Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2016, 05:54 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 389
Dupe
wildmanbaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-27-2016, 06:00 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 389
Dupe
wildmanbaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2016, 06:46 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
GraySeal65's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 608
Sounds like it lost throttle info in the ECU. I would try to find a shop that can perform a throttle re-learn.
__________________
1997 Country Coach Intrigue Horizon 36' (The Dinosaur Burner)
GraySeal65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2016, 06:49 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Sweetbriar's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3,324
Quote:
Originally Posted by ransil View Post
Pull codes
Without the fault codes there's no telling what's wrong. Staring with model year 2006 the throttle is fly-by-wire and if the engine management system isn't happy, for any number of reasons, you're not going anywhere soon.
Sweetbriar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2016, 10:27 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Unplanned Tourist's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Kamloops, BC, 60 miles from the Center of the Universe
Posts: 4,821
$25-30.00 will get you a code reader to check out logged codes . Then you will have a better idea of the problem.
Unplanned Tourist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2016, 05:58 AM   #20
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 26
So I hooked up a code reader and got 2 codes. P2112 and P2104. I took off the intake and the throttle moves when the engine is off with the Key in the accessories position. So so I guess that's good that the throttle works. I am thinking maybe a bad throttle position sensor based on the codes. I could order a new sensor for around $75 and install it myself and clear the codes and hopefully be up and running again. We cancelled a camping trip this week already because of this mess. The Ford dealer is backed up with 6 other coaches and he said that he would not be able to get to it for at least 2 weeks.
mikey1011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2016, 07:18 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
Waiter21's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 7,114
Check RockAuto for your parts...

I Googled the error codes, there seems to be a lot of throttle body issues with this code. Rock Auto has a reman throttle body for $140.

Read through this thread - Its a class C but has same V10 engine.

http://www.irv2.com/forums/f23/2005-...te-172272.html

Interesting - Scroll down to post #17......
__________________
1999 Fleetwood Southwind 35S (Ford F53 6.8L V10 275hp 4R100 4 spd trans) - Toad 2003 Saturn Vue.

It won't do MACH 2, but I can get a sandwich and take a pee.
Waiter21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2016, 08:50 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 389
Mikey, I would call around to repair shops to see if they would work on it. The V10 was in quite a few Fords, 3/4 ton pickups, vans, and navigators. Truck repair would be a good option. Don't limit yourself to just Ford dealers. This problem is not just limited to MHs.
wildmanbaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2016, 10:02 AM   #23
Senior Member
 
Sweetbriar's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3,324
Post #17 was mine. Throttle motor was actually jammed which made it pretty easy to figure out. With the engine off it took a bit of effort to move the throttle body butterflies. Still running fine three years after a driveway repair.

When you power up, but before the engine starts, the throttle will do a self test which includes commanding it to full open and back to closed. If the feed back is other than what the system expected it will drop the throttle to idle only which is what mine did.

If your code reader can do a continuous update of the throttle position it's pretty easy to check it, even with the engine off but powered applied. P2112 is the fault while P2104 is advisory.
Sweetbriar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2016, 04:53 PM   #24
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 26
Codes

I put a code reader on and it gave me 2 codes. P2104 and P2112. I'm done messing with it and risking further damage. I have tried all the things you guys have suggested and I thank you for the guidance. A hard lesson learned. Don't mess with the battery if you don't know exactly what you are doing. These new engines are no longer plug and play like the good ole days. So, It is getting towed to the Ford dealer next week. I will post the outcome and cost of damages so everyone else will know what they will be up against if they decide to disconnect the chassis battery or replace it themselves.
mikey1011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2016, 05:25 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 3,401
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikey1011 View Post
I put a code reader on and it gave me 2 codes. P2104 and P2112. I'm done messing with it and risking further damage. I have tried all the things you guys have suggested and I thank you for the guidance. A hard lesson learned. Don't mess with the battery if you don't know exactly what you are doing. These new engines are no longer plug and play like the good ole days. So, It is getting towed to the Ford dealer next week. I will post the outcome and cost of damages so everyone else will know what they will be up against if they decide to disconnect the chassis battery or replace it themselves.
Definitely will be looking forward to that update. Good luck man.
marjoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2016, 01:44 AM   #26
Senior Member
 
Brockx's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Port Charlotte Florida
Posts: 2,715
Somewhere on the Ford Chassis Forum I read that depressing the throttle down to any extent while starting will reset the throttle position sensor. I have not been able to find the post.

If you are in the habit of putting your foot on the throttle when starting, don't. IMHO it would be worth a try to restart your engine being sure not to touch the throttle and leave it run a few minutes to see if it relearns before depressing the throttle. Just changing the battery will cause a relearn period, but should not cause what you are experiencing.

https://www.fleet.ford.com/truckBBAS/non-html/Q130.pdf
__________________
2008 Bounder 38P F53 24/30K V10, 2013 Kia Soul Basic 6 speed manual, Ready Brake Elite tow system (previous equipment 1996 Pace Arrow Vision w/Acme Dolly)
Brockx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2016, 12:59 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
rjsupersonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 615
I have heard of this happening before, although I recently replaced my starting battery in my 07 Sea Breeze / 06 chassis and had no issue. I wish I could remember the where I read the solution? It involved re-setting or replacing the ECM.
__________________
2007 National Sea Breeze
rjsupersonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2016, 01:31 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 336
I've got manual battery disconnect (like the one in the pic below) on the negative side of my chassis battery. It's been used probably a 100 times at least. No effect on the engine.
Attached Images
 
__________________
2004 Phoenix Cruiser 2551
2014 Winnebago Vista 31KE
Toad 2013 Sonic Turbo LT AT
emcee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ford, v10



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2013 Ford 6.8L V10 air filter and other generic ford question. nomad10th Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 11 11-17-2013 12:06 AM
2013 Ford F53 Throttle Response Issue ecalvi Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 10 05-24-2013 09:49 PM
Consequences of Dead, DEAD batteries? MarkofSJC Class A Motorhome Discussions 45 12-04-2012 07:32 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.