Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2022, 09:23 PM   #1
Member
 
Mlfiedler's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 72
Almost as bad as the VCR flashing "12:00"!

OK, I'm sure there are plenty who will consider me crazy, but I know there are some electronics geniuses on the forum, so I'll hazard the question. I hat my microwave demanding I set the clock before it will even turn on the light above the burners. [It's a GE PSA9120SF1SS]
Though the oven is powered by 120v A/C, (shore or generator) I'm wondering if the clock, and associated control pad may operate on something more like 5 to 7volts D/C. And if so, is there a safe way to isolate the switching circuit from the switched circuit, and supply that D/C power from the coach, so the clock doesn't get "unset" every time we interrupt the 120v power.
Anyone ever tried this kind of foolishness?


Mike
__________________
Mike & Lynn
2000 Country Coach Allure "La Pine", #30536 pushed by an 2014 Ruby Red Grand Cherokee. 31,270 miles run as of 10/05/2021. Retired 12/2017, and loving it.
Mlfiedler is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-18-2022, 09:31 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 578
How long does it take usually to set the time on it? Asking for a friend.
0rion is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2022, 09:51 PM   #3
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 20,378
I would think that your Country Coach would have an inverter. Why not leave the inverter on?
__________________
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018 (Freightliner)
2019 Ford Raptor
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2022, 10:20 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 358
Hmmm - let's see - on mine I press "Set Clock" then then press "1" three times and then press "Set Clock" again, thus setting the time to 1:11 - takes maybe 3 seconds - if I do it at 1:11 (AM or PM) it's even accurate - hardly seems worthwhile to dig into the circuitry to save 3 seconds a few times a day - but to each his own - good luck, keep us posted on what you decide -
johninsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2022, 06:01 AM   #5
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: NY State
Posts: 1,571
One would think the manufacturers might consider a replaceable, rechargeable battery to keep the clock from losing its time setting. I hate going around the house resetting all the *#$&*#$ clocks!

In the MH, it's just one button to get the microwave to stop blinking, which isn't too bad.
__________________
John
1976 Southwind 28', '96 Winnie 34WK,
2006 Tiffin Allegro Bus 40QDP
n2zon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2022, 09:36 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,714
It would be nice for a microwave to have a replaceable coin type lithium battery to hold memory. Similar to a motherboard on a PC. But all in all, it's not a big deal to set the time when we park for the night. I consider it part of our campsite set up procedure.
__________________
03 Itasca Sunova, Workhorse P32 with the 8.1 and 4L85-E
Mudfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2022, 10:29 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
astrnmrtom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 1,537
Handy with electricity and electronics? Got the tools? Willing to toast the control board in your Microwave by making a mistake? Then yes, Probably not hard to do IF you can access whatever sends power to the board. Might be kinda' hard without schematics. If you are lucky, and you can find a wire or harness that sends power to the board, you could cut the power wire and send the proper voltage to the board from another source as long as you know the voltage. If the low voltage power supply is built into the board, you might have to cut some traces and hook up your own power supply. Doable? Yes. Easily doable?? Unknown.

I wondered about doing something similar with my newer TVs. My guess is they run on 5V. This is supplied by a power supply that accepts 110V. Bypass the power supply, and insert one that accepts 12V and I bypass the loss using an inverter. The reality is, these TVs already use so little power it's not worth opening them up and messing with them.
__________________
Tom M. 1998 Safari Serengeti 3706,
300HP Cat 3126 Allison 3060, 600 watts of Solar.
Fisher and Paykel Residential refrigerator
astrnmrtom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2022, 06:57 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Lake forest park, WA
Posts: 181
On mine if I don't want to set the clock, I just press clear and away I go with all functions. But if you want the clock to work, that's another story!
__________________
David Calderon
2007 Discovery 39V pushed by a 2010 Jeep Liberty
Lake Forest park, WA Falcon 2 Tow Bar EEZTire TPMS
dcfleetwood is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2022, 09:21 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
GypsyR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Upstate SC
Posts: 2,049
This is a mild annoyance to me. I've watched my microwave when switching from generator to shore or vice-versa and it will reset every time. I'm guessing the transfer switch isn't particularly speedy.
GypsyR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2022, 09:46 AM   #10
Community Moderator
 
HarryStone's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Clovis NM
Posts: 3,617
Blog Entries: 4
Microwave manufacturers are not concerned about the less than occasional time the power goes out, at a S and B home, to have to reset the clock. They just don't have RV's in their mind when designing the circuits. But, yes, it'd be nice to have the clock backed up by a battery.
__________________
2006 Damon Daybreak 3276 35'with 5 Star Tuner. 3 200 Amp Lithium batteries and 2000 watt PSW inverter/charger. 2013 Elantra on a Master Tow dolly.
Retired USAF
HarryStone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2022, 07:42 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 25
Our microwave is on the same circuit as our refrigerator. As long as the microwave isn't flashing we know there was no power interruption to the refrigerator.
Like a little warning light!
Maury - Lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2022, 08:44 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
OldWEB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 785
Quote:
Originally Posted by johninsd View Post
Hmmm - let's see - on mine I press "Set Clock" then then press "1" three times and then press "Set Clock" again, thus setting the time to 1:11 - takes maybe 3 seconds - if I do it at 1:11 (AM or PM) it's even accurate - hardly seems worthwhile to dig into the circuitry to save 3 seconds a few times a day - but to each his own - good luck, keep us posted on what you decide -
I can see the OPs view where it could be a bit of a pain...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2022-04-03 at 21-42-19 untitled - 49-7000135.pdf.png
Views:	5
Size:	65.9 KB
ID:	361248  
OldWEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2022, 09:11 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,337
Our inverter is on all the time unless it is in winter storage.

Only have to set the clock once a year unless something crazy happens.

This also keep things like our router hubs and stuff from resetting.
__________________
2014 Volvo 630 Tandem 2016 Chevy 3500 DRW, crew cab
2016 Fuzion 325T
675ah AGM, MSH 3012 inverter, 960w Solar
Nwcid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good SAM...Bad Sam Bad Bad Bad! STLNLUV iRV2.com General Discussion 43 12-17-2018 07:49 AM
1994 Southwind "original"TV/VCR cable questions kennyrodgers Fleetwood Owner's Forum 4 05-05-2017 12:27 AM
Hooking up VCR & DVD Player with the AUX VCR & TV nordic tug National RV Owner's Forum 6 08-24-2015 01:22 PM
Bad, bad, bad - bad vibrations.... Doc Vegas Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 21 11-30-2014 05:56 PM
Replacing VCR with DVD/VCR Combo Geechee Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 10 10-11-2006 10:10 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.