Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Forest River Owners Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-18-2011, 03:46 PM   #1

Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Where is the water heater bypass valve?

Newbie here Where might I find the water heater bypass valve in my MH? How can I tell if there is water in the water heater? It is a Shasta Cynara --- stepchild to the Forest River Forester. The only valve that I can easily spot is on a blue pex line in a bay about 5' to the rear of the water heater access door. The water filter is in this bay, but everything is nicely concealed so I can't follow the lines without dismantling something. That valve has been in the "on" position -- pointing the same direction as the water line.

I tried heating water for the first time. I consulted the manual which only stated to "if there is a bypass". I looked inside the water heater access panel, not seeing a water valve, I turned on the WH switch and went outside, planning to come back later to take a shower.

When I returned there was a smell of melted plastic inside and the switch light was no longer lit. I assume I burnt out the electric element?? Can I get hot water using propane? It's a Suburban. I pushed the reset switch just now and heard gas igniting.

HHHHHELP, I NEED a shower BAD.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
okmunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!