RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-31-2020, 06:13 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 46
Cable wiring

Any idea how hard it would be to replace the cabling? I have an input for RV park cable TV in the rear power storage bin and one in a front passenger storage bin. When I hook up from the post using either, scan for channels, and get snow or very low quality video. I do change the box of many buttons to AUX which is what the CABLE wire is on. If I hook it directly to the TV it is fine. Ideas?
__________________

__________________
Keep on Truckin (It's a 70s thing)
2007 Georgetown SE 350DS (Ford)
2007 Jeep Liberty Limited (Toad)
Tax_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-31-2020, 06:18 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 23
If you have a booster switch for your antenna, make sure that isnít turned on.
__________________

Leonandlisa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 06:20 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 46
Yep, that is off.
__________________
Keep on Truckin (It's a 70s thing)
2007 Georgetown SE 350DS (Ford)
2007 Jeep Liberty Limited (Toad)
Tax_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 06:25 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 434
Before I would run a new cable - would do a test by directly running a cable from the post to the TV to verify.

Also check the back of the port in the wet bay or where every you make the connection. The back cable could be loose.
__________________
2018 Entegra Anthem 44B
2016 Tiffin Allegro 36LA (Gone, but not forgotten)
mike625 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 07:17 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
-Gramps-'s Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Crestview FLA
Posts: 1,290
Blog Entries: 7
Your coax switcher uses Aux for cable feed? Most of them are labeled cable, and ant, and aux, some still have vcr as well. Your's doesn't have cable as one of the sources? Also the cable in the front storage bin is usually for an outside TV not for the feed from the ped.

It is very rare for a wire to go bad. The trouble is usually a connector, and most of the time its on the back of the switcher, it is loose or coming apart.
__________________
08 Holiday Rambler Vacationer XL 38PLT Workhorse R-26 UFO gas pusher,
2014 Cadillac SRX AWD, SMI Smart Box braking system.
https://myrandomviews.com/
-Gramps- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 07:59 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike625 View Post
Before I would run a new cable - would do a test by directly running a cable from the post to the TV to verify.

Also check the back of the port in the wet bay or where every you make the connection. The back cable could be loose.
Connecting directly is job one. Be sure you are using RG6 cable with good connectors, I have seen many people using cheap RG59 with loose connectors and frayed sheathing that barely make a connection. I know the poster said the amplifier was off, but what they are describing is exactly what you get when it is on and you are trying to scan for channels. A direct connection will bypass all of that and if the picture is now clear they will know the problem is somewhere in the coach.
Here are a few other things we have run into with guests over the years. The cable into the television has been pulled loose or damaged usually by people packing gear over the wires. If the TV is on one of those rising platforms, the cables can get damaged or detached from the movement. The cable in on the coach is mislabeled often switched with the satellite in. Other components have been added that interfere with the cable signal (the old analog TVs that have had a digital converter added in the line are a big culprit). And of course, good old operator error, not choosing the correct input and not choosing "cable" when scanning. In all our years of owning parks, the only issues with the cable we ever had (other than when we lost signal completely due to weather) were a few broken connections caused by the previous guest driving off before disconnecting the cable or a single channel going out due to a failure of a master box. We never, ever had an issue that caused poor picture quality. Cable is pretty much failure proof from the park's point of view, provided they system was properly installed and maintained.
kcdogger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 09:10 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 46
Thanks for the input. I did connect directly to the TV and it worked fine. Connected from post to BOMB then to TV and it worked ok (boost off). Got a new BOMB and it worked better (boost off). I, however did not check the back side of the connection. Even as a computer tech the obvious was sometimes overlooked and asking usually gave me ideas I missed. Again thanks for the input.
__________________
Keep on Truckin (It's a 70s thing)
2007 Georgetown SE 350DS (Ford)
2007 Jeep Liberty Limited (Toad)
Tax_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 09:18 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 59
I don’t know what your TV and video setup is. But those switching boxes are a leftover technology when TVs had one input and RV’s had several choices of input such as VCR, over the air antenna, and park supplied cable.

Today, with multiple HDMI inputs on even the most basic TV, the switcher boxes belong in the recycle bin. Think about simplifying the wiring into the TV and eliminating the switching box. It’s just a big signal loss device.

And today’s over the air antenna amplifiers allow you to wire the cable connection to the booster, and run one wire to the 75 ohm input to the TV. Switching from cable to OTR is as simple as pushing the boost switch on and off.
__________________

__________________
Richard Entrekin
99 Newell,Subie Outback toad
Inverness, Fl
RichardE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cable, wiring



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TV Cable Box (TiVo) and Cable Internet Installation on Newmar Canyon Star kittyRV Newmar Owner's Forum 2 12-09-2017 10:52 AM
Using AM Antenna cable to pull a new cable DDMO Newmar Owner's Forum 1 08-27-2016 10:46 PM
Cable tv cable Mattera68 Class A Motorhome Discussions 3 07-24-2016 09:17 AM
Cable labels for antenna, satellite, and cable TV billhuntz Fleetwood Owner's Forum 2 06-30-2015 01:17 AM
Television cable and satellite cable routing wagonmaster2 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 15 05-10-2006 08:33 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×