Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2019, 09:56 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
phil57's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 284
30 amp plug

A quick question. I have a friend (no really I do) that might have plunged his 2017 London Air into a 30 amp plug that most likely is wired for a dryer. He now has no ac power. The fridge and everything else works but only on battery power. He also has no surge protector. I know donít bother saying how wrong this is he is well aware. Question is aside from the transfer switch and the 50 amp bar fuse what would keep it from getting power? What can we check. Tech support at Newmar says itís the transfer switch. Nothing smells burnt and we have reset everything. Any ideas?
phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-01-2019, 10:18 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 27,440
Is it a 30 amp or 50 amp RV ?
Did he home make an adaptor ?
Fridge runs on batteries or gas ?

If it has an inverter, check for popped push button breakers.

Do things work on generator power ?

A proper wired 4 blade 30 amp outlet can run a 50 amp RV.

4 blade outlets are 120/240 volt outlets. That what a 50 amp RV uses.

If its a 3 blade 30 amp outlet and a 30 amp RV, then thing can go wrong fast.
A 3 blade 30 amp dryer outlet is 240 volts only and a 30 amp RV is 120 volts only.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 10:28 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
puttin's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,097
Do you have a meter or test light? Find a 50 A source you can connect to the rv (verify it's correctly wired first), then probe the input side side of you ac panel to verify voltages. If non or just on one leg- you'll know there's a problem between there and power cord. Here's an over view:
RV Electric


And this:
__________________
2008 Winnebago Sightseer 35-J
puttin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 10:43 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
phil57's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 284
The London air is 50 amp. Iím at there house and Iím plugged into 50 amp that works as it should. He thought he would just run his on 20 amp as he is in a climate controlled garage. When the charger came on it blew the 20 amp breaker. In his sleepy state he thought he would try the 30 amp plug. It is wired as a 220 not wired correctly for a RV. We know that. We have at this point shut everything down and plugged into the good 50 amp with no luck. We get no AC power either from shore or generator. I have checked the 50 amp bar fuse and itís good. We have the inverter working but the batteries are dying. We know he messed up plugging into the 30 amp but what do you think is blown up. The transfer switch has no burnt smell and there is no board that I could see in it. The fridge is a residential and it runs on battery power.
phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 11:08 AM   #5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 1,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by phil57 View Post
A quick question. I have a friend (no really I do) that might have plunged his 2017 London Air into a 30 amp plug that most likely is wired for a dryer. He now has no ac power. The fridge and everything else works but only on battery power. He also has no surge protector. I know donít bother saying how wrong this is he is well aware. Question is aside from the transfer switch and the 50 amp bar fuse what would keep it from getting power? What can we check. Tech support at Newmar says itís the transfer switch. Nothing smells burnt and we have reset everything. Any ideas?
Check the dog bone or plug he had to fabricate to use, that will tell the story of what if anything happened
Milford 47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 11:19 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
oscarvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 674
If I read your post correctly he applied 240V to...... just about everything.

So, the most sound advice above is from puttin.

Turn ALL AC breakers off.... Plug into 50A, or PROPER 20/30, or start the generator. Take the cover off the AC breaker panel and check for 120V at each 50A supply breaker and neutral/ground.

If not present look at the transfer switch. I suspect it's fried.

If you're lucky and it's working and you have 120V at the panel on BOTH legs.... turn on breakers and check each circuit and what's on it. GFI's may be blown. If appliances were not running they may be OK......

Once circuit at a time. Electrical diagnosis is a process of elimination.
__________________
2017 Berkshire 38A
https://dragonship.blog/
oscarvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 11:22 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Unplanned Tourist's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Kamloops, BC, 60 miles from the Center of the Universe
Posts: 4,921
Sounds like the transfer switch all right. Check the voltage on the terminals going in when plugged into the 50 A MH outlet. Should be 120 V on 2 legs, and 240 V across the 2 120 hots.
Then check output side of the transfer switch. It should be the same.
If you say there is no power when the genset is running, then likely internals of the transfer switch are history.
Hope that helps.
Happy Glamping.
__________________
Happy Glamping, Norman & Elna. 2008 Winnebago Adventurer 38J, W24, dozens of small thirsty ponies. Retired after 40 years wrenching on trucks! 2010 Ford Ranger toad with bicycles or KLR 650 in the back. Easy to spot an RVer, they always walk around with a screwdriver or wrench in one hand!
Unplanned Tourist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 11:30 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 16,336
Remove cover on transfer switch
Plug into 120V AC 50A power source
With voltmeter verify that the shore power side is HOT (L1 & L2)

Then check if AC Out to main panel is HOT
NO..transfer switch is bad
YES...then need to verify you have 120V AC to Main AC Panel BUS Bars
Should also do SAME test using Generator

Think you will find transfer switch is bad.......relays/contacts burnt
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 11:33 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
phil57's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 284
We checked and 99% sure itís the transfer switch. I believe he dodged a expensive bullet. We found a transfer switch and will grab it today and install. I would have expected a burnt smell but didnít. On my Motorhome I have a replaceable circuit board that saves a lot of rewiring. Iíll post what we find out. Thanks for the input.
phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 11:54 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 27,440
The 240 may have quickly burnt the relay circuit board before any of the contactors closed.

