RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-18-2020, 02:26 PM   #1

Driving on steep mountain grades - I've never done it before in a Class A

I was reading another thread from someone asking about adequate HP for mountain grades, maintaining speeds, etc. I have never driven a Class A through the mountains. I hope to have the pleasure of doing that in the coming year. As I sit here and read some of the things written about maintaining speed and momentum, the use of engine brakes in descent and all, I realize that I really don't know how to properly do either.

My coach is a 2005 Mountain Aire 43' tag with a ISL 400 Cummins and an Allison 3000 transmission. Given all that, as far as going up and coming down, as ridiculous as it might sound to most of you who have done this - whats the best way to do this?

As far as going up, do you just push the pedal to the floor and keep it there for the climb, let the automatic trans do it's thing and go? Do you have to manually select a lower gear to keep the revs up? When they speak of only being able to maintain 45 mph or so going uphill I presume that's full throttle and let the engine do the best it can? Coming from a history of gas only engines, that sounds abusive, but I guess diesels are OK with that?

Coming down I have a two speed (High-Low) engine brake. I presume that as the coach gets momentum coming downhill, you engage the engine brake and comedown essentially at idle power and the engine brake keeps the coach from gaining speed and you having to constantly use the brake pedal to keep the speed under control. How do you decide to use low or high setting?