Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Forest River Owners Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2018, 07:35 PM   #1
Member
 
primaldiva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: philadelphia to leavenworth, WA
Posts: 30
Wifi reception INSIDE RV on my own property

Back in the day when I was traveling in my 2016 PrimeTime Tracer 28' travel trailer, we figured out that somehow it blocked ALL wireless signals; that is even if you did a speedtest just outside, once you took the laptop inside the signal went to zero. It was frustrating and did not happen in my neighbors' rigs but when I stayed in one park for 7 months on a job I actually had to purchase cable to be able to work. Once I had that fast wired connection for my IMac I could also use wireless inside my own trailer (with a laptop) but I could never get outside signals from the park if that makes sense.

So for the time being it is solely being used as a vacation rental on my acre property. It doesn't move. I have Fiber on my property with 110mbps DL speed on my wired in my house on the property which drops to about 80 when you use the wireless which is pretty standard. Elsewhere on my property the farther you get from the router it drops further to 15 or 20, still enough to check email or stream Pandora.

But I need the trailer to have some wireless inside for guests and they need to be able to use the Roku for TV. So.....

If I get a wireless extender for my property it would strengthen the signal just outside the trailer but it still would not help the blocking of the signal. I know there are options you can get installed outside your rig but these are often marketed to solve the problem of a weak signal on the road or in the RV park. I need to get a not-so-weak signal INSIDE the aluminum box of the RV. Do I need to buy a wifi range extender for my property and then some sort of device to get that signal inside the trailer?

Would love to hear your input. And by the way, I tested this multiple times, the Tracer Ultralite blocks wifi signal, or at least mine does, that part I know!

THANKS in advance for your suggestions.
__________________
2016 PrimeTime Tracer 2850RED
2015 RAM 1500 EcoDiesel
https://primaldiva.us
primaldiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-03-2018, 07:44 PM   #2
Community Administrator
 
Spk64's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 17,171
I had same problem with metal building we stored RV in.
Used this
https://www.amazon.com/Ubiquiti-Nano.../dp/B00HXT8FFI
On the outside with a small router inside.
https://www.amazon.com/Ubiquiti-airG.../dp/B00HXT84UO

BTW
Use similar setup at RV parks to pull in the WiFi better.
__________________
Steve
2002 Newmar Mountain Aire 4095
Spk64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 07:48 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,080
The Alpha Camp Pro wifi extender has a external antenna that connects to a wifi router inside the RV. I have it in my RV and it works very well. Costs about $150.
redcolorado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 08:28 AM   #4
Member
 
primaldiva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: philadelphia to leavenworth, WA
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spk64 View Post
I had same problem with metal building we stored RV in.
Used this
https://www.amazon.com/Ubiquiti-Nano.../dp/B00HXT8FFI
On the outside with a small router inside.
https://www.amazon.com/Ubiquiti-airG.../dp/B00HXT84UO

BTW
Use similar setup at RV parks to pull in the WiFi better.
So I assume you set up a WAP on the outside of the building and then you used other device to pull it into the RV? I am still not clear if this will work in my situation due to the weird way my Tracer drops signals from 16 to .8 even with the door open. It's crazy. thank you
__________________
2016 PrimeTime Tracer 2850RED
2015 RAM 1500 EcoDiesel
https://primaldiva.us
primaldiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 08:31 AM   #5
Member
 
primaldiva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: philadelphia to leavenworth, WA
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by redcolorado View Post
The Alpha Camp Pro wifi extender has a external antenna that connects to a wifi router inside the RV. I have it in my RV and it works very well. Costs about $150.
I saw this and was wondering how you installed it: did you use Suction Mount or did you permanently install it? Did you have to drill any holes? I feel like I need to get a cable (wired) from the outside to the inside to have any signal, and I would have to figure out how to get it through a wall somehow, which is why when I bought one of the earlier versions of these in 2016 I never installed it; didn't want to drill through my RV. I think I would not have less of an issue with that now, with copious amounts of silicone used.

Any sneaky places in the rig where it is easy to get from outside inside? It would have to be someplace high for signal purposes I assume. Thanks
__________________
2016 PrimeTime Tracer 2850RED
2015 RAM 1500 EcoDiesel
https://primaldiva.us
primaldiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 08:46 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8,055
Sneaky place may be the windows. What you probably have is metal either on the trailer or on the insulation in the walls that is blocking the signal. Translate that to put a wire to an antenna inside or find a window pointed in the right direction to set the antenna of the range booster at.
nothermark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 04:00 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,080
Quote:
Originally Posted by primaldiva View Post
I saw this and was wondering how you installed it: did you use Suction Mount or did you permanently install it? Did you have to drill any holes? I feel like I need to get a cable (wired) from the outside to the inside to have any signal, and I would have to figure out how to get it through a wall somehow, which is why when I bought one of the earlier versions of these in 2016 I never installed it; didn't want to drill through my RV. I think I would not have less of an issue with that now, with copious amounts of silicone used.

Any sneaky places in the rig where it is easy to get from outside inside? It would have to be someplace high for signal purposes I assume. Thanks
My antenna is mounted to the crank up batwing TV antenna. It does require running a cable into the RV. I ran mine in the same place the TV antenna cable runs and resealed it with dicor, do not use silicone if you have a rubber roof. The wifi antenna is mounted to the right of the Winegard Rayzor TV antenna.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20160716_094418.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	395.6 KB
ID:	201570  
redcolorado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 04:18 PM   #8
Community Administrator
 
Spk64's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 17,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by primaldiva View Post
So I assume you set up a WAP on the outside of the building and then you used other device to pull it into the RV? I am still not clear if this will work in my situation due to the weird way my Tracer drops signals from 16 to .8 even with the door open. It's crazy. thank you


Yes, I have a WAP that is at the house. We have a good enough signal to stream TV inside the building and my same setup in the RV connects to the internal WAP.
I have the Ubiquiti mounted outside with a CAT5 cable running to the WAP inside building. The same CAT5 cable also powers the outside device via POE.
__________________
Steve
2002 Newmar Mountain Aire 4095
Spk64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 09:18 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
rgvtexan's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NE WA or S TX
Posts: 3,771
Search Google for "outside our bubble" David Bott. He has a DIY system for ~$100 that works great.
__________________
04 Horizon QD, 12 Ford Flex, Excalibar, Brakemaster, Winter Texan, RVin! since 1974
Norm, Donna & Tinker Kat(RIP) 74 MGB-GT, 75 MGB, 01 Z3
Life is a Timed Event, you only get One Go Around!
rgvtexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 09:59 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 15,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by redcolorado View Post
The Alpha Camp Pro wifi extender has a external antenna that connects to a wifi router inside the RV. I have it in my RV and it works very well. Costs about $150.
Agree. A good setup. Easy to configure since it uses usb tween the interior and exterior radios.
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
wifi



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Building" your own "Home Base" on "Your Property"??? Wundertaker Full-Timers 51 08-27-2018 10:07 PM
Wifi/ reception/ streaming rnorthway Entegra Owner's Forum 15 02-01-2017 04:46 PM
Building your own WiFi Capture Device Jack Mayer Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 21 11-02-2014 08:21 PM
RV and property owners-check your property for unknown liens!! road dogs Just Conversation 9 02-01-2014 04:01 PM
Anyone own their own rv spot Pellerotto iRV2.com General Discussion 14 05-18-2013 08:34 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.