Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Forest River Owners Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2011, 03:00 PM   #1
Member
 
Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Columbia, La
Posts: 79
Cool Satellite cable line not working

I have dish network and have to run coax through window to satellite receiver to get reception. Have I done something wrong? The installer of dish couldn't get it to work either. Where should I start looking?
Thanks
2007 Coachman Concord 23'
ladyrvr66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-19-2011, 03:57 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
HD4Mark's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Marathon, Florida
Posts: 2,909
Quote:
Originally Posted by ladyrvr66 View Post
I have dish network and have to run coax through window to satellite receiver to get reception. Have I done something wrong? The installer of dish couldn't get it to work either. Where should I start looking?
Thanks
2007 Coachman Concord 23'
What were you trying to connect to first? Does your rig have a satellite dish or dome on top? Is there and entertainment center switch? Sorry to blast all the questions but it will help us all find a solution
__________________
Mark & Nancy
2004 Winnebago Vectra 40KD
Shep dog, R.I.P. Kenzie dog Toad 2015 Jeep Wrangler Willys Wheeler
HD4Mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 06:36 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Casa Grande AZ
Posts: 246
I recently got Dish, and from the outside actual dish I connected to the "cable in" hookup in the rear of MH> Just be sure to use the "cable" coax as "in" at the receiver. Also switch your TV set to "cable" not antenna. Good luck.
__________________
Alleyman; 2004 Dolphin 5355; Banks Power Pack, Ottominder; 405 Watts Solar, 2010 Explorer XLT Toad. four month boondockers!
Alleyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 07:44 PM   #4
Member
 
Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Columbia, La
Posts: 79
I can get cable by plugging coax in outside connection on coach. Inside coach you can plug your coax into either sat or cable. I tried the sat and didn't work. I also have an outside compartment with speakers and a place to put a tv with a coax cable to plug into tv. I couldn't get it work either. I do not have a sat dome, I carry my on dish.
Thanks
2007 Coachmen Concord
Co-Pilot - Bubbles (toy poodle)
ladyrvr66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 07:53 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
Now some rigs have TWO outside cable connections, one labled CABLE and the other SAT.. Most do not.. If yours does not then the cable is a park cable inlet, NOT a satellite TV inlet

It is very likely RG-59, which is the wong cable (too much loss, 25 feet of 59 is at best worse than 100 feet of RG-6 loss wise, at worst, the difference is way greater)

Winegard does have instructions for re-tasking it but I recommend you not do that.

I recommend you run a new RG-6 line,, more or less as you have done.. You can put in a bulkhead (Through wall) or run it to a basement and put in a grounding block.. IN fact run two, You never know when you will need the 2nd. Just cap the 2nd.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 06:10 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bloomfield, New York, USA
Posts: 11
Hi,

We purchased a 2011 Coachmen, Northridge Fifth Wheel. This spring, while in South Carolina, we had the Dish technician come out to our rig for the same problem you are having. We could hook up to cable, or use our over the air antenna, but could not hook up our Dish. I don't remember his exact explanation, but for some reason the way the trailer is wired, a phasing slplitter had to be installed on both ends of the line.
The way it is now, it bypasses our over the air antenna. To use it, I am going to have to install an A - B switch to the input coax going into the back of the TV.

To me, all this seems strange. Our last trailer, which was six years old, was wired for both Cable and Sattelite. Why the new trailer is wired for only cable and over the air antenna, only Coachmen knows.

When the tech was done installing the sattelite system and told me we no longer had use of our over the air antenna, I said to him, "would it not have been easier to drill a hole through the side of the trailer. Put in a new coax wall connector and hook the SAT cable to it and the A-B switch." Short answer, "yes it would have been. Why didn't you think of that earlier." Sorry guy, that's your job and why we pay for the service call!

Ratracer
Ratracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 08:59 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Rodneykrantz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: West Columbia SC
Posts: 809
I had a 2009 concord what I did was run a rg6 cable behind the bose radio
and down the corner and came out on top of the propane tank and left about
20' of cable so I could use the tripod dish and put the reciever above the bose
radio
Rodneykrantz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 10:28 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
StStg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 364
My TT(2006 Coachmen) only came with cable connection (RG59) and over the air antenna. I installed two coax wall connectiors (living and bedroom) using RG6 for the Sat feeds (my Dir TV dish has to leads). I used an A/B switch in the living room so I can either use cable, sat, or over the air. on my digitial tV. The bedromm is strictly sat. I use two seperate sat recievers so I can watch different sat channels at the same time.
__________________
2014 Wildwood 27RKSS 2004 Nissan Titan Pilot Steve
Co-Pilot Marlene Furry Four Leg children: Fancy Lab/Chow, LB Little Bit, Maltese, Rocky, Border Terrier
StStg1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 03:55 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bloomfield, New York, USA
Posts: 11
What bugs me is why are the 2011 trailers not wired with Satelite ready acces. I previously had a 2004 Open Road and it was prewired for all three, over the air, cable, and sat.

As with StSgt1, I now have t my trailer wired for Sat and Cable and as soon as I get it back from having multiple warranty repairs, I will add the A-B switch and get my over the air antenna back on line.

Ratracer
Ratracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 04:09 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Dadeaux's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orange Beach, AL
Posts: 744
Put an ohm meter on the end inside the coach by placing positive lead to center conductor and neg to the side of the connector. It should read open, no reaction, if so go to the input end of the cable and short the center conductor to the connector and then check the ohm reading inside again. If it is still open then you are using the wrong cable inside or the cable is severed somewhere. If it checks short then you have the proper cable and something else is blocking your signal or more likely blocking the voltage sent from the receiver to the LNB on the dish.

Good luck.
__________________
Del & Charlotte
RVing - Time well wasted
2004 Phaeton 40TGH w/ 2010 Acadia
Dadeaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Satellite cable problem Rare Bear Damon 3 10-18-2010 09:35 AM
Dometic Ice Maker Water Line Blue Ribbon RV Systems & Appliances 6 05-05-2010 03:52 PM
External Satellite Hook Up Ready2Travel Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 17 05-31-2008 07:48 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.