Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2019, 07:43 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 29
Unhappy 2006 Ford V10 engine idle issues

Our Fleetwood Southwind is having idle issues. When driving and need to turn the engine stalls, low RPM...changed the position throdle sensor, no vacuum leaks, checked for codes on computer, nothing coming up. Any suggestions? Should have been on the road today, back at home!
FreetoRoam is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-16-2019, 07:58 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 23,330
Has the AIS motor been cleaned ( Automatic Idle Speed ) , it's the devise that lets metered air into the intake at idle speed .

Chrysler has then mounted on the side of the throttle body , not sure on Ford.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 08:02 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 29
No haven't tried that yet...thanks
FreetoRoam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 08:04 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Ucbyrickg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 1,170
I used to have a 1999 V10 and sometimes a coil pack would go bad but not show up on the scan unless it quit while scanning.
I would check intake and fuel filter too. Maybe mass air flow sensor. Any chance someone put diesel in the tank accidentally?
__________________
Rick Goodrum
Ucbyrickg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 08:05 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 23,330
Quote:
Originally Posted by FreetoRoam View Post
No haven't tried that yet...thanks
Of course from a Google search ; Ford has a different name ISC ( Idle Speed Control ) U tube videos on cleaning .
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 08:09 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 29
Just checked there isn't one in the V10
FreetoRoam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 08:16 PM   #7
Member
 
Ultrarex09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 35
Disconnect the battery for 10 minutes or so. You will need to read the relearn procedures from owners manual before hooking up battery and starting engine.
Do exactly as stated and computer will relearn throttle position sensor and driving habits. Solved my issue about 6 years ago no more issues. Worth a try
__________________
2006 HR ADMIRAL SE
F53 V10 CHASSIS
2015 Master Tow
Ultrarex09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 08:18 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
baraff's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 2,212
Just a thought: when was the last time the fuel filter was changed? I'm thinking if its clogged maybe not enough fuel can get through when there is low demand (idle).
__________________
Burns & Diane
2005 Winnebago Aspect 26A/2012 Subaru Impreza toad
Illinois! - Where the politicians make the license plates......
baraff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 08:20 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 29
No diesel in the tank for sure,I can't test the MAF as I can't find a test to do. the engine seems to run find but what happen the first time it stall was when I was backing up into a tight spot and turning the wheel hard when I push on the gas pedal and the engine rev up and and then it stall, after that I was driving down the road at about 30 miles when I needed to turn a little bit and I let go of the accelerator and turn the wheel and that is when it stalled happen again,
FreetoRoam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 08:26 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 23,330
Quote:
Originally Posted by FreetoRoam View Post
Just checked there isn't one in the V10
, Well then , I retire for 12 years and they change everything

Are they using a throttle stepper motor for idle speed ?

Well it looks like I have a challenge for the rest of the night , find this out on the internet.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 09:10 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 23,330
Search keeps bringing up different acronyms , Latest is IAC ( Idle Air Control ) . I will keep looking to see if there's one on the motor home chassis.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 10:29 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
daveandcarol's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,412
It might not matter but does it only stall on right or left turns or on both?
__________________
Dave RVM#66 and Carol
1998 Pace Arrow Vision
Seeing the USA - 200 miles at a time
daveandcarol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 06:29 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
tderonne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Motor City, Mich
Posts: 3,129
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skip426 View Post
Search keeps bringing up different acronyms , Latest is IAC ( Idle Air Control ) . I will keep looking to see if there's one on the motor home chassis.
IACs went away with throttle cables...
__________________
Tim.

tderonne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 10:20 AM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 29
Did what you suggested and we are good to go.....many thanks!! Hitting the road shortly.
FreetoRoam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
engine, ford, v10



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Triton V10 Ford Engine Issues dc1105 Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 20 03-26-2015 08:07 PM
To idle or not to idle jmoffat Caterpillar Engine Forum 36 05-11-2014 10:54 PM
95 ford E350 idle issues shotwell Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 7 09-27-2012 06:15 AM
Check Engine light on Ford Triton V10 engine meant2shop Class A Motorhome Discussions 18 09-08-2011 08:14 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.