Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 11-23-2020, 09:58 AM   #1

Rexhall Owners Group
DC to DC Charger and lithium

Let me start by saying I'm not a gear head. I'm a 77 year old beginner who hasn't found a mechanic I can trust to work on my Pace Arrow motorhome.

I know the issue has been discussed many times and almost always the suggestion is to use a DC - DC charger to reduce amps to the batteries and eliminate the possibility of damage to the alternator. Most of the threads I've read are about charging the lithium batteries in a travel trailer rather than a motorhome. Also, many of the posts are from owners of trucks that have newer technology smart alternators. So I think I understand their need.

By comparison, my 2005 Pace with it's 8.1 Chevy has an old technology alternator which I believe puts out considerably more amps than either a similar 2005 Chevy truck or a newer truck with a smart alternator. I've also seen the Victron video of an alternator heating up and smoking because it's unable to adequately dissipate the heat build up while at slow speeds. I also read there is a risk of overheating the wire from the alternator to the batteries when using a more powerful alternator.

So with that in mind rather than a DC to DC charger, which increases charge time of lithium why not use an appropriate alternator with a heavier gauge wire?
garyb1st is offline   Reply With Quote