Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2022, 09:34 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 208
Aqua Hot Issue

We have a 2021 FW Discovery LXE with an Aquahot 400. While in storage, we simply leave the unit plugged in, to keep batteries charged etc. There is a "whirring" sound coming from the AH. Sounds like a pump to me. Why is it doing this? And short of unhooking all batteries and leaving it sit, what do i do? We are in Canada and need the batteries to stay charged in the winter. I suppose i could shut off the breaker for the AH, but that won't fix the problem.
slate is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-15-2022, 09:38 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 9,777
Take the cover off the front of unit and feel the pumps.

A pump running for no reason will just prematurely wear it out.
__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2022, 09:57 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 248
You may want to check if your basement heater is on.
__________________
2014 Winnebago Tour 42QD
2008 Jeep Liberty
WatchMeRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2022, 09:58 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 375
Check to see if you have a thermostat on, don't forget about bay heaters and the engine preheat. That would cause the circulation pumps to run.

You are correct, the AH and AH control systems are on 12V, so turning off 120V breakers does not help.
__________________
Richard Entrekin
99 Newell, Maverick Hybrid Toad
Inverness, Fl
RichardE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2022, 11:26 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 208
This unit has a master switch for the AH that is in the "off" position. Can't say i know if this unit has a thermostat in the basement. And not sure if it overrides the master in the coach itself.
slate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2022, 02:51 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 3,441
Stir pump or basement heat. Make sure you have the thermostats off of furnace in the coach and the one in the basement turned all the way down. Electric heat and diesel heat switches on off.
__________________
2004 Dynasty 4
shootist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2022, 06:41 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 564
My basement heater is controlled by a button thermostat in the water bay. When it gets below 40 ish degrees it turns on the fan and stir pump. I put a switch before the thermostat so both would not run. Other motorhomes have had a regular setable thermostat. It is there just find it.
__________________
2002 Beaver Marquis Emerald C-12 Cat 505 HP towing 2004 Honda CR V with 300K on clock
2014 Volvo 630 Heren Bed ET Hitch SOLD
2017 New Horizons Majestic 35 foot SOLD
dadej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2022, 07:12 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
DuaneMiller's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by slate View Post
This unit has a master switch for the AH that is in the "off" position. Can't say i know if this unit has a thermostat in the basement. And not sure if it overrides the master in the coach itself.
Slate, your coach does indeed have an analog t-stat to control heat for the basement... It is hidden in the wet bay behind the panel just above the faucet of the outside shower. It should be set from the factory at 40 degrees, but I have heard others with the same coach with different settings. I relocated my t-stat to outside that panel so I could access it.

The basement heating unit, or "Cozy" should be mounted to the ceiling in the bay just forward of the wet bay.

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]
__________________
Duane & Claudine Miller
Raleigh, NC
2020 Fleetwood Discovery LXE 40M
DuaneMiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2022, 08:38 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Topperace's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Jayco Owners Club
RV Trip Wizard
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: roaming
Posts: 174
That is what was happening to ours, the basement thermostat was set really high, so the unit would run even if we had the power "gas" switch turned off...
Ours is a analog Coleman Mach thermostat down there that I wish I could swap with a bluetooth enabled digital thermostat and be able to change via my phone app.
Topperace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2022, 08:57 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 208
Thanks for all the replies. "New to us" unit and om's quite vague on some of this. I did locate that thermostat, but with the lowest setting being 19F, it would still cut in. On another thread owners of the same coach with AH 400's are saying that if the burner and the electric element are"off" in the display, and check that it is not heating, this would override where the thermostats are set. Basically nothing in the AH unit should run if burner/element are in "off" position. Dealers up here don't know how these systems operate, so i gave up talking to them.
slate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2022, 10:44 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 248
You could test that thermostat. If you hear a click as you turn it to a lower setting, then it should be working properly. I don't think the pump will run if you turn-off the main coach power switch. On my coach the batteries still charge with the main coach power switch off. I'd call Fleetwood and ask them if the AH basement heat is wired so it's always on. Are you getting heat in the storage bay where the thermostat is? If not, this could be an issue with the AH, however, I've never heard of a pump running without circulating the anti-freeze.
__________________
2014 Winnebago Tour 42QD
2008 Jeep Liberty
WatchMeRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2022, 11:13 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 208
No heat in the basement. Burner and electric element are off. Just pump 2 running constantly.
slate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2022, 11:19 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 3,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by slate View Post
Thanks for all the replies. "New to us" unit and om's quite vague on some of this. I did locate that thermostat, but with the lowest setting being 19F, it would still cut in. On another thread owners of the same coach with AH 400's are saying that if the burner and the electric element are"off" in the display, and check that it is not heating, this would override where the thermostats are set. Basically nothing in the AH unit should run if burner/element are in "off" position. Dealers up here don't know how these systems operate, so i gave up talking to them.
Then that pump lite on the main board has to be lit. You can disconnect the wire for the pump at the board until you figure it out.
__________________
2004 Dynasty 4
shootist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2022, 01:40 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by shootist View Post
Then that pump lite on the main board has to be lit. You can disconnect the wire for the pump at the board until you figure it out.
Even if the main board shows the AH as turned off, diesel and electric?
slate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aqua hot



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aqua Hot solution to my hot, cold, hot water problem JeffK Entegra Owner's Forum 38 06-25-2017 03:54 PM
Aqua Hot--not hot srx-6 MH-General Discussions & Problems 21 03-04-2010 04:58 PM
Hydro Hot Service (Aqua Hot) Wayne R RV Systems & Appliances 15 03-13-2009 06:25 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.