Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2020, 12:27 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 56
Exclamation HELP - LP furnace won't start.

I didn't winterize - because we plan to use the RV through the winter.

Up until yesterday - everything seemed to be fine. (I'm pretty sure I heard the furnace when I went by the RV yesterday.)

Today - I checked and it's cold inside the RV. Furnace won't start.
I have plenty of propane. Hot water heater is working. Cooktop working, also.

I've cycled the furnace switch, several times and the fan never comes on.
I do hear a click - seems like down by the furnace. But, no fan.

Is there a fuse or something on that furnace fan? A circuit breaker?
It's supposed to get pretty cold, tonight - and continue cold for a few days - so this is kinda critical.
opa6x57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-08-2020, 12:33 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 17,057
Furnace DC should be a from a FUSED source...so check if Feeder Fuse in Main DC Fuse Panel is blown

DC may also come from the A/C Unit Control Module....depending on which MH you have

Furnace may have an On/Off CB Switch on frame of furnace. Resets by pushing center button in

You didn't post brand/model of furnace
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2020, 12:39 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old-Biscuit View Post

You didn't post brand/model of furnace
I'm not sure what it is. I see it under the cooktop - but, I didn't see any switches or anything on it.

I'll go out, again and see if I can figure anything out.
opa6x57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2020, 01:01 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 164
mine did the same thing.I went outside and took cover off of blower and jiggled the sail switch now works fine. check sail switch.
jeanluc001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2020, 01:06 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 56
In the stack of manuals, I have a book that says "Suburban - SF-42F"

I have a picture of the top of the furnace - where there's a label that says "Suburban" - but, I cannot see a model number on the furnace.


I located the 15A DC fuse in the fuse panel - checks GOOD with multimeter.

There are only a few AC circuit breakers - none are labeled Furnace.
opa6x57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2020, 01:17 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
OldWEB's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 292
If you have the manual, help yourself by reading the "trouble shooting" section. Find the model number outside the MH, under the furnace cover. Good luck
OldWEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2020, 01:21 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 17,057
Quote:
Originally Posted by opa6x57 View Post
In the stack of manuals, I have a book that says "Suburban - SF-42F"

I have a picture of the top of the furnace - where there's a label that says "Suburban" - but, I cannot see a model number on the furnace.


I located the 15A DC fuse in the fuse panel - checks GOOD with multimeter.

There are only a few AC circuit breakers - none are labeled Furnace.
Furnace is 12VDC...no AC used
If you have an exterior furnace panel you can access the inner workings of furnace....remove the intak/exhaust ports then remove the panel

No exterior panel//////
then you have to remove intake/exhaust ports and then remove furnace from the interior casing (PITA)


Suburban - SF-42F wiring diagram



Suburban Furnace Service Manual
Pg 7 --removal
Pg 26 --- operational sequence (fan control module) *most likely yours
Pg 29 --- operational sequence (Timed Delay Relay --- older models)
Pg 30/31 --- troubleshooting guide (step by Step)

http://techsupport.pdxrvwholesale.co...ing-Manual.pdf
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2020, 01:29 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldWEB View Post
If you have the manual, help yourself by reading the "trouble shooting" section. Find the model number outside the MH, under the furnace cover. Good luck
No troubleshooting section