Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE CHASSIS CLUB FORUMS > Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2011, 02:55 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
OBD II Connection on 04 w22

I have a fleetwood Bounder on an 04 workhorse chassis. I am thinking of installing a Scanguage II, But I can't find the connection point. As I don't know what I am looking for, I am hoping someone can tell me where it is located.
Dave Hill
Dave Hill is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-30-2011, 03:04 PM   #2
iRV2 Marketing
 
DriVer's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Coastal Campers
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Conway, SC
Posts: 23,632
Blog Entries: 70
You are looking for a black D shell modular connector. It may have as many as 4 wires coming out of the back of the connector. Fleetwood has located the connector at times in some strange places. It might NOT be mounted and just shoved up under the dash. The connector may have a cover over it but I doubt it.

Typically it will be located to the left side of the steering column since the wires are not all that long. If you do not immediately see it just under the dash look for it shoved up in the wiring under the dash.
__________________
03 Adventurer 38G, Workhorse W22
F&R Track Bars, Safety+ , Ultrapower, Taylor Extremes, SGII
TST 507, Blue Ox, SMI, Koni FSD, CrossFire
RV/MH Hall of Fame - Lifetime Member
DriVer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 10:17 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Brazel's RV Performance's Avatar
Official iRV2 Sponsor
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Centralia, WA
Posts: 1,216
Blog Entries: 6
If I remember correctly, most Bounders have the OBDII connector hidden behind a dash panel. If you look to the left of your steering wheel at the bottom of the trim there may be a separated trim piece that you can unscrew and access the port.
__________________
Jon Brazel
Ultra RV Products 800-417-4559
Brazel's RV Performance 877-786-1576
Brazel's RV Performance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 11:16 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Arch Hoagland's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Clovis, CA, USA
Posts: 11,058
Just went through this a few days ago. My 2004 Monaco LaPalma on the Workhorse 22 chassis has the OBDii port located on the lower left hand side of the the steering column. It is mounted parallel to the floor and is recessed back from the face of the dash about two inchs. I couldn't see it so I had my 8 yearold grandson crawl around under the dash and he found it right away.
I just ordered the UltraGauge for $69.95. All I really wanted was a OBDii reader which I could get for about $25 but figured I go for the $70 deal. Just couldn't justifiy the $130 for a Scangauge. No transmission temp with the UltraGauge.
__________________
2004 Monaco La Palma 36DBD, W22, 8.1, 7.1 MPG
2000 LEXUS RX300 FWD 22MPG 4020 LBS
It's so weird being the same age as old people.
Arch Hoagland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 06:28 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Oemtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Jarrell, TX 76537
Posts: 4,459
Send a message via AIM to Oemtech
Just wait till you put in for the Rebate....

I hav an Ultra Gauge and although it has 3 rotating sceeens of gauges it is a reall PITA to setup... It also has no Xgauge capabilities. The sceen is small an d all the buttons are on the back. It is not field upgradeable. It has has the OBD 2 cable is attached to the gauge. IE you have to unplug it to hide it.
__________________
Dale
AKA - Oemy
Oemtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 09:25 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Oemtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Jarrell, TX 76537
Posts: 4,459
Send a message via AIM to Oemtech
One last thing.... no phone # for any kind of support. Only support is via the web site forum and the guy that runs it is a piece of work. Also, you have to print the User Guide .. 40 page IIRC.

You get what you pay for... I have been waiting 8 weeks for $9 rebate
__________________
Dale
AKA - Oemy
Oemtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 10:07 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Arch Hoagland's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Clovis, CA, USA
Posts: 11,058
oemtech... All you say is true. I researched the thing before I ordered it and pretty much decided the rebate would be a waste of time. Also noticed no phone number and comments on setup being a pain. Also there is no xmission temp. I don't plan on removing it and will mount it to the left of the drivers seat.
I don't plan to use it while driving, I'm more interested in the pending notifications it provides and the code readouts. I've had three check engine lights in the last two years and I want to find out what's causing them. All three times I was climbing a mountain.
They do have a good forum page and have answered all the questions posted on there so that's encouraging.
Does yours give you a fairly accurate water temp reading. My Actia gauge stays in the same spot even while climbing mountains at 100 degrees outside.
__________________
2004 Monaco La Palma 36DBD, W22, 8.1, 7.1 MPG
2000 LEXUS RX300 FWD 22MPG 4020 LBS
It's so weird being the same age as old people.
Arch Hoagland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 07:57 AM   #8
iRV2 Marketing
 