If that's the case, he is lucky.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 11:59 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 3,350
I'm pretty sure he mis-wired (or used the wrong connector) his home made dog bone.


The 30 amp RV plug is designated at "TT-30" (travel trailer) and is for 120 volt service ONLY. The 30 amp, 240 volt plug for electric clothes dryers comes in 2 flavors - the NEMA (Nat'l Electrical Manufacturers Assn) 10-30 (old style 3 pin, no long acceptable under Code) and the new (since before 2000) NEMA 14-30.


From Wikipedia:
"The appearance of this plug (TT-30) is sometimes confused with a NEMA 10 connector, rated for 240 V, but the NEMA TT-30 is a 120 V device. The hot and neutral blades are angled at 45į from vertical and 90į to each other, unlike NEMA 10 devices (where the angles are 30į and 60į respectively), also the plug is slightly smaller than a NEMA 10 and larger than ordinary 5-15P plugs. The ground pin is round, like those on straight-blade NEMA grounding devices. Referring to the picture, the orientation is the same as the NEMA 5 plug and receptacle, with the neutral blade on the lower right."
Attached Images
   
__________________
2005 Four Winds Majestic 23A
ďTo the world you may be one person; but to one person you may be the world.Ē - Dr Suess
Solo_RV_Guy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 12:31 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
oscarvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 674
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solo_RV_Guy View Post
I'm pretty sure he mis-wired (or used the wrong connector) his home made dog bone.


The 30 amp RV plug is designated at "TT-30" (travel trailer) and is for 120 volt service ONLY. The 30 amp, 240 volt plug for electric clothes dryers comes in 2 flavors - the NEMA (Nat'l Electrical Manufacturers Assn) 10-30 (old style 3 pin, no long acceptable under Code) and the new (since before 2000) NEMA 14-30.


From Wikipedia:
"The appearance of this plug (TT-30) is sometimes confused with a NEMA 10 connector, rated for 240 V, but the NEMA TT-30 is a 120 V device. The hot and neutral blades are angled at 45į from vertical and 90į to each other, unlike NEMA 10 devices (where the angles are 30į and 60į respectively), also the plug is slightly smaller than a NEMA 10 and larger than ordinary 5-15P plugs. The ground pin is round, like those on straight-blade NEMA grounding devices. Referring to the picture, the orientation is the same as the NEMA 5 plug and receptacle, with the neutral blade on the lower right."
Well, since his buddy was able to plug into the dryer outlet half asleep we can assume he had the old style....
__________________
2017 Berkshire 38A
https://dragonship.blog/
oscarvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 01:49 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by phil57 View Post
The London air is 50 amp. Iím at there house and Iím plugged into 50 amp that works as it should. He thought he would just run his on 20 amp as he is in a climate controlled garage. When the charger came on it blew the 20 amp breaker. In his sleepy state he thought he would try the 30 amp plug. It is wired as a 220 not wired correctly for a RV. We know that. We have at this point shut everything down and plugged into the good 50 amp with no luck. We get no AC power either from shore or generator. I have checked the 50 amp bar fuse and itís good. We have the inverter working but the batteries are dying. We know he messed up plugging into the 30 amp but what do you think is blown up. The transfer switch has no burnt smell and there is no board that I could see in it. The fridge is a residential and it runs on battery power.
I just had a similar problem. My inverter outlets worked on shore power,
generator power and on batteries. My batteries would not take a charge. I smoked a relay on my charging circuit board in my Xantrex inverter. He may want to check that also. There maybe a blown fuse in the inverter. Just a thought.
__________________
Big Al
2000 Blue Bird Wanderlodge LX ME 40
"Angry Bird"
A.R.F. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 02:07 PM   #14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 3,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by phil57 View Post
The London air is 50 amp. Iím at there house and Iím plugged into 50 amp that works as it should. He thought he would just run his on 20 amp as he is in a climate controlled garage. When the charger came on it blew the 20 amp breaker. In his sleepy state he thought he would try the 30 amp plug. It is wired as a 220 not wired correctly for a RV. We know that. We have at this point shut everything down and plugged into the good 50 amp with no luck. We get no AC power either from shore or generator. I have checked the 50 amp bar fuse and itís good. We have the inverter working but the batteries are dying. We know he messed up plugging into the 30 amp but what do you think is blown up. The transfer switch has no burnt smell and there is no board that I could see in it. The fridge is a residential and it runs on battery power.

What are you calling a "50amp bar fuse"? the 50 amp main breaker in the RV? It's a 2 pole circuit breaker not a fuse. Did you take the cover of the panel and use a volt meter?

How did you check it? Did you turn it off then back on?
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using an adapter to plug 30 amp RV to 50 amp service Dmiles MH-General Discussions & Problems 45 05-16-2018 06:56 PM
February "Celebrity Classic" Meal Signups Madame Boomer Texas Boomers 29 02-06-2018 06:55 PM
Can you plug a 50 amp RV cord into a 4 prong appliance plug? Jeff753 RV Systems & Appliances 33 10-17-2015 11:19 AM
Upgrading power plug from 30 amp to 50 amp Gary_Phoenix, AZ Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 12 06-02-2007 04:29 PM
Replacing 20 amp electrical land line plug with 30 amp????? Ragman MH-General Discussions & Problems 6 07-21-2006 10:28 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.