Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE CHASSIS CLUB FORUMS > Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-05-2021, 03:08 PM   #1

Help...ECM 454 older model

Hi. I know nothing about the combustion engine. Bought a 1993 Pace Arrow 34 foot with a Chevy 454. Chasis batteries and 12v all died over the year. I am new to rv thing, as a pro musician it seemed safe...
Anyway, some fine folks in the park said they knew how to change the batteries. Needless to say, after buying 3 batteries, they caught a 6v and 12v on fire.
Got the power right, a classic car mechanic buddy is doing it, he is a full time mech. It seems now its not getting spark or fuel. We replaced fuses, and got electrical sorted out, it will try to crank but never actually engage. Its a 93, so if the ECM is smoked, I should be able to find a refurbished or something. I read another thread discussing ECMs and I see a few folks who think it might not be...but we replaced fuses, coil on the alternator, burnt cables, batteries...and Im broke lol. Also, the generator, which is gas off the engine, will not engage either.
Thank you for any advice. God bless, drive safe.
brianKGuitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!