Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2020, 04:49 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
vseasport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Buena Vista, Baja California Sur
Posts: 239
Backup camera help

I have an 04 Phaeton with an old black and white backup cam and would like to upgrade. My preference is a new wired system using the old wire. The old plug to the camera has a weird connector with 4 pins. I assume it is carrying the video signal and also receiving power from the monitor.
Can someone with experience give an opinion if would be practical to cut off the connectors and use the cable for a new system?
vseasport is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-06-2020, 05:05 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Dunrollin's Avatar


 
Damon Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: FL
Posts: 177
I just did this through RVCams.com. Not cheap but I gave him my old Voyager (I think that was the manufacturer) model number and he sent a new camera and monitor. All plug and play with no wiring issues as it plugged into the old cable. A bonus was the new camera mounted up on the old mount.
__________________
2002 Damon Escaper 3126E Caterpillar, Allison 6 speed.
Dunrollin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2020, 05:45 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
CountryB's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 5,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by vseasport View Post
My preference is a new wired system using the old wire. The old plug to the camera has a weird connector with 4 pins. I assume it is carrying the video signal and also receiving power from the monitor.
Can someone with experience give an opinion if would be practical to cut off the connectors and use the cable for a new system?
I would try to use the same cable. As long as you can determine which pins are for what. I bought a second camera (Voyager) and it has a small four pin connector - so I think it is possible to just cut the plug end off the existing cable and install an new end that matches the camera (or vise versa).

The difficultly will probably be getting a matching connector. You could try Allied, if the camera manufacture can't help https://www.alliedelec.com/connector...eo-connectors/
__________________
Mike --- 2005 Beaver Patriot Thunder CAT C13 525HP, Vicksburg 42ft, with HydraLift ---
*Monaco Chassis, Known Problems, Info https://1drv.ms/f/s!AtvAXw_lfqbToxXYREK9YdBP08Jn
*Monaco Wiring Diagrams https://1drv.ms/f/s!AtvAXw_lfqbTm0WTuuNqpn9a8hCh
CountryB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2020, 06:00 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
mfredm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 379
I am looking at the same thing. If it is a Voyager camera, they use what are called CEC connectors. I cant find the actual connectors anywhere. What i will do is this. The new color camera from RVcams, comes with a male connector, all cams do. You need to buy a short extension cable and cut and splice the female end onto your existing wire then plug in the camera. The reason you must do this is that very few cameras have enough slack in the cable to reach the connection point, they're usually stapled downstream somewhere.
__________________
2011 Bay Star 2902
mfredm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2020, 06:34 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Ray Lenning's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 133
I used these guys to replace my Weldex 7 inch B&W model WDRV-307M in my 2005 Dolphin with the Weldex WDRV-7063M 7 inch color LCD , Camera WDRV-7063C . Used the adapter mounting bracket WDRV-7CRTLCD .
It is plug and play and about $80.00 less than the other suppliers I check with .
It maybe a good fit for the 7 inch B&W Voyager also ?

https://www.atvresearch.com/wdrv-7063m.aspx
__________________
Ray & Melinda
2005 National Dolphin 5355 (MEPAW) , Koni FDS shocks, Safe-T-Plus , Rear track bar , Sumo springs . She tows a 2006 Tacoma 4X4
Ray Lenning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2020, 08:12 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Busskipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Grasonville, MD -- Golden, CO
Posts: 6,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by vseasport View Post
I have an 04 Phaeton with an old black and white backup cam and would like to upgrade. My preference is a new wired system using the old wire. The old plug to the camera has a weird connector with 4 pins. I assume it is carrying the video signal and also receiving power from the monitor.
Can someone with experience give an opinion if would be practical to cut off the connectors and use the cable for a new system?
Used this from Amazon and have been pleased - https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1 .

If you just connect wires then I'd Suggest you use these to make the Connections - Easy, clean and they Work - - https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

In my case I ran a new wire - was easy enough - as I ran it down the side - above the basement doors - so it is out of sight and clean - So there are many ways to solve this issue.

Best of Luck,
__________________
Busskipper
Location - Grasonville, Maryland - and/or - Superior, Colorado
2005 Travel Supreme 42DS04 - GX470 Toad
Busskipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2020, 08:46 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
mfredm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 379
One other consideration is this. My Newmar has a 3 camera system that switches on in turning. Also my rear camera has Audio. Good for backing up to hear people yelling if you're gonna hit something.
__________________
2011 Bay Star 2902
mfredm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2020, 09:03 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
CountryB's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 5,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfredm View Post
One other consideration is this. My Newmar has a 3 camera system that switches on in turning. Also my rear camera has Audio. Good for backing up to hear people yelling if you're gonna hit something.
I have that set up too.
But I unplugged the audio as it is annoying when driving because it over powers the radio-music volume of my dash monitor (and I don't want to hear the engine running when I'm just switching views to the rear camera going down the highway) - so I just give my DW a walkie-talkie to use for guiding me back.
__________________
Mike --- 2005 Beaver Patriot Thunder CAT C13 525HP, Vicksburg 42ft, with HydraLift ---
*Monaco Chassis, Known Problems, Info https://1drv.ms/f/s!AtvAXw_lfqbToxXYREK9YdBP08Jn
*Monaco Wiring Diagrams https://1drv.ms/f/s!AtvAXw_lfqbTm0WTuuNqpn9a8hCh
CountryB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2020, 10:24 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
connlonn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 106
I don't have my manuals w/ me at home so going by foggy memory. I also have the same model as you. Purchased & Installed 3 camera sys. from RVS. The Phaeton has a 4 wire cable from camera to monitor, the new camera is a 5 wire. After talking to RVS, they suggested using the coax around the original wires as the ground wire, there-by supplying the 5th wire needed. Worked like a charm & didn't need to run about 60' of new wire.
Hope it helps some,
LP
__________________
connlonn
Tiffin Phaeton 40 TGH (2004)
Toad - 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee
connlonn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
camera



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone tried using Home security camera system as backup camera before? Victoreric Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 9 04-27-2020 09:12 AM
Help with backup camera knotless Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 07-22-2016 04:54 PM
Changing monitor for backup camera while leaving existing camera. John Jones Country Coach Owners Forum 6 03-01-2016 08:40 PM
Harbor Freight Camera system as a backup camera RLD_999 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 3 08-11-2014 02:04 PM
help on 94 Safari Trek backup camera firepilot65 Monaco Owner's Forum 3 04-11-2012 09:42 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.