Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-13-2018, 07:00 AM   #141

Wow. Some folks seem overly sensitive, No? I don't think anyone's going to leave any marks with what they type, and I have gotten some good food for thought on this thread.

1. I think I will get some spray bleach disinfectant and spray the hose connection when I hook up. Just common sense - I'm getting older and as you age, your immune system isn't as efficient as it used to be (I'm a nurse, so I get to worry about germs).
2. When I hook up, I'll continue to do the fresh water hose first, run some water through it to flush it out before connecting to the rig (I already do this)
3. Sewer connection last.

this sequence is common sense and the addition of the bleach on the hose connection is a reasonable precaution. I haven't done it to this point, but I will. Personal preference.

When disconnecting. Same sequence with the addition of flushing the black tank with a different, utility hose after removing the white, potable water hose:

1. disconnect fresh water hose
2. gloves (optional, but I try to do this most of the time)
3. connect utility hose to black water tank flush
4. drain black, flush black, drain gray.
5. I do have a flushing cap for the sewer hose if I need to rinse the stinky slinky:
https://www.google.com/search?q=camc...80881668220560
6. WASH HANDS!

If I'd have to use a dump station, I would not rinse the black tank - but if there's a hose connection and no line: go for it.