Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE CHASSIS CLUB FORUMS > Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2008, 08:38 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
deputydog's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 358
I have a 2005 Allegro Bay on a 2004 Workhorse Chassis with the 8.1l Chevy and Allison 1000 transmission.

I received the following codes from Joey at ScanGauge and they worked for my ScanGauge. I included the 01 at the end of the TXD code.

Hopefully this will get you the transmission temperature - It worked for my unit.


TXD: 6C18F1221940(01) MAY OR MAY NOT NEED THE 01

RXF: 046205190640

RXD: 3008

MTH: 00090005FFD8

NAM: TFT
__________________
Deputydog
2005 34' Allegro Bay W22/8.1L
Tiffin Coach Owner's Forum Member
deputydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-19-2008, 08:38 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
deputydog's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 358
I have a 2005 Allegro Bay on a 2004 Workhorse Chassis with the 8.1l Chevy and Allison 1000 transmission.

I received the following codes from Joey at ScanGauge and they worked for my ScanGauge. I included the 01 at the end of the TXD code.

Hopefully this will get you the transmission temperature - It worked for my unit.


TXD: 6C18F1221940(01) MAY OR MAY NOT NEED THE 01

RXF: 046205190640

RXD: 3008

MTH: 00090005FFD8

NAM: TFT
__________________
Deputydog
2005 34' Allegro Bay W22/8.1L
Tiffin Coach Owner's Forum Member
deputydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2008, 07:03 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Fred and Bonnie's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pacific Northwest or SoCal
Posts: 3,035
Send a message via ICQ to Fred and Bonnie
Thanks for the info, I just checked the web site and it has been undated also.

Fred
__________________
Fred and Bonnie
2005 Dolphin LX 6375
Abby, Ruffles & Scarlett, "The Cats"
Fred and Bonnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2008, 08:14 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 665
How does one physically update their ScanGauge with these codes and is there a fee?
__________________
Fred Kennerson
2003 Dolphin L/X 6320
Yucaipa, Ca
kennersonf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2008, 10:14 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
deputydog's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 358
I don't have mine in front of me, but you go into the "x-guage" and pick a location to store the codes (0 thru 9 I think) and then press "edit" and put the codes in, one line at a time. They are in order in the post. After you put in the last one, press "save" and you are done. If you mess up you can just go back into "edit" and then "save" after you fix it. Then on gauges screen press any of the selectable buttons until you see the name pop up (TFT in this case) and you're done.

Mine is the latest version, so some might be slightly different and I think some of the older ones did not support "xgauge". You might have to check the website for an upgrade.

Cheers-
__________________
Deputydog
2005 34' Allegro Bay W22/8.1L
Tiffin Coach Owner's Forum Member
deputydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2008, 03:48 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: On The Road
Posts: 101
Hi There: Question. If I buy a new scangauge now will it have all of the codes in it that are applicable to my 02 W-22? And what temp are the 1000 Allisons running at? Thanks Marv
Carvin Marvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2008, 06:10 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Fred and Bonnie's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pacific Northwest or SoCal
Posts: 3,035
Send a message via ICQ to Fred and Bonnie
Marv, the unit comes with the basic trip information preporgramed. The unit has the ability to display four items, it could be trip info or it could be what ScanGuage calls XGuage items. The XGuage items must be programmed in by the owner, since there are several pages of items the owner might wish to track. This a link to ScanGuage home page. This link is more info on the XGuage

Hope this will help explain and hopefully it answers Fred K''s question. Fred K, you can update the older versions of ScanGuage, I believe it's a $28.00 fee

