Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > POWER TRAIN GARAGE FORUMS > Duramax Engine Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 11-06-2018, 02:42 PM   #1

Short trips with a diesel

I'm new to having a diesel truck. One of the common warnings I see on RV websites is not to take short trips with your diesel engine. The thing I noticed about these posts is that no one actually says why that is specifically. What happens that is detrimental to the engine with short trips and what can be done to counter these effects?
DC8Captain is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-06-2018, 02:57 PM   #2

Winnebago Owners Club
Our 2007.5 LMM Duramax is equipped with a DPF and it triggers Regen for about 15 minutes every 250 miles or so.
We drive ours when and where we need to sometimes only 30 miles from home.

Our previous MH was equipped with a Cummins 350 and we did the same.
WinnieView is offline   Reply With Quote