RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-17-2020, 04:37 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 4
2014 Fleetwood Storm Satellite (Dish Network)

Has anyone managed to ever get a dish working reliably using the existing coax in a 2014 Fleetwood Storm?

I have tried to access every nook and cranny I can in this coach to trace the wiring, but no luck.

I have a Dish Playmaker that works no problem when I connect coax directly to the Wally receiver. As soon as I try to use the jack on the outside it seems like I have a 50% chance of success. Sometimes I can aquire signal long enough, but as soon as I change the channel, complete signal loss.

I suspect there's a splitter or signal combiner that is in play here, but I have no idea where else to look.

Thanks in advance!
iceman84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-17-2020, 04:44 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
lllkrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,702
If you are trying to use the "CABLE" connection your out of luck. It has splitters in the line. Have you looked closely for a "SAT" connector. I would think a 2014 coach would have both.
__________________
2013 Tiffin Phaeton 40QBH
2016 Chevrolet Equinox LTZ AWD V6
lllkrob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2020, 05:17 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Rkesselus's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Bastrop Texas
Posts: 1,259
I gave up using the factory installed coax and devised a way to go directly from the satellite to the dish box using a 25' cable.
__________________
2000 Allegro Bus 35R 3126 Cat 300 Allison 3060MD 6 speed
Rkesselus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2020, 05:29 PM   #4
Community Moderator
 
Lt Dan's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 6,218
As Ilkrob said, you can't use a cable connection without bypassing the splitter/amplifier. Our friends had a '15 Excursion and it did not have a separate satellite connection and he wound up running a second line from a bay up through the refrigerator cabinet to the satellite receiver.
__________________
2017 Phaeton 40IH XSH Maroon Coral - Power Glide Chassis with IFS
Previously '15 Tiffin Allegro RED 38QRA and '06 Itasca Sunrise 35A
'16 Jeep JKU Wrangler Sahara or '08 Honda Goldwing
Lt Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2020, 06:05 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 4
Thanks for the replies. I know the splitters are the most likely cause of my issues, was just hoping someone with the same model had figured out exactly where the splitters live in this coach.

It seems odd they didn't leave a separate connection for satellite, but I guess that's what I get for buying an entry level Class A.
iceman84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dish, fleetwood, satellite



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Satellite TV / Dish Playmaker Satellite Dish afsgtret Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 5 04-21-2017 08:56 AM
HD Dish Network DVR not working with Kingdome in-motion satellite dish ? Harry B Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 14 05-02-2014 08:38 AM
Network Broadcast on Dish Network djhinds Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 11 10-15-2010 09:40 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.