Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2019, 02:17 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
BillJinOR's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,508
Hopefully the transfer switch fried before it let any power through. Very lucky ! If not every device that "sleeps" with min power .. like a tv Microwave , inverter charger ... would be fried. A new transfer switch cost is cheap if they get away with it! .. Close call !
__________________
2003 Beaver Marquis
2002 Ford Escape toad
2016 CargoMate Trailer
BillJinOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-03-2019, 09:21 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
phil57's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 284
All is fixed the transfer switch took the damage and after replacing it and rewiring the 30 amp plug everything works except the dishwasher. No other damage we can find. A tech is coming out Monday to look at the dishwasher. Thanks for the help.
phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 07:10 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 314
Most likely the adapter that was made for an old style dryer receptacle did not have the neutral connected, only the ground. Since the neutral and ground is isolated on the rv, it causes what we call in the trade, a "floating or open neutral". Depending on how the loads are balanced, one leg can range from 0 to 240 volts, or vice versa on the other leg to the neutral, which lets the magic smoke out, and is hard to get back in once you let it out LOL!
hillbilly3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 09:01 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,204
ALWAYS check what you're going to plug into with a multi meter. I have found high voltage, low voltage, no grounds, and reversed polarity at rv parks and friends offered plug in sites.
pumper9x9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 11:21 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
oscarvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 674
Quote:
Originally Posted by pumper9x9 View Post
ALWAYS check what you're going to plug into with a multi meter. I have found high voltage, low voltage, no grounds, and reversed polarity at rv parks and friends offered plug in sites.
Or at least have a power management system of some sort.
__________________
2017 Berkshire 38A
https://dragonship.blog/
oscarvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using an adapter to plug 30 amp RV to 50 amp service Dmiles MH-General Discussions & Problems 45 05-16-2018 06:56 PM
February "Celebrity Classic" Meal Signups Madame Boomer Texas Boomers 29 02-06-2018 06:55 PM
Can you plug a 50 amp RV cord into a 4 prong appliance plug? Jeff753 RV Systems & Appliances 33 10-17-2015 11:19 AM
Upgrading power plug from 30 amp to 50 amp Gary_Phoenix, AZ Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 12 06-02-2007 04:29 PM
Replacing 20 amp electrical land line plug with 30 amp????? Ragman MH-General Discussions & Problems 6 07-21-2006 10:28 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.