RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-23-2018, 07:00 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
nathaniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 312
2 Way Fridge Not Working

I have a dominic fridge side by side in a 2009 rv. The display has no power to the led. Right before this happened the fridge would keep cutting off when on lp on 120 worked fine then nothing. The cooling unit is new the main control bord is new. Could a bad display board cause this. I but a meter on the 12v in and have 12.5 when unit is in off. As soon as I turn it on voltage drops to 5v. I unplug the lead to the display and recover back to 12.5. I am guessing I have a short in the display causing voltage drop not allowing the main board to power up. Any thoughts and yes all the fuses are good and thermal coupling good. I get voltage drop when I turn on display no led or control to system.
nathaniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-23-2018, 07:45 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 25,428
Check the fuse for a poor connection, back at the main fuse panel.

A short that pull the voltage down to 5 volts should blow a fuse. Its more likely a bad connection or damaged wire somewhere.

Set it up so it reads 5 volts and follow the wire from the source to see where you loose the power.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 12:23 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 14,516
You have a bad eyebrow board (upper display panel) OR a bad harness (connects lower to upper)


With meter connected to 12V DC IN turn fridge on and then unplug the harness AT the eyebrow board


If voltage drops when you turn fridge on and then returns to normal when you unplug eyebrow then eyebrow board is bad
If voltage remains low then harness is bad.
Could be connector at either end of harness or a bad wire in the harness.


Eyebrow can be replaced..........harness not so easy
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 02:51 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
nathaniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 312
Thanks found brow board bad. Now need to find one for this no longer made ndr1292. Any suggestions the brow board has 2 separate circuit boards. The very short one is for clc and fridge light
__________________
2009 Gulfstream Caribean
40 ft trio
350 Cummins
nathaniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 04:52 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 2,970
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathaniel View Post
Thanks found brow board bad. Now need to find one for this no longer made ndr1292. Any suggestions the brow board has 2 separate circuit boards. The very short one is for clc and fridge light
https://www.amazon.com/Dometic-Unive...igerator+parts
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323 BHS. Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale MA. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor homes.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 12:53 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 14,516
There are at least 3 different boards/part numbers for the UPPER display (eyebrow bd) depending on 'product number'


Product numbers range from 921148040 thru 921148110




Eyebrow bds
2932884022 (2932884014)
https://pdxrvwholesale.com/products/...way-2932884014


2932884063
https://www.adventurerv.net/boarddis...k-p-18391.html


3850408018
3850408018, Eyebrow Board Dometic :
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 01:04 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
nathaniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 312
Found one thanks. This fridge will have to eventually be replaced when the cooling unit goes out. I will probably rework the wood work and put in a residential. They don't make a replacement that will fit. So it I have to do the trim work I might as well go with a nice residential unit. The only reason I rebuilt this one is because it was insured
__________________
2009 Gulfstream Caribean
40 ft trio
350 Cummins
nathaniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 03:16 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 35
For future reference, when needing replacement/repair of circuit boards, an outfit called Flight Systems can repair circuit boards to new condition for a good price. They are used often for marine hvac, and generator circuit boards repair. Especially helpful for older units that may no longer supported by the manufacturer.
Jandcinok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 03:22 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
nathaniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 312
Dyers rv seemed to be the only on to carry the one I needed for the ndr1292 maybe I'll send the old board to get rebuilt just in case. Thanks for info hope this works
__________________
2009 Gulfstream Caribean
40 ft trio
350 Cummins
nathaniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2018, 04:29 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
nathaniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 312
Ok now I'm frustrated I replaced both main control and brow bord still no power to brow bord I unplug harness it brow bord I have 12.9 vdc when I plug it back in I get 5.7 vdc so it's not the wire harness the only thing I can think of is I got sold a bad bord I have about lost my patience with this any ideas
__________________
2009 Gulfstream Caribean
40 ft trio
350 Cummins
nathaniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2018, 08:06 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
nathaniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 312
If anyone is interested I found the problem. I'm not sure how but I have 12.9 vdc at the terminal strip with an open fuse at the 12 vdc power box in the coach. I'm a electrician so I have seen some tricky problems with electricity but not with a open fuse. So fridge is working now and I have spare boards that's how it goes sometimes
__________________
2009 Gulfstream Caribean
40 ft trio
350 Cummins
nathaniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2018, 08:25 AM   #12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathaniel View Post
If anyone is interested I found the problem. I'm not sure how but I have 12.9 vdc at the terminal strip with an open fuse at the 12 vdc power box in the coach. I'm a electrician so I have seen some tricky problems with electricity but not with a open fuse. So fridge is working now and I have spare boards that's how it goes sometimes
Good for you Nathaniel

Now your a wiser Electrician.
HJLowell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2018, 08:58 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
nathaniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 312
Lol your right thanks
__________________
2009 Gulfstream Caribean
40 ft trio
350 Cummins
nathaniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2018, 09:00 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 2,970
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathaniel View Post
If anyone is interested I found the problem. I'm not sure how but I have 12.9 vdc at the terminal strip with an open fuse at the 12 vdc power box in the coach. I'm a electrician so I have seen some tricky problems with electricity but not with a open fuse. So fridge is working now and I have spare boards that's how it goes sometimes
Ok, as a fellow electrician I just have to ask. Please explain.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323 BHS. Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale MA. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor homes.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fridge



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot water heater not working the way itís supposed to? savoybrown Palazzo Motorhomes 10 11-10-2017 06:56 AM
Norcold fridge working, but not working EdNope RV Systems & Appliances 15 08-30-2017 11:16 AM
6 way Power Seat not working. 10Boomer Monaco Owner's Forum 4 05-28-2016 09:48 AM
4 way flasher lights not working 2002 w22 chassis clouddancer Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 1 07-04-2010 04:30 PM
HWH Jacks working, not working and working again? Bob&Pat Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 6 06-08-2006 05:22 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.