Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2016, 04:46 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 3,401
Can't test 50amp service with this

So I watched a good YT video on how to test pole service before you plug in. I bought a recommended tester. Went to test at our CG and the tips are to short to reach way into the 50amp service circuits to test. Do they make extensions for these things?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tester.jpg
Views:	171
Size:	226.8 KB
ID:	145203  
marjoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-24-2016, 05:10 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Full Timers
Posts: 355
yes, you can get extensions. You can also plug an adapter in the 50 amp socket and the pull out a little so the blades are slightly exposed...better yet get a Progressive Ind EMS-HW50C and be protected. A voltage reading with a meter is nothing more that false security
__________________
Dave & Sheryl Rambeau
2011 Itasca Meridian 39'
Rambeau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2016, 05:12 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8,055
The short answer is probably but they might be hard to find. An example might be these:

Fine Point Extended Test Probe Adapter Set, 1 Red and 1 Black

I'd want to see them first to make sure the probes mated with the existing one's. The insulation would need to be stripped back at the tips. There are probably other options from other sources.

A better answer might be to get an end that plugs into what you are testing and put a few strategically placed holes in the shell so you can probe through the hole but still be protected from grabbing a hot connection.
nothermark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2016, 05:57 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
harleyjt's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Byhalia, MS
Posts: 3,140
If your tester is the one pictured, I cannot understand how the probes are too short to touch the conductors in the receptacle. If those probes are too short, I don't understand how the plug from your coach can make decent contact either if thats the case.
jt
__________________
2005 Newmar Kountry Star Gas 3742, Workhorse W24, 8.1L/Allison 5-spd
2017 Grand Cherokee or 2017 Harley Ultra in tow
JT, Em & the boys, Kong & Baxter (rescued grey tabbies)
harleyjt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2016, 06:55 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
rgvtexan's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NE WA or S TX
Posts: 3,731
Don't push them straight in, aim for the sides. Move them around a bit, you will find the hot spots.
__________________
04 Horizon QD, 12 Ford Flex, Excalibar, Brakemaster, Winter Texan, RVin! since 1974
Norm, Donna & Tinker Kat 74 MGB-GT, 75 MGB, 01 Z3
Life is a Timed Event, you only get One Go Around!
rgvtexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2016, 08:00 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 3,401
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rambeau View Post
yes, you can get extensions. You can also plug an adapter in the 50 amp socket and the pull out a little so the blades are slightly exposed...better yet get a Progressive Ind EMS-HW50C and be protected. A voltage reading with a meter is nothing more that false security
I do have a Progressive Ind EMS-HW50C. My procedure usually is:
1) turn off all breakers in MH
2) check post power with tester
3) If post is ok, plugin
4) check read out on Progressive Ind EMS-HW50C monitor
5) turn on breakers

Maybe over kill but rather be safe than sorry.

Answers to other question:
I did try to move my tester tips to the side of the receptacle but couldn't get contact. I looked closely and the contacts were way in there. When I finally plugged my cord in it made contact just fine. EMS-HW50C Monitor read out good electrical feed, turned on breakers.

Good idea on this suggestion:
You can also plug an adapter in the 50 amp socket and the pull out a little so the blades are slightly exposed
marjoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2016, 08:06 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 15,064
I let the progressive ems doing the testing. Turn off the pedestal breaker, plug in the ems and shore power cord, turn on the breakers. Go do other stuff. After doing other stuff power should be on in the coach. If not, go see what the ems found that it didn't like.
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2016, 08:14 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
CampDaven's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fulltime, USA
Posts: 16,488
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
I let the progressive ems doing the testing. Turn off the pedestal breaker, plug in the ems and shore power cord, turn on the breakers. Go do other stuff. After doing other stuff power should be on in the coach. If not, go see what the ems found that it didn't like.

Yep!
Nothing else is required.
I plug mine in as the first act of setup. In a few seconds I know all I need to.
I do own a meter, but between the PI portable unit and my Magnum Energy panel, it doesn't get used much.
__________________
Dave and Nola, RVM1
The Journey is Our Destination!

https://davenola.blogspot.com/
CampDaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2016, 11:45 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
SpaceNorman's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,173
I'm not comfortable enough with using a multimeter to be sticking probes into places "real juice" might be present.

My Progressive surge/power protector is an external unit. I kill the breaker on the pole - plug in the Progressive - and turn the breaker back on. If I see green lights across the board - I kill the breaker on the pole, plug the coach into the Progressive unit - and then turn the breaker back on. I then give my DW a holler on the FRS radio and have her confirm what the LED display on the "Load Center" reads (50 amp, 30 amp, etc.) to complete the hook up process.

