Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2022, 03:55 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Prescott Az.
Posts: 284
can i use house 30 amp

Hello all, mu son in law is wanting to put in a 50 amp outlet on the side of his house. he has a dryer outlet in the house not being used, its a 30-amp it has 4 wire, r b w g, it has a 30-amp breaker.

can he hook the 4 wires to the 50-amp outlet and be safe? doesn't the 4-wires make it 220? is the rv 50-amp 220.

any ideas what to do?

thnx
__________________
Pat and Shelley C.
Prescott Valley Az.
2007 H R Endeavor 40 PDQ, 2021 Wrangler V-6 turbo diesel
gweedo295 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-29-2022, 03:59 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Warhorse6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 458
Having just gone down this road, it’s really about the gauge and not number of wires. 50 amp needs a heavier gauge wire. That and putting a 50 amp outlet on a 30 amp circuit break still gives you 30 amps.
__________________
2018 Phaeton 44OH
2017 Chevy Traverse Toad
Florida
Warhorse6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2022, 04:06 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Tha_Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 7,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by gweedo295 View Post
Hello all, mu son in law is wanting to put in a 50 amp outlet on the side of his house. he has a dryer outlet in the house not being used, its a 30-amp it has 4 wire, r b w g, it has a 30-amp breaker.



can he hook the 4 wires to the 50-amp outlet and be safe? doesn't the 4-wires make it 220? is the rv 50-amp 220.



any ideas what to do?



thnx


I believe technically 220 but not. I think your 2007 one hot leg does half your motorhome and the other hot leg does the other half. I donít believe your panel has the capabilities to offer 220 breakers. You could use your 4 wire but your only going to get 30 amps.
__________________
2007 Fleetwood Revolution LE 40V
Tha_Rooster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2022, 04:56 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Alan_Hepburn's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: San Jose, Ca, USA
Posts: 2,276
Quote:
Originally Posted by gweedo295 View Post
can he hook the 4 wires to the 50-amp outlet and be safe? doesn't the 4-wires make it 220? is the rv 50-amp 220.
Unless the connection somehow disrupts space-time in the neighborhood the 4 wires will be 240V, not 220V - the standard was changed way back in 1967.
__________________
Alan Hepburn - San Jose, Ca
2007 Bounder 35E being pushed by a 2020 Jeep Gladiator Sport S or a 2022 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited (JLU) Sport S
Alan_Hepburn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2022, 05:09 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 3,220
Do not upgrade the 30 amp breaker. It protects the 30 amp wiring to the dryer receptacle. Just be aware that the RV will only be able to draw 30 amps on each leg rather than the full 50 amps.
__________________
TandW
TandW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2022, 05:16 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 23
If you have a 30 amp old dryer receptacle, switch out the 30 amp 2 pole breaker with a single 30 amp and install a 30 amp RV receptacle. Then use a 30 to 50 amp dog bone adapter to power your rig. That will allow you to use most of your rig's appliances, AC, that sort of thing. You might be able to run two AC units. If you try to wire up a 50 amp outlet with the wrong gauge wire it will at the very least be a code violation and at worst start a fire if you aren't careful.
scott2020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2022, 05:24 PM   #7
RRR
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,441
It seems as I recently saw somewhere somebody asking the same question about putting a 30 amp breaker on a fifty amp outlet. IIRC it is not allowed by code due to that later on someone could come along and change the breaker not knowing the wire is undersized thus creating a potential problem. I would be interested in what a qualified sparky has to say.

Does he need a 50 amp? It could easily be converted to 120 volt 30 amp.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	107416989_3162403750464367_8280758924999835189.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	41.8 KB
ID:	369691  
__________________
2016 Bounder 34T Anniversary Edition
RRR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2022, 05:31 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
KenZ71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Back Woods of NC
Posts: 785
Careful with the dog bone! I ran 2 ACs off a dog bone for a while. Everything seemed ok until I tried to pull the dog bone apart. The 50 had arced and welded itself to the 30.
__________________
2012 Newmar King Aire w/ Roadmaster Falcon 2 Tow Bar
2020 Cherokee Trailhawk w/ Blue Ox Base Plate
KenZ71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2022, 05:40 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 30,823
You can do it, just don't upgrade the circuit breaker, without upgrading the wiring..

50 amp 120/240 service has the potental to supply 100 amps at 120 volts.

30 amp 120/240 volt service, your dryer service, has the potential of 60 amps at 120 volts, plenty of power for your RV.

A standard 30 amp RV outlet is 120 volts only so it can only supply 30 amps.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2022, 05:43 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 30,823
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tha_Rooster View Post
I believe technically 220 but not. I think your 2007 one hot leg does half your motorhome and the other hot leg does the other half. I donít believe your panel has the capabilities to offer 220 breakers. You could use your 4 wire but your only going to get 30 amps.
He will get 30 amps on each hot leg.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2022, 05:44 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 30,823
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott2020 View Post
If you have a 30 amp old dryer receptacle, switch out the 30 amp 2 pole breaker with a single 30 amp and install a 30 amp RV receptacle. Then use a 30 to 50 amp dog bone adapter to power your rig. That will allow you to use most of your rig's appliances, AC, that sort of thing. You might be able to run two AC units. If you try to wire up a 50 amp outlet with the wrong gauge wire it will at the very least be a code violation and at worst start a fire if you aren't careful.
That's a big step down from 120/240 volt 30 amp service.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2022, 05:48 PM   #12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 2,184
Quote:
Originally Posted by gweedo295 View Post
Hello all, mu son in law is wanting to put in a 50 amp outlet on the side of his house. he has a dryer outlet in the house not being used, its a 30-amp it has 4 wire, r b w g, it has a 30-amp breaker.

can he hook the 4 wires to the 50-amp outlet and be safe? doesn't the 4-wires make it 220? is the rv 50-amp 220.

any ideas what to do?

thnx
Is there any reason that appropriately sized wires canít be pulled from the main panel to the desired outside location? If space is unavailable in the main panel for a 50A breaker, the unused 30A can be removed.
Kid Gloves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2022, 06:13 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
That's a big step down from 120/240 volt 30 amp service.
True. In my rig, the power control would see something like this as a 50 amp service automatically. I think a person with a similar setup would need to force the power control to 30 amps. When I did something similar, 30 amp 120 volt was enough to run 1 AC, fridge, lights, etc just enough to get by. I felt it was the safest option but I have to keep in mind not to run too much.
__________________
2014 Fleetwood Bounder Classic 36H
scott2020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2022, 06:27 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by KenZ71 View Post
Careful with the dog bone! I ran 2 ACs off a dog bone for a while. Everything seemed ok until I tried to pull the dog bone apart. The 50 had arced and welded itself to the 30.
Yeah, two of these rooftop AC's aren't happy with 30A, and the small prongs on the plugs suffer!
__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Managing Temp & Humidity During Hot days while parked next to house - No A/C Use CoachStreamr Class A Motorhome Discussions 6 05-26-2018 03:16 PM
Can I use house LP tank for portable grill? Chadrock RV Systems & Appliances 8 10-18-2017 07:13 PM
50 amp coach to 30 amp extension to 50 amp house? abarkl RV Systems & Appliances 10 01-02-2015 08:55 PM
Can we go yet, Can we go yet, Can we go yet, Can we go yet, Can we go yet mothgrey Class A Motorhome Discussions 9 11-18-2013 04:51 PM
Wondering if I can use a 50 amp converter cord with my 30 amp service? luke_vardanian Travel Trailer Discussion 12 11-10-2008 03:34 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.