Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2017, 03:06 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 31
Connecting trailer 120v to Motorhome generator

Sorry if this has been addressed, but despite numerous searches I couldn't get on the right track.

I have a 7.5 KW QuietDiesel generator in my 2002 Fleetwood Discovery DP. I am considering the purchase of an enclosed trailer that has a 120v system. The trailer has two 120v input connections - a 30amp and another smaller one.

What would I need to do to hook up the trailer so it can run off my generator? I'm not at the coach, but I don't recall seeing an outlet on the generator or in the electrical bay (other than some regular outlets in a couple of my storage compartments).

TIA
SHutson is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-18-2017, 03:19 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8,055
Assuming the trailer has a connector for a 30 Amp and a 20 Amp shore cord you can simply plug an extension cord into any outlet and the 20 Amp male pin connector. If you have something else post a picture.

How much you want to bother with connections depends mostly on what you are running in the trailer. If it's lights it's not an issue. If you are escalating into power equipment then you need to consider the power draw.
nothermark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2017, 03:19 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 37,370
Probably no 30 amp outlet from the generator, there might be a standard 15 amp one someplace but you will need to check to see if it's live when on the generator.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft, HWH Active Air
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 Jeep JKU Dragon Edition
Mr_D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2017, 03:23 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
bluepill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 2,457
If the breaker panel on your MH has an unused slot, just pop in a single 30 amp breaker and run 10 gauge romex to a convenient spot (Electrical bay would be good) and fit a 120 volt 30 amp outlet.

This is the outlet you need:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
__________________
2008 Itasca 37H
2011 & 2012 Len & Pat's "One lap of America"
27K miles & 41 states in 13 months
Yellowstone Lake 6-1-2012
bluepill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2017, 03:27 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
What I did (And why)

IN installed an additional pair of 30 amp breakers in my Main Power Panel, I ran heavy wire (I would suggest at least 8 GA though I used 10) from there to a box in one of the weather protected bays.

IN that box is a 30 amp TWIST LOCK which came in real handy when Detroit Edison fell down on the job at my Sticks and Bricks (you see there was a matching INLET on the back of the house, and a PROPERLY designed and installed Generator Transfer Panel with watt meters in the basement, and a big long custom made 8GA cord....)

Worked great.

Well, to finish this.. Since I had the box. and the wires. I also put a pair of Female TT-30 Pigtalis .... and that's the answer to your question.

Pick a leg, add a 30 amp breaker, I'd run 8GA romex to a junction box in a weather protected area. and a Female TT-30 to the trailer from there.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2017, 03:30 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Mid Atlantic Campers
Coastal Campers
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,615
Depends how much current you want to be able to pull out of the generator for the trailer.

If you want up to 20amps 120vac, most coaches have an outlet in one or two of the bays. I have an outlet in my electrical bay, one on PS storage, and another one on DS storage that the vacuum uses. Simply plug into that. If your trailer has a 30 amp cord, then use an adapter similar to what you would use in campground to connect to 20amp socket. Max current in this setup, 20amps.

If you want more current, then for most coaches you'll need to put in a socket, and if I were going to do that I would do it in my electrical bay where my transfer switch is. I have both the generator and shorepower as input to that switch, and the output goes to the coach breaker box. I could connect into the transfer switch output, and put in a 50amp female socket or 30 amp socket, depending upon what you wanted.
__________________
DaveB, Raleigh, NC
2015 Tiffin RED 33AA, w/Honda CRV
VMSpc, Magnum BMK/ARC50
Kiawah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2017, 03:40 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluepill View Post
If the breaker panel on your MH has an unused slot, just pop in a single 30 amp breaker and run 10 gauge romex to a convenient spot (Electrical bay would be good) and fit a 120 volt 30 amp outlet
I have the 50amp Smart EMS board that monitors my 120v usage. Would that automatically compensate for the new breaker or would it need to be re-programmed somehow?

The trailer has an RV roof air conditioner but I assumed I wouldn't have the juice to run that seeing as if it was that hot, both coach airs would already be running on the generator. Mostly I would be using lights and battery chargers, maybe a small drill.
SHutson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2017, 03:43 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 31
Here are the trailer sockets (sorry if the image is huge):

SHutson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2017, 04:30 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
vito.a's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 4,967
On our Windsor I added a covered outdoor 110v 20a outlet mounted to the side of trailer hitch steel support. I wired it into the engine bay outlet above it and used flexible electrical conduit to protect the wire. I could have just used the existing outlet in the engine bay (normally used for the block heater), but then would have to open the engine bay door each time and that is not easy when the trailer is connected.

On our Executive I added a covered outdoor 110v 30a outlet (twist lock similar to the one on the left in your picture) mounted to the side of the trailer hitch steel support. This was more work to wire.The coach already had a 30a breaker box in the rear bath for the dryer.I ran special outdoor multi-strand (more flexible) 10-3 wire from the dryer breaker box through the floor and back to the trailer hitch area.I enclosed it in flexible conduit also.
__________________
97 Monaco Windsor- Sold
07 Monaco Executive McKinley- Sold
04 Monaco Signature Chateau IV
vito.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2017, 09:03 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8,055
Given your sockets you can put up to 20 Amps through the smaller one with a heavy duty extension cord plugged into an outlet in your MH or into the pedestal in a campground. Probably can run the A/C if the MH is not running a lot of other stuff. Battery charger and small drill should not be an issue. Turn off the A/C if you want something bigger for a short time.
nothermark is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator, motorhome



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motorhome Newbie - 50 Amps to 120v and Heating Pipes BatShipCrazy RV Systems & Appliances 10 01-07-2017 06:36 AM
Connecting to portable generator gator67 RV Systems & Appliances 2 11-23-2015 07:57 PM
Connecting MH to new trailer with air brakes dukenrock Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 3 07-19-2012 08:52 PM
Connecting a QD3200 generator to a Xantrex AGS NathanBroman RV Systems & Appliances 0 05-09-2011 06:50 AM
Connecting to an industrial generator at an event Learn2Q RV Systems & Appliances 22 04-20-2011 11:03 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.