Fred
__________________
Fred and Bonnie
2005 Dolphin LX 6375
Abby, Ruffles & Scarlett, "The Cats"
Fred and Bonnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2008, 07:17 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 665
Thanks Fred. After I posted my question I went to the ScanGauge website and found my answer. I have to send my ScanGuage II to them and they'll upgrade it for $25. I'm leaving on a trip soon, so I'll have to wait until I return.
__________________
Fred Kennerson
2003 Dolphin L/X 6320
Yucaipa, Ca
kennersonf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 03:34 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
deputydog's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 358
Regarding temp of the 1000, I have an Allegro Bay 34' (no toad) and I drove it last week after getting the codes to work and mine is indicating 150? to 155?. That's after driving for over 1 hour in town and on rural roads. At 60 mph it was a steady 150? for over an hour. That's with an ambient temperature of 75? to 80? and I just serviced the fluid. I'm not sure where the temp probe is.
__________________
Deputydog
2005 34' Allegro Bay W22/8.1L
Tiffin Coach Owner's Forum Member
deputydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 05:33 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Fred and Bonnie's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pacific Northwest or SoCal
Posts: 3,035
Send a message via ICQ to Fred and Bonnie
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by deputydog:
Regarding temp of the 1000, I have an Allegro Bay 34' (no toad) and I drove it last week after getting the codes to work and mine is indicating 150? to 155?. That's after driving for over 1 hour in town and on rural roads. At 60 mph it was a steady 150? for over an hour. That's with an ambient temperature of 75? to 80? and I just serviced the fluid. I'm not sure where the temp probe is. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I would say that you are doing good. I made a run from SoCal to Vegas and on level ground the temp was 194º and on long grades it would run up to 209º. The OAT was in the high 80's. We probably are pulling close to 5,000# more than you, with coach and toad.

Fred
__________________
Fred and Bonnie
2005 Dolphin LX 6375
Abby, Ruffles & Scarlett, "The Cats"
Fred and Bonnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 04:32 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Tom N's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Pond Piggies Club
Appalachian Campers
Mid Atlantic Campers
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA
Posts: 4,671
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by deputydog:
I'm not sure where the temp probe is. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

The temperature thermistor probe is in the sump on the pressure switch manifold.

Allison recommends that a temperature sending unit be installed in the line "to the cooler" and the temperature be read there.

Allison's Mechanics Tips publication states the normal operating sump temperature is 160?-200?F. The normal range for the converter out (line to the cooler) temperature is 180?-220?F.

There is no difference in normal operating temperatures between Dexron III and TranSynd.

-Tom
__________________
Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA FMCA 335149 W3TLN
2005 Suncruiser 38R W24, no chassis mods needed 2013 Honda Accord EX-L 2008 Honda Odyssey EX-L

Tom N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 04:38 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Tom N's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Pond Piggies Club
Appalachian Campers
Mid Atlantic Campers
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA
Posts: 4,671
How long is the cable on the ScanGuage??

Has anyone had to order the extra 6' cable??

-Tom
__________________
Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA FMCA 335149 W3TLN
2005 Suncruiser 38R W24, no chassis mods needed 2013 Honda Accord EX-L 2008 Honda Odyssey EX-L

Tom N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 02:45 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Fred and Bonnie's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pacific Northwest or SoCal
Posts: 3,035
Send a message via ICQ to Fred and Bonnie
Tom, not sure where you want to mount the display, mine is just below the IP and I had to coil-up the excess.

Fred
__________________
Fred and Bonnie
2005 Dolphin LX 6375
Abby, Ruffles & Scarlett, "The Cats"
Fred and Bonnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 03:24 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
FreshAir's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: UT/AZ
Posts: 1,417
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Tom N:
How long is the cable on the ScanGuage??

Has anyone had to order the extra 6' cable??

-Tom </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Tom, The standard cable that came with mine is 72".

Pat
__________________
Pat & Denise
2016 Entegra Aspire RBQ
18 Silverado
FMCA 212171
FreshAir is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can a Scangauge II Push Codes? kb7our Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 2 04-18-2008 09:52 AM
Allison Transmission Life Style Monaco Owner's Forum 14 12-21-2007 07:39 PM
W22 and OBD II - Scangauge II or Autotap? Captain Morgan Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 23 06-24-2007 01:04 PM
Allison Transmission/Engine Surge, W22 MACA? bdaball Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 3 01-01-2007 03:04 PM
Allison Transmission Codes GStream40 Allison Transmission Forum 3 11-08-2006 05:59 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.