DriVer's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Coastal Campers
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Conway, SC
Posts: 23,632
Blog Entries: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arch Hoagland View Post
I don't plan to use it while driving, I'm more interested in the pending notifications it provides and the code readouts. I've had three check engine lights in the last two years and I want to find out what's causing them. All three times I was climbing a mountain.
Hi Arch, I would like to add that there is no device out there that can provide you with an accurate scan and a trapped DTC like the GM TechII. There have been codes that came up on a TechII that were not trapped by my Scan Gauge II (X-Gauge). I do not expect that any device priced in the range of an Ultra Gauge is going to provide you with the critical insight that you are attempting to obtain.

A "Check Engine" light should issue a DTC and I believe that it will trace back to an emission control process or device.
__________________
03 Adventurer 38G, Workhorse W22
F&R Track Bars, Safety+ , Ultrapower, Taylor Extremes, SGII
TST 507, Blue Ox, SMI, Koni FSD, CrossFire
RV/MH Hall of Fame - Lifetime Member
DriVer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 08:41 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Oemtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Jarrell, TX 76537
Posts: 4,459
Send a message via AIM to Oemtech
The Acita temp gauge is nothing more than a visual idiot light. It's displays in ranges.

I have not tested the Ultra Gauge in the RV yet but the tests I have run it on my 2010 Challenger and the WT shows right on the money.... They should unless the data conversion is off.

One more thing about the Ultra Gauge, the latest upgrade is to display metric data. This is odd as the data stream is in metric (Lambda) to start with.

Yes the TechII is the way to go if you ave $3,000 to spend.
__________________
Dale
AKA - Oemy
Oemtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 08:48 AM   #10
iRV2 Marketing
 
DriVer's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Coastal Campers
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Conway, SC
Posts: 23,632
Blog Entries: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by oemtech View Post
Yes the TechII is the way to go if you have $3,000 to spend.
You also fail to mention, the multi $hundred dollar$ annual firmware/software/data upgrades and updates.
__________________
03 Adventurer 38G, Workhorse W22
F&R Track Bars, Safety+ , Ultrapower, Taylor Extremes, SGII
TST 507, Blue Ox, SMI, Koni FSD, CrossFire
RV/MH Hall of Fame - Lifetime Member
DriVer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 09:00 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Western
Posts: 324
Yes I know this is off the topic - but thought I would share
Try the DRBIII Gauge - Paid over $6K for a device that only works on PCI based systems aka Chrysler products from 1996 > 2007
O' well you get what you pay for
Works great on my Jeeps
KJINTF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 10:49 AM   #12
iRV2 Marketing
 
DriVer's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Coastal Campers
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Conway, SC
Posts: 23,632
Blog Entries: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJINTF View Post
Yes I know this is off the topic - but thought I would share Try the DRBIII Gauge - Paid over $6K for a device that only works on PCI based systems aka Chrysler products from 1996 > 2007
O' well you get what you pay for works great on my Jeeps
The DRBIII won't work over the bus on GM ECM electronics.

As a rule of thumb, GM cars and light trucks use SAE J1850 VPW (Variable Pulse Width Modulation). Chrysler products and all European and most Asian imports use ISO 9141 or KWP2000 circuitry. Fords use SAE J1850 PWM (Pulse Width Modulation) communication patterns. All 2008 and newer model year vehicles use CAN.
__________________
03 Adventurer 38G, Workhorse W22
F&R Track Bars, Safety+ , Ultrapower, Taylor Extremes, SGII
TST 507, Blue Ox, SMI, Koni FSD, CrossFire
RV/MH Hall of Fame - Lifetime Member
DriVer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
obd connection port frank1 Gulf Stream Owner's Forum 1 08-29-2010 05:18 PM
Coax Connection db77 Gulf Stream Owner's Forum 4 11-22-2009 07:16 PM
OBD II in a 97 MH? Randy Elliott MH-General Discussions & Problems 7 09-25-2007 10:20 AM
W22 and OBD II - Scangauge II or Autotap? Captain Morgan Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 23 06-24-2007 01:04 PM
OBD II connection CharlieM Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 5 10-01-2006 06:28 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.