RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2016, 09:10 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Calif
Posts: 16
Electric amp problem

Hi there,
New to full timing and enjoying it. We keep learning. Our unit is a 08 Bounder 35 H. This just started happening yesterday on the Load Meter that is mounted in the master bedroom. Sometimes off for short burst or on and than runs up and down the meter read from 0 all the way up 50 amp until it's normal read at 50 as and all works fine. We are hooked up to 50 amp shore power that is metered. Any thoughts what might be the problem?
Thanks Ken
zeebuild is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-02-2016, 09:21 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 7,647
Sounds like you have a Energy Management System (EMS). Do you know what make/model. Are any systems shutting down, is it shedding loads?

The system will monitor current usage for the entire system and report. You could have a loose connection or a control board going bad.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 250 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2016, 12:48 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Calif
Posts: 16
Thanks, not sure about EMS unit or it's location, will see if I can locate in the AM.
The only item we notice not working was the heater and that's when I noticed the load meter was dead for a short while and than returned going up and down 0 amps to 50 amps and finally would lock in on the 50 amps and all was back to normal, For a period of time and start over again. That's has happened about 4 time.
zeebuild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2016, 07:45 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Mid Atlantic Campers
Coastal Campers
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,615
I would suspect you're loosing power on one of the legs (or neutral).

Could be somewhere in the path or the power post, your plug or cable, EMS power protector, transfer switch, or circuit breaker box.

It's a matter of getting a voltmeter out and start checking everything, and making sure all of the wire connections are also tight and secure.

If you have an EMS power protector (like a progressive), then it could be it's detecting low voltage on one of the legs, and then shutting down the power to the coach. When shore power is within correct range again, it turns back on until it detects another error condition. Progressives have displays which will supply an error code, if this is your problem.
__________________
DaveB, Raleigh, NC
2015 Tiffin RED 33AA, w/Honda CRV
VMSpc, Magnum BMK/ARC50
Kiawah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2016, 10:11 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
When plugged into 50 amps the amp meter on an Energery Management (Load Shedder such as the Intelletec) should be dark, no indication at all

Showing 0, then running up to 50, then shutting off (or showing actual load) indicates 30 amp service and a power "blink" The run up zero to 50 is the POST (Power on self test) following a power outage.

Loss of JUST one leg, will also cause the unit to activate, that might cause the POST to happen, and with just one leg it SHOULD show amps.

Why does it not show amps on a proper 50 amp circuit?
Because it is measuring the current on the NEUTRAL lead. if you are plugged into 30 amps using an adapter this is your total current use. but if plugged into 50 amps it is the difference between L-1 and L-2 and basically meaningless.. So they shut it off.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2016, 03:49 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Rockwood27's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Freedom, NH
Posts: 1,157
My Intelletec sometimes acts squirrelly like you're experiencing. I found the fix was to reset it by shutting off the power at the pedestal and disconnecting the coach batteries. It needs a 12 volt reset.
__________________
Fran, Mary & Zoey (silver Cocker)
2012 Roadtrek 190 Popular & 2015 Montana HC 343RL
'16 Chevy Sonic LTZ Auto Hatchback 4-down
Rockwood27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2016, 09:06 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Calif
Posts: 16
Thanks, have started checking all electric connection. working fine for about 24 hr now. Ken
zeebuild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2016, 09:13 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Calif
Posts: 16
Thanks, it's working fine for about a 24 hr now. Will keep checking but all is well now Ken
zeebuild is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"NORCOLD & DOMETIC RECALLS" & Service Manuals Norcold & Dometic "007" RV Systems & Appliances 89 07-18-2019 05:41 PM
Generator Maintenance & MANUALS Onan & Generac & PARTS "007" RV Systems & Appliances 34 07-06-2019 03:09 AM
Overloaded Electric & now NO electric unless using generator. themeowers RV Systems & Appliances 10 12-28-2011 10:53 AM
manual A&E two-step to an electric A&E two-step? motofamily MH-General Discussions & Problems 5 10-08-2010 09:55 AM
Electric system monitor panel shows 30 amp when hooked up to 50 amp Magumba Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 13 03-05-2010 09:09 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.