Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE CHASSIS CLUB FORUMS > Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-19-2022, 10:34 AM   #1

No start at times

Hello! This is my first time posting on the forum, although I've searched and found answers to many of my questions!

Our 2005 Holiday Rambler Admiral on the Workhorse W22 chassis has me chasing some gremlins.

Most recently we got in to go on a weekend trip and it wouldn't start. Battery connections/ charge etc all looked good. Replaced the ignition switch as some have said it can go bad (even though its the W22 not the P30 chassis). It had started up after replacing the switch and on we went.

Stopped at a gas station, went to start up and nothing. Dash would light up but and a solenoid click on the starter. Figured it had to be the starter. Replaced it while at the gas station, jumped it with a buddies truck and started up. Drove down the street and had dinner, got in and started right up. Figured it was good to go.

Continued on our trip and the next day wouldn't start. Same symptoms. Replaced the starter and still nothing. Put the original starter back in and started up fine. Ugh. Figured had to be bad cell or two in the battery. Got a new battery for the chassis and started up perfect. Seems to be fixed!

Next weekend, starting and running fine. Headed home stop at a gas station and no start again! Dash lights, no click. Try it a dozen times, nothing. About to get out and start looking at connections and whatnot and try it once more and starts right up!