://1drv.ms/f/s!AtvAXw_lfqbTm0WTuuNqpn9a8hCh
CountryB is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-28-2020, 12:04 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 20,786
The image you've posted is an Allison trans with the optional , hydraulic retarder, , does your coach have that ?
Without the hydraulic retarder option the temp sensor could be in a different place.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2020, 05:31 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
CountryB's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 5,124
There is no retarder on this trans.

I expected the temp sensor to be in the sump, but paging through the troubleshooting manual (I don't have a Service manual) the only one I can find is in this external view (that I posted) showing the temp sensor location up high.

The "oil level" sensor is shown in the pan (of course) but no temp sensor that I can find. Unless the temp sensor is part of the level sensor, but the book doesn't mention that.
__________________
Mike ----- 2005 Beaver Patriot Thunder CAT C13 525HP, 42-ft Tag, with HydraLift -----
*SMC-Bvr-Mnco History/Chassis Info https://1drv.ms/f/s!AtvAXw_lfqbToxXYREK9YdBP08Jn
*SMC-Bvr-Mnco Wiring Diagrams https://1drv.ms/f/s!AtvAXw_lfqbTm0WTuuNqpn9a8hCh
CountryB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2020, 09:03 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
CountryB's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 5,124
Okay - so that photo and sensor I posted is not the one that measures oil (sump) temperature. Thanks for clarifying that. The sensor I'm asking about is located in the sump, I'm told.

Is it an "individual" item, or part of another component (like the oil level sensor)?

I have not been able to find anything on-line showing what it looks like or where it is located (or how to replace it), yet.

However, the guy with the problem now reports that the shop thinks the issue is in the wiring and not a faulty sensor.
__________________
Mike ----- 2005 Beaver Patriot Thunder CAT C13 525HP, 42-ft Tag, with HydraLift -----
*SMC-Bvr-Mnco History/Chassis Info https://1drv.ms/f/s!AtvAXw_lfqbToxXYREK9YdBP08Jn
*SMC-Bvr-Mnco Wiring Diagrams https://1drv.ms/f/s!AtvAXw_lfqbTm0WTuuNqpn9a8hCh
CountryB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ace, replace



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing the filters on 4000MH transmission vito.a Allison Transmission Forum 2 12-18-2017 01:58 PM
Allison 4000MH...Cat C-12 505HP gemert Allison Transmission Forum 7 04-06-2015 12:47 PM
Hard Shifting Allison 4000MH thrushl Allison Transmission Forum 10 07-26-2012 12:05 PM
Allison 4000mh with Cat C13 problems num1dgh Country Coach Owners Forum 2 08-11-2011 01:36 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.