RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > POWER TRAIN GARAGE FORUMS > Allison Transmission Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2010, 11:23 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
MD-3060 problem

I am new to the forum and thought I would start off with worthy problem. I have the Allison MD-3060 in a 94 Holiday Rambler with the push button transmission. Right now the transmission is being disabled by the computer and when I run diagnostics I am getting the check code "d1 34 13" which in the manual states "calibration block checksum". Does anyone know what this means or where I can start to look to fix or at least diagnose the problem?

Jake
__________________

Jakespeeds is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-05-2010, 11:45 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
deandec's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 4,288
JMHO. Call Allison to get a more detailed explanation of the code.
__________________

__________________
Dean
1995 38' CC Magna #5280
C8.3L 300hp Cummins, 31,000lbs
deandec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 11:45 AM   #3
a k
Registered User
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,142
Try this

I'd load the whole trouble shooting manual but it is 15MBs.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 34-13.pdf (15.6 KB, 158 views)
a k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 01:33 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Thanks for that page. After reading that I may know what at least caused it. I just the other day replaced the two main batteries. These are the batteries the run the engine as well as a lot of other stuff. Reading that page makes me believe that the transmission ECU maybe lost power and lost its programming. Seems a little incredible that you cannot change the batteries without screwing up some computer somewhere. Looks like Monday I am calling Allison unless someone is up on a fix.

Jake
Jakespeeds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 01:46 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by a k View Post
Try this

I'd load the whole trouble shooting manual but it is 15MBs.
I don't suppose there is a link I can go to so I can just download the whole manual?

Jake
Jakespeeds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 02:16 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Mike Canter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
Jake, what I would try first is to disconnect the batteries again for about 15 minutes then connect them back up and see if it resets it.
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 02:50 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Mike,

Done it several times today and just did it again. No change. Still throwing the same code.

Jake
Jakespeeds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 04:54 PM   #8
a k
Registered User
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,142
Try this
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Code clearing.pdf (84.6 KB, 139 views)
a k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 05:19 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
I had found that procedure earlier this morning. But just to make sure I went out and tried it again just now. The code just won't clear and it won't return to normal operation. Thanks for the post though. I do appreciate the help.

Jale
Jakespeeds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 12:51 PM   #10
a k
Registered User
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,142
Full manual

https://rapidshare.com/files/435307099/TS3989EN.zip
a k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 03:52 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Mike Canter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
Try this
http://www.allisontransmission.com/d...t/OM3349EN.pdf
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 08:26 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Just want to thank everyone for the help ans suggestions. Its all fixed now. After calling Allison it was determined that the ECU needed to be re-flashed. The closest person that could do it was a guy named Andy at Valley Power in Bakersfield. I cannot say enough about Andy or Valley Power. I would recommend them to anyone. They reloaded the software and now everything seems to be working perfectly. I think (after talking to an ECU specialist) that the hard-drive in the ECU had a bad sector. And yes its just a basic computer hard-drive that spins at 2500rpm. So reloading the software the computer ignored the bad sector just like a desktop computer.

Thanks for the manual download links. I have downloaded it and it will be saved and hopefully never needed.

Great forum and I plan on spending a lot of time here looking around.

Thanks
Jake
Jakespeeds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 07:09 AM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Hello everyone, this is my first post so I forgive me if I am in the wrong spot. I have a 4 speed Allison AT542 behind a Cummins 5.9 diesel pusher RV. At 2500rpm I am only doing 70mph. I am thinking about upgrading to a md3060 6 speed? The engine is only 190hp now, but that is fixin to change to around 300 HP! Thanks for any and all suggestions, Scott.
__________________

scotta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dometic Frig Problem dieselclacker RV Systems & Appliances 2 07-29-2009 04:12 AM
Journey slide problem Savannah Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 9 07-20-2009 04:21 PM
Magnadyne DVD Problem - Possible Fix Robin_M Monaco Owner's Forum 21 07-06-2009 08:58 PM
Dash Air Problem JesseJ1826 Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 1 05-31-2009 07:14 PM
Brake problem caused by Florida atmosphere Stockwill Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 13 09-17-2006 07:07 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×