Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE CHASSIS CLUB FORUMS > Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-04-2014, 09:33 AM   #1

Starting problem - 2001 Itasca Sunrise SE 29A, Workhorse chassis

Hello. I'm a newbie to the RV world (less than a year). Got a great deal on our RV, but given the age and lack of maintenance by the prior owners, it did/does need work (it had the original, very dry, tires on it for crying out loud...I was surprised I made it home and then to the tire shop without losing one or more).

I just had the engine and brakes worked on and it is running and stopping beautifully now. Unfortunately when we stopped in a parking lot about a mile from the house to disconnect our towed, the RV wouldn't start back up. It had started between 4-6 times before that on that day, however. It's not still in the parking lot. We did get her home the next morning, but the problem persist.

When I put the key in and turn it, the accessory lights come on. When I continue to the ignition position, some of them go out as expected, but the starter never gets triggered. I am rewarded with nothing but silence.

- The chassis battery is new and charged (actually the house batteries are too).
- I took the starter off and tool it down to have it tested. The parts guy ran it through 5-7 test cycles and it checked out fine.