Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-19-2009, 08:56 PM   #1
RJG

1994 Itasca diesel 34' (service brake light)

hello all, I am new to motorhomes and have many questions, for now I'll stick to the braking systems on the coach I just bought. On the way back from buying it and towing my ranger on a trailer., following the suggestions of the seller I found myself looking to desend a 16% grade with alot of switchbacks seams a bit crazy he sent me that way, oh well, I"m still here. anyway what I experienced was brake fade about half way down and I slightly smoked the brakes . it occurred to me at that time the trans was not holding in the gear I needed to be in (allison 6speed push button auto) I was able to pull over let the brakes cool and reset the computer fotunantly the trans saved the day, however, as a result the service brake light stays on. After getting home I pulled the tires and checked the pads there 60+% rotors are good I"m going to try to purge the brake system and install new fluid Dot 3 as suggested for the system, whats in there is the consistancy of honey perhaps a little thinner, I"m hopeing that will make the light go away. does it seam that I"m on the right track?? any suggrstions would be great, Thanks Ray..
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!