RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-11-2017, 07:42 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 9
Dometic propane/electric fridge

We are having a problem with our dometic fridge. It will not run on propane anymore. When we set it on gas, it will run for a few minutes and then the "check" light comes on. Then we have to manually change it over to electric. Propane heat and stove work fine.

Any ideas what might be causing this?

Thanks,

Roadtrip414
Roadtrip414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-11-2017, 08:33 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
G Schulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Alberta
Posts: 550
The burner and or orifice probably needs to be cleaned.


2009 Safari Cheetah 40'
350 HP Cat
2014 Ford Focus
Air Force One
G Schulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 09:28 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Inthe70s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 344
Mine did the same so I removed the metal panel that covers the flue and I blew air into it. I also cleaned the burner. After doing that, it worked fine. You can search it on YouTube and you can see how to clean it.
__________________
'74 F350 44K,'79 11' Mitchell Camper, MINT All Original
'79 Mitchell 25' Class C, 460 46K, MINT All Original
'97 Rexhall Aerbus, 60K, 460, F53, MINT All Original
Inthe70s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 01:54 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: N CA
Posts: 141
I had a problem last month the unit would spark and light but not shut off the spark. I measured the 12v power and cleaned the burner, the ground wire connectors and thermocouple. Started working correctly after that.

Good luck
CA Harts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2017, 01:16 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inthe70s View Post
Mine did the same so I removed the metal panel that covers the flue and I blew air into it. I also cleaned the burner. After doing that, it worked fine. You can search it on YouTube and you can see how to clean it.
Thanks for your help. We are going to try this today.
Roadtrip414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2017, 02:19 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 13,875
Reason you get the 'check' light is due to main flame not 'proving'

When main flame lights off a 'signal' is generated (flame ionization).
This milivolt signal goes back to circuit board proving main flame has been established and is burning correctly

When circuit board fails to get this signal it shuts-down DC to gas valve/spark electrode to prevent an accumulation of unburned fuel

In order for signal to be generated and sent back to circuit board requires:
Clean unobstructed burner tube/slots....no rust/debris or damaged slots
Clean spark electrode....no carbon/soot build up
Spark electrode 'engulfed' in main flame------gets red
Good strong spark from electrode.....1/8" gap
No cracks in electrode ceramic .....watch for tracking to ground while spark electrode is firing (At night----should only see spark at tip of electrode to ground rod or burner)
Good clean grounding......either via ground wire or via spark electrode assembly mounting screw
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2017, 04:13 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
Quote:
Originally Posted by G Schulz View Post
The burner and or orifice probably needs to be cleaned.
My first thought as well

For the O/P here is the sequence
Thermostat calls for COLD
Gas valve opens and ignigition coil sends high voltage to spark rod/flame sensor ignighting gas (We hope).
Rod heats up, after a few seconds ignigion system is turned off and flame sensor kicks in.. If it sees .480 volts it keeps gas flowing.

Possible issues
Burner dirty (Spider nest) or otherwise clogged or out of adjustment causing weak or no flame
Igintion system not working
Flame sensor (Thermocouple) not working (Doubtful)
Flame sensor chip on control board now working (Also likely)

On the Fridge though the burner is #1

Clogged flue, bird's nest, can also cause issues.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2017, 04:31 PM   #8
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 8,178
I have seen that soaking the little orofice in alcohol as the service manual indicates has solved many problems with your symptoms. It seems a tiny spider or fleck of something gets inside and acts like a little ball valve.

Do not use a needle to clean the hole. The thing can be damaged easily.
Make sure you turn the gas off at the tank and run a burner until lines are clear of gas. You don't want that thing to fire off with the orofice off. It WILL INDEED clear the spider webs out of the back of the refer. Just one tap of the on off button can do it.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2016 Ford F150 Limited V6 with Ready Brake
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dometic, fridge, propane



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dometic Fridge: HUGH temp variance, freezer to fridge? DGBPokes RV Systems & Appliances 1 10-03-2016 02:32 PM
In-slide Norcold/Dometic fridge vs residential fridge abi2001 5th Wheel Discussion 13 05-22-2016 07:53 PM
My Dometic 3Way Fridge On Propane Libero RV Systems & Appliances 3 10-04-2013 05:40 PM
Dometic fridge won't change to propane panacea97 Newmar Owner's Forum 2 09-06-2007 07:02 AM
Dometic fridge shutting down propane MaxAZ 5th Wheel Discussion 14 10-31-2006 11:20 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.