While I'm sure that in the hands of an electrically knowledgeable somebody - a multimeter would be the tool of choice. I fear that me forgetting where to set the selector dial for the test I'm trying to perform ... then jamming a couple of probes into a 50 amp receptacle in the hopes that I'm going to make contact with the right something - just might send me flying.
__________________
SpaceNorman
2012 HR Endeavor 43' DFT, 2012 Jeep Liberty
www.penquinhead.com
SpaceNorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2016, 03:59 AM   #10
Administrator in Memoriam
 
Route 66's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 25,899
I agree. The EMS tests several things...........constantly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
I let the progressive ems doing the testing. Turn off the pedestal breaker, plug in the ems and shore power cord, turn on the breakers. Go do other stuff. After doing other stuff power should be on in the coach. If not, go see what the ems found that it didn't like.
__________________
Adios, Dirk - '84 Real Lite Truck Camper, '86 Wilderness Cimarron TT, previously 4 years as a fulltimer in a '07 DSDP

Route 66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2016, 05:39 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Sweetbriar's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3,324
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgvtexan View Post
Don't push them straight in, aim for the sides. Move them around a bit, you will find the hot spots.
I do the same when necessary which isn't very often. The cord end power protector has worked well closing out it's fifth year of never coming off the end of the cord.
Sweetbriar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2016, 06:27 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 3,401
Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
I let the progressive ems doing the testing. Turn off the pedestal breaker, plug in the ems and shore power cord, turn on the breakers. Go do other stuff. After doing other stuff power should be on in the coach. If not, go see what the ems found that it didn't like.
Ok I get that but here's why I choose to did the meter thing. When we had our TT, we found a really nice spot. At that time I had a portable EMS unit. So the first thing I did was to walk over to the post and plugged it in to see if the green lights came on and verified that the post had good power BEFORE I backed in and started "doing other stuff". So in this example the lights did come on, verified power was good, so we backed in, leveled and started doing all the "other stuff". I went around and plugged in the 30amp power cord to our portable EMS and it started to give me bad readings. After trouble shooting I realized that this post was not delivering good power after all. SO.......we had to UNDO the "other stuff" we did and move. Big hassle.

So when we bought this MH, one of the first things I did was install a hard wired EMS-HW50C for all the many reasons mentioned on this site. But as an added precaution, because of what happened in the above example, I wanted to again, verify that the power was good before we go into any kind of setup up mode or "doing other stuff". So I watched this video on YT to show me how to do this. (see below) It just seemed to me that even though I'm now covered with the EMS-HW50C, instead of driving through or backing up into position where I can pull out the cord, plug it in see what the readings are from the EMS-HW50C, why not check the electrical post 1st by walking up to it and testing it. Seemed to me that would save me a lot of hassle only to find out that, that post had insufficient power and then have to put the cord back into the bay, pull the rig out and find another site. All that positioning to do that exercise was for nothing.

A few weeks ago I posted here how to check a CG electrical post BEFORE I plugged in and one of the suggestions was to buy what SpaceNorman did and buy a portable unit also. (Even though he uses that as his permanent source) Well that's a couple of hundred bucks or more and I wasn't going to do that. So that's why I decided to do what the YT video suggested.

I hope I'm making sense here. If there's a better, inexpensive, safer and reliable way, to check the post for power before I go through all the hassle of getting into position to test it with the MH's poser cord I'm open. Do you all see where I'm coming from?

Your thoughts...?

Video that I watched is here:
marjoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2016, 07:29 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Tha_Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 6,579
I have no problem sticking my prob in a hot area, if you don't know what you are doing ?
__________________
2007 Fleetwood Revolution LE 40V
Tha_Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2016, 07:47 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
rgvtexan's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NE WA or S TX
Posts: 3,731
If you are handy or know someone who is, there are DIY testers. Here's a couple

50-amp Tester

http://www.beamalarm.com/Documents/5...et_tester.html

I watched the video. Notice how he tilts the probes to the side to get a reading. With a little practice, I think you can get the hang of it. I only have about 60+ years.
__________________
04 Horizon QD, 12 Ford Flex, Excalibar, Brakemaster, Winter Texan, RVin! since 1974
Norm, Donna & Tinker Kat 74 MGB-GT, 75 MGB, 01 Z3
Life is a Timed Event, you only get One Go Around!
rgvtexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
service, test



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can we go yet, Can we go yet, Can we go yet, Can we go yet, Can we go yet mothgrey Class A Motorhome Discussions 9 11-18-2013 04:51 PM
99 36fds trailer brake controller and 50amp service plug question Justinmartin Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 6 09-02-2013 04:40 PM
50amp service down to 30amp service Gary G. RV Systems & Appliances 15 08-23-2013 04:05 AM
50amp to 30amp to 50amp SwampTrash RV Systems & Appliances 4 05-09-2010 08:23 AM
Electrical Details of 50amp Service Nathan Focht RV Systems & Appliances 5 07-08-2008 08:39 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.