Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE CHASSIS CLUB FORUMS > Spartan Motorhome Chassis Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 12-16-2019, 01:10 PM   #1

Replace Air Filter @ 1 Year, “Non Believer”

Being a veteran mechanic, I should have known better. But knowing that service intervals are put in place prematurely to keep these things from happening and usually you can get a little more life out of it. I almost went to far on replacing my air filter.
Even after attending the Spartan training and being told by Big Mike that the glue that holds the paper together and in the housing would let go.
I replaced the filter on Feb 2018 @ 21,500 miles. The new filter failed at 4K miles and at 17 months.
Upon return from our last trip of about 400 miles, I noticed the air intake gauge which usually runs around 8 inch lbs was at 20. Didn’t get around to looking at it until today.
Going to try and post a few pictures. Haven’t had much luck with that on here.
I feel very lucky, as this could have been an engine disaster or at minimum a damaged turbo.
Hope this post helps someone else who also doesn’t always adhere to recommended maintenance intervals.
Have a great day, And don’t beat me up to bad on here.
GrAndy
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BFD861D8-1CED-43C1-BAA7-F26997529074.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	181.3 KB
ID:	269630   Click image for larger version

Name:	1C80DA3D-E278-4E13-96BD-266B49E79648.jpg
Views:	87
Size:	438.1 KB
ID:	269631