RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE CHASSIS CLUB FORUMS > Roadmaster Motorhome Chassis Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-14-2020, 02:11 PM   #1

Chassis Confusion -- Can Someone Help?

I've been researching RVs for about seven months, first just looking at floor plans and not realizing just how different RV construction is from manufacturer to manufacturer. After learning about the steel cage construction of Country Coaches, I tried to figure out if there were others who had similar type construction and learned about Monaco's semi monocoque construction.

At that point, it didn't occur to me that there were base construction differences within the manufacturer. After a while, I learned that the Windsor, Dynasty, Signature, and Executive models had the structure I had been reading about. Then I found a discussion that said it depended on the model year, so I started looking at individual brochures for model years and that brings me to today where I feel so very confused.

Looking through the 2007 brochures, I see that there's semi-monocoque in the top four, Alumaframe in three of the models, RR10S in the Camelot, and less in the bottom models. Then I dropped down to look at 2004 models and find different terminology. In those, I couldn't even find mention of the semi-monocoque in the Windsor. At that point, I stopped and felt overwhelmed and confused.

Can someone provide any input? Are there big differences throughout the model years? Is there a chart or spreadsheet anywhere that someone has put together?