Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Forest River Owners Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-25-2021, 07:59 PM   #1
Member
 
calsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 98
No 120 on shore power

Hi,
Have a 2017 36CK2.
I have power when using the generator. I have power to the fridge when using the invertor in the battery compartment.
I have no power to anything AC when using shore power.
Any ideas?
__________________
Steve & Barbara & Annie the dog. Retired and loving it...
2017 Cedar Creek 36CK2, 2016 RAM 2500
calsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-25-2021, 08:10 PM   #2
Community Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Full timing
Posts: 3,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by calsteve View Post
Hi,
Have a 2017 36CK2.
I have power when using the generator. I have power to the fridge when using the invertor in the battery compartment.
I have no power to any AC when using shore power.
Any ideas?
If you have a multimeter start at the power post and make sure you have power there. Then start working your way back to the transfer switch. If you have a power cord reel it could be an issue in there with the connections from the cord to the reel then to the wiring to the transfer switch. Plus it could be the transfer switch is bad. But you need to start power pole and make sure there is power there.
I would lean toward the transfer switch as being an issue.
__________________
2018 Road Warrior 427/2016 golf cart (gas) sold
2013 Can Am Spyder RT Limited
2017 Ram 3500 w/Aisin w/4:10
2 Dachshunds DJ (RIP 9-12-19) & Joey (RIP 5-14-21)
hamm2018 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2021, 08:15 PM   #3
Member
 
calsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 98
No 120

Quote:
Originally Posted by hamm2018 View Post
If you have a multimeter start at the power post and make sure you have power there. Then start working your way back to the transfer switch. If you have a power cord reel it could be an issue in there with the connections from the cord to the reel then to the wiring to the transfer switch. Plus it could be the transfer switch is bad. But you need to start power pole and make sure there is power there.
I would lean toward the transfer switch as being an issue.
Thanks for the idea. I have a 50 amp cord without a reel. I have power all the way to the RV.
Do you know where the transfer switch is located?
Thanks,
__________________
Steve & Barbara & Annie the dog. Retired and loving it...
2017 Cedar Creek 36CK2, 2016 RAM 2500
calsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2021, 08:27 PM   #4
Community Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Full timing
Posts: 3,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by calsteve View Post
Thanks for the idea. I have a 50 amp cord without a reel. I have power all the way to the RV.
Do you know where the transfer switch is located?
Thanks,
On our Road Warrior it is behind the basement wall. I had to take the rear wall down. Our transfer switch is about 6"x10"x4"deep. I had to replace it in January 2020 it was around $250 for it.
Once you open it up LOOK to see if you can notice anything wrong. Before you start checking connections in there make sure you kill all the incoming power.
__________________
2018 Road Warrior 427/2016 golf cart (gas) sold
2013 Can Am Spyder RT Limited
2017 Ram 3500 w/Aisin w/4:10
2 Dachshunds DJ (RIP 9-12-19) & Joey (RIP 5-14-21)
hamm2018 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2021, 08:38 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Old-Biscuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 21,742
Look inside basement compartment...follow wiring from shore power connection and generator wiring to Transfer Switch Box
__________________
I took my Medication today. HAVE YOU?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2021, 12:44 PM   #6
Member
 
calsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 98
Thanks,

Thanks for all the suggestions.
I found the transfer switch in the front cargo bay on the back wall.
Found a tech to speak with at Camping World. Suggested that maybe a relay was stuck. Unplug and run the generator. Turn off the generator and plug back in. It worked.
On my way tomorrow to 100+ temps and happy to have AC.
__________________
Steve & Barbara & Annie the dog. Retired and loving it...
2017 Cedar Creek 36CK2, 2016 RAM 2500
calsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2021, 12:48 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 5,404
With points sticking in an ATS, often a short-term "fix" is a light, sharp rap on the outside of the box with something like the plastic handle of a screwdriver. Short term only.


Not difficult to replace if you have even a basic working knowledge of 120/240 VAC and basic hand tools.


With shore power unplugged, generator off, inverter off, you might remove the lid of the ATS and verify that all connections are clean, tight and not burned. This is actually, the very first thing I would do.
__________________
Brett Wolfe
Ex: 2003 Alpine 38FDDS. Ex: 1997 Safari Sahara. Ex: 1993 Foretravel U240
wolfe10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power, shore power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No 120 power plugged into shore power or using Generator larliebler Class A Motorhome Discussions 26 11-01-2018 04:39 PM
Shore power question(connected to house 120) Rolly Zimmer Monaco Owner's Forum 16 07-08-2013 01:00 PM
120 Volt Shore Power Adapter? Resist National RV Owner's Forum 14 03-11-2013 08:32 PM
No 120 30amp shore power after accidental generator start yankinva Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 07-23-2008 02:56 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.