Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 11-11-2011, 12:38 PM   #1

Damon Challenger 37KT

Hi all. I am pretty new to this forum. I've been surfing around for a few months but this is my first post. I am currently a fifth wheel owner but my wife and I would like to become motor home owners. The main reason would be convenience. We really like our fifth wheel but there are reasons that a motor home would better fit our needs. An animal is one issue and having everything available to you while moving would be nice too. A Diesel Pusher would be wonderful but I think for our first Motor home it would be out of the question. I've been looking at a lot of different units on the Web and have found one to be very interesting. It is a Damon Challenger 37KT. This unit is 37' 10" long and has a gas 6.8L V10 engine. My wife really likes the layout as it reminds her much of our fifth wheel and......what makes Mama happy makes me happy. It has the Cherry cupboards and the floor plan is split up a bit and doesn't run just in a straight line. Does anyone out there have a gas unit this size, if so, is there enough power to propel it, especially if you were to take it through a mountain pass. We would also want to two a small vehicle. I would say, somewhere at about 3000 lbs. Secondly, how are these gas units as far as stability goes. I understand stabilizer bars can be added to improve handling but I am concerned with the size. We currently have a 36 foot fifth wheel which I tow with a Dodge 6.1 Diesel. I never have a pow