Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-13-2021, 07:21 AM   #1

DP vs Gas RV - Recommended Driving / operating or storing?

Good morning !

I am somewhat new to the Class A game as I have owned one for two years only taking local 2-7 day trips. We recently completed a 3 week trip from WA to NM which was great but towing my Jeep, windy weather pushing the RV over the road has got me to thinking to upgrading to a DP.

While there are marked difference in the cost of buying and operating/maintaining a DP, the question I have is more along the line of what is a an acceptable yearly usage of a DP. I have heard/read that if your are full timing RV, a DP is a great way to go but to let is set for an extended period of time, it is not good. I would assume this is true of all mechanical things.

We are most likely a couple years away from extensive use of a coach during
a 12 month period, but if a bargain were to be found, what is suggested in operating/maintaining a coach to ensure issues don't creep in from inactivity?

Thanks in advance
Rick.Winters is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!