Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-15-2021, 04:05 PM   #1

Adding gauges to your RV generator!

Hello all,

This request was from a subscriber on another post regarding my HDKCA 10KW Onan throwing a 3-6 code. Currently I'm slowly tracing down problems and replacing items that it could be.

Wanting gauges is an important part of me wanting to see a problem before it becomes one. Dummy lights aren't something I enjoy. I am an airline pilot so seeing gauges work is such a joy. Weird, I know.

Onto the gauge discussion...

Most gauges you will come across are either electrically driven (through a sensor at the engine) sending a signal to the gauge. The hiccup here is that you have to add the sensor to the block for oil pressure and at the thermostat head for water temp.

The other type of gauge would be considered "old school" or analog sending an actual oil pressure through a hollow tube or temperature through a thermocouple to the coolant temp gauge. This style is prohibitively hard to do as my generator slides in and out of the RV and the motion alone would fatigue the analog connectors causing a failure of the gauge.... SO ELECTRIC IT IS!

I bought some electrically driven gauges that came with sensors off amazon. The brand is AutoMeter. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

These work well and while they are alittle small, you'll see why size shouldn't matter too much for our setup.