Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE CHASSIS CLUB FORUMS > Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-12-2007, 08:43 AM   #1

I am new to the RV world and have a 1996 national RV with 454 and Allison transmission. 6 weeks ago while driving to the in-laws to store the voltage meter on the dash went very low (almost nothing). I parked it at the in-laws and went back two weeks later to check it, then it started and everything ran fine but the voltage gage was still low. I checked the house batteries and they were not good (original from 96) and when checking the chassis battery, the longer the coach ran the lower it got(so I am thinking alternator). So yesterday I replaced the two 6v house batteries and tried to start...nothing. So I push the boost button...nothing. So I take the alternator off and put the chassis battery on charge. Get new alternator, start the coach and the voltage gauge is 13 or 14, Then withing like 5 seconds it goes to 0 and the coach sputters and dies. So I charge the battery again and re-start and the same thing happened. Also this whole time I have no power inside coach and generator will not start. I tried (but do not understand) how to test the converter (is is Magnatec 950 and the original). There are also several relays? solenoids? under the compartment by the converter.
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!