Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 12-13-2021, 07:52 AM   #1

Getting Stuck with a Diesel Pusher

Hi all, I am fairly new to IRV2 and a newbie to RV’ing and quite interested in many of the subjects. After retiring from ownership of a heavy-duty truck dealership in Ontario Canada we decided we would like to do some traveling in a motorhome. We purchased a 2018 Pace Arrow 33D last year for the specific reason to travel out west and into the Yukon with Tuktoyaktuk and Arctic Ocean our ultimate goals. Being new to RV’ing I have been watching, reading and learning much about the different situations one can find themselves in. Getting stuck was a big one and in most cases cost thousands of dollars and/or a lot of work to get unstuck.

My dealership specialized in heavy-duty log trucks and other construction vehicles. We had one option that was a necessity for the log trucks working in the bush and soft ground being a Central Tire Inflation System. The function of the system was to deflate and inflate the tires from the convenience of remaining in the cab when soft ground and/or mud were present thus gaining extra traction. Getting stuck was as simple as flicking a switch in the cab and the tires would deflate enabling the truck to move on its own. BTW, these trucks will often weigh well over 100,000 pounds.