RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE CHASSIS CLUB FORUMS > Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2020, 07:44 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 35
Scangauge II question

Hello. I have a 2003 W22 8.1L Vortec with Allison 5speed 1000 Transmission.
I purchased a Scangauge II and programed an X-gauge to monitor the transmission fluid temperature. The device works with the VPW protocol.
As per GM specs, I entered the following parameters:
TXD: 6C10F122194001
RXF: 046205190640
RXD: 3008
MTH: 00090005FFD8
Name: TFT
After entering this parameter, the TFT is displayed on the scanner screen, however, the temperature is reading just 32 degrees Fahrenheit. Outside temp is 78 degrees. The coach was sitting for 2 days now.
What am I doing wrong?
Any help is appreciated.
frnu is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-19-2020, 12:06 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Fred and Bonnie's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pacific Northwest or SoCal
Posts: 3,002
Send a message via ICQ to Fred and Bonnie
Probably nothing, drive the unit and bring temps to normal range,

Fred
__________________
Fred and Bonnie
2005 Dolphin LX 6375
Abby, Ruffles & Scarlett, "The Cats"
Fred and Bonnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2020, 12:08 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
edgray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Madison, MS
Posts: 9,024
Suggest you PM to Oemy for help because he is an expert about programming the SG II.
FWIW, I think you are correct that for TFT you need to use the “X gage “ function, but all it takes is on digit off during the tedious process to get a bad result.
edgray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2020, 12:15 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
geordi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 665
Scangauge customer service is also pretty helpful with things like this, sounds like you might be reading the wrong PID or there's a math error somewhere.
__________________
03 40' Monaco Diplomat: 1020 watts solar / Victron / Magnesine 2800. TRW steering, 23 cuft Frigidaire, dishwasher, W/D, Magneshade, lots of other mods!
geordi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2020, 12:23 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
edgray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Madison, MS
Posts: 9,024
Oemy’s screen name for PM is “oemtech”
edgray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2020, 03:04 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Oemtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Jarrell, TX 76537
Posts: 4,447
Send a message via AIM to Oemtech
I responded to a PM from the OP.

But, i thought I would post the fix for the rest you.
The TXD should be 6C18 not 6C10

Also, the temps at starup will be somewhere close to ambient temp.
__________________
Dale
AKA - Oemy
Oemtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2020, 04:38 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Daveinet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 800
Just out of curiosity, is this information coming from a separate plug, or is this coming from the OBDII connector? I don't have a Scangauge, but was curious where this info shows up?
__________________
2004 AllegroBay 34XB Nov 2017 Banks, Front & Rear Trac bars, Konis
Sold:'83 Revcon Prince 31' FWD GM Performance 502 w/Edelbrock MPFI, Thorley Tri-Ys & Magnaflows, 4L85E 4 spd
Daveinet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2020, 04:42 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
geordi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 665
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daveinet View Post
Just out of curiosity, is this information coming from a separate plug, or is this coming from the OBDII connector? I don't have a Scangauge, but was curious where this info shows up?
Scangauge connects to the OBD plug - either the normal "car shape" or if you have a DP on a heavy duty frame, the round diagnostic connector.

Older coaches like mine have the 6 pin round connector, newer coaches have a black 9 pin, and the newest coaches have a green 9 pin. All have the same basic functionality, but different protocols on them.
__________________
03 40' Monaco Diplomat: 1020 watts solar / Victron / Magnesine 2800. TRW steering, 23 cuft Frigidaire, dishwasher, W/D, Magneshade, lots of other mods!
geordi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2020, 07:36 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
edgray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Madison, MS
Posts: 9,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oemtech View Post
I responded to a PM from the OP.



But, i thought I would post the fix.
Thanks, Dale. You da man !
edgray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2020, 11:23 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Daveinet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 800
Quote:
Originally Posted by geordi View Post
Scangauge connects to the OBD plug - either the normal "car shape" or if you have a DP on a heavy duty frame, the round diagnostic connector.

Older coaches like mine have the 6 pin round connector, newer coaches have a black 9 pin, and the newest coaches have a green 9 pin. All have the same basic functionality, but different protocols on them.
OK. Since the trans control module was a separate module, I wasn't sure if the engine ECM was passing that information through or if there was a separate connector for the trans control module.
__________________
2004 AllegroBay 34XB Nov 2017 Banks, Front & Rear Trac bars, Konis
Sold:'83 Revcon Prince 31' FWD GM Performance 502 w/Edelbrock MPFI, Thorley Tri-Ys & Magnaflows, 4L85E 4 spd
Daveinet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2020, 02:51 PM   #11
JCM
Senior Member
 
JCM's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Triple E Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Williams Lake,BC Canada
Posts: 1,190
On my 2003 with the 5 speed trans (factory issue) all I had to do was plug the gauge in and it read out the trans temp. Not so on my 2009 with a 6 speed transmission.
__________________
2020 Triple E Wonder RTB
JCM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2020, 02:56 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Oemtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Jarrell, TX 76537
Posts: 4,447
Send a message via AIM to Oemtech
Quote:
Originally Posted by JCM View Post
On my 2003 with the 5 speed trans (factory issue) all I had to do was plug the gauge in and it read out the trans temp. Not so on my 2009 with a 6 speed transmission.
We have never found a solution to the 6 speed for the SG2.
__________________
Dale
AKA - Oemy
Oemtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2020, 09:43 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: AZ.
Posts: 318
Send a message via Yahoo to Dsrtrider
Scan Guage trans temp

It does say in the owners manual for a coach with a 6 speed and a certain cluster number it does have trans temp readout? Has anyone ever seen one like this? I just wound up installing a max tow trans temp guage.
Dsrtrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2020, 10:07 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
akeagle's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oemtech View Post
I responded to a PM from the OP.

But, i thought I would post the fix for the rest you.
The TXD should be 6C18 not 6C10

Also, the temps at starup will be somewhere close to ambient temp.

If you have it handy, could you post the code for the Scanguage II transmission temp readout for a 2015 Ford E450?

Many thanks in advance!
akeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
scangauge



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scangauge and HP Question ISB 275HP Skiddy Cummins Engines 5 09-04-2018 05:13 PM
Scangauge question Dick1142 Monaco Owner's Forum 8 06-15-2017 09:45 PM
Scangauge D question moisheh Monaco Owner's Forum 8 01-22-2014 09:04 AM
Another ScanGauge Question FrankO Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 39 02-11-2009 06:07 PM
Newest Scangauge II Bob (WA0MQE) Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 3 09-29-2007 07:03 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.