Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2021, 10:28 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 9
Electrical, help!

Just bought a 2002 Southwind Windsport 38 foot class A.

As soon as I plugged it into the gfci at my house it tripped. Finally figured out it was one circuit that was causing it. The problem is there is so many outlets on that circuit making it hard to diagnose. With the generator running everything is fine.

Plugged into a different outlet that doesnít have gfci and it didnít trip. But, those outlets that didnít work before are only putting out about 47V instead of the 120. With the generator running this outlets put out 120. Any ideas!?!

Thanks!
JeffAlaska is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-27-2021, 10:45 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Mile Marker 42's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: S. California
Posts: 997
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffAlaska View Post
Just bought a 2002 Southwind Windsport 38 foot class A.

As soon as I plugged it into the gfci at my house it tripped. Finally figured out it was one circuit that was causing it. The problem is there is so many outlets on that circuit making it hard to diagnose. With the generator running everything is fine.

Plugged into a different outlet that doesnít have gfci and it didnít trip. But, those outlets that didnít work before are only putting out about 47V instead of the 120. With the generator running this outlets put out 120. Any ideas!?!

Thanks!
So, you have an adapter from your 30 or 50 amp cord down to 110, and that is what you are plugging into your home outlet? If that is the case, I would think you have a issue with one of your adapters.
__________________
2003 Monaco Knight 36ft- 315 ISC
2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee 3.0 Diesel 4x4
2- 2013 Yamaha VXR's 70MPH+ on aluminum trailer
Mile Marker 42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2021, 02:10 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 27,458
What breaker do you turn off to stop the GFCI from tripping ?

Do you have an inverter in that rig ?
They give low voltage readings on some volt meters.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2021, 03:47 AM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 3,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffAlaska View Post
Just bought a 2002 Southwind Windsport 38 foot class A.

As soon as I plugged it into the gfci at my house it tripped. Finally figured out it was one circuit that was causing it. The problem is there is so many outlets on that circuit making it hard to diagnose. With the generator running everything is fine.

Plugged into a different outlet that doesnít have gfci and it didnít trip. But, those outlets that didnít work before are only putting out about 47V instead of the 120. With the generator running this outlets put out 120. Any ideas!?!

Thanks!
Tell use what outlets they are. Every one that does not work.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2021, 06:19 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Wainscott NY
Posts: 243
GFI outlets do not like RV's. That is because they sit in rubber tires and are not bonded (grounded). Remember GFI stands for ground fault interrupter. Stan
__________________
Stan & Mary, and Lucy a Canine Princess in Training....

2021 Tiffin Allegro Bus 35cp, 2014 Cadillac SRX toad
36PFT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2021, 10:15 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
SKP Kirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Part-time out of Mesquite, TX
Posts: 1,058
Quote:
If an appliance is working properly, all electricity that the appliance uses will flow from hot to neutral. A GFCI monitors the amount of current flowing from hot to neutral. If there is any imbalance, it trips the circuit. The GFCI senses a mismatch as small as 4 or 5 milliamps, and it can react as quickly as one-thirtieth of a second. That's a key specification, because at around 10 milliamps, human muscles "freeze" from electrical overload, meaning that you're unable to let go of an object that's causing a shock; just two seconds at that level of current can cause death [source: ELCOSH].
But that does not explain the 47V reading. My first question is, how was that measured? Did you measure between hot and neutral (the 2 vertical slots) or between hot and ground? You should measure both ways and also between neutral & ground aas well and what you read is important to know if we are to determine what is the cause. Do those same readings wit the generator supplying power and post what you get. I could make some guesses but prefer not to do so.
__________________
Good Travelin! Kirk
Full-time 11 years, now part-time.
Kirk & Pam's Great Adventure!
SKP Kirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2021, 01:05 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 24,236
Sorry to nitpick but Windsport (Thor) and Southwind (Rev Group) are two different brands from two different manufacturers. It probably doesn't make any difference as far as your problem is concerned, but there may be wiring differences between the two manufacturers.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition and several other RVs
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2021, 01:08 PM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 24,236
Quote:
GFI outlets do not like RV's. That is because they sit in rubber tires and are not bonded (grounded). Remember GFI stands for ground fault interrupter.

Not relevant at all. GFCI protection does not depend on the system or appliance being grounded at all. Or even having a ground wire in the circuit. It merely determines if the current flowing in the hot & neutral wires is identical.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition and several other RVs
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2021, 01:13 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2,528
At this point, we are ASSUMING that you have a 50 amp coach/wiring, not 30 amp.


Please verify that first.


Next, starting at the house/CG outlet, check voltage and tell us where it goes from 120 VAC on that leg to 47 VAC. The issue will be "upstream" of where you find that.


Likely suspect is wiring in the ATS (Automatic Transfer Switch) or in your shore power cord/adapter.


You KNOW it is not "after" the ATS, as all is well on generator.
__________________
Brett Wolfe
Ex: 2003 Alpine 38FDDS. Ex: 1997 Safari Sahara. Ex: 1993 Foretravel U240
wolfe10 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 03:03 AM   #10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 3,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by 36PFT View Post
GFI outlets do not like RV's. That is because they sit in rubber tires and are not bonded (grounded). Remember GFI stands for ground fault interrupter. Stan
The GFI outlet has absolutely nothing to do with the RV sitting on rubber tires. GFI's work very well in older 2 wire non-grounded systems and are in fact required by the NEC to be installed in remodeled 2 wire systems. The GFI reads hot to neutral. Not hot to ground. That is why the neutral in run thru the GFI breaker.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 03:07 AM   #11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 3,165
36PFT. You still have not told us What outlets do not work! Check all of them inside and out.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 10:39 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 9
Sorry, itís not telling me when I get a response. 30 amp. So back to basics. Generator is running all outlets work. Plug into multiple different outlets and it always trips the gfci....unless I have the one breaker turned off. This breaker basically goes to some outlets from the front of the couch to back. While the genny is running I plugged my outlet tester in and all check out fine. Took down the breaker panel and all connections are good.

I guess it would make it easier to diagnose if there was a problem with the generator as well. Confused! Thanks for everybodyís input.
JeffAlaska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2021, 03:41 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cape Coral, Fl.
Posts: 31
Always a fun problem. Sounds like a loose ground or nurtural before the transfer switch
__________________
JP
Ejjt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2021, 05:23 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
gnvrvin's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Burien, Wa
Posts: 565
Is there a way to set your shore power to 15amp?
If it is higher something is trying to pull it down.

Some motorhomes can set shore power to different amperage settings such as our country coach.

If not try shutting off your higher amperage breakers on the motorhome panel.

You should only be trying to run lights and a fridge

How long of a run of I hope at least 10 gauge extension cord if your power cord does not reach the home outlet? If not you could be creating a huge voltage drop

Good luck and let us know what your find,
greg
__________________
Greg and Vicki R.
2004 Country Coach Intrigue "Sweet Serenade"
40' Tag Axle Quad slide CCI #11811
16 Jeep Wrangler, Airforce One
gnvrvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, electrical



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No electrical power at one lug (3) Left Front Electrical Center RobRoy Monaco Owner's Forum 18 03-31-2017 11:59 AM
Help help help Georgie Boy 1994 start problem BDS52 Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 13 02-04-2016 10:13 AM
help help help WD9BOB Class A Motorhome Discussions 7 09-08-2012 12:07 PM
Help, Help, Help, Oh Please Help. Possum RV Systems & Appliances 11 04-23-2012 10:35 PM
110V Electrical help needed wagonmaster2 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 9 12-03-2008 06:13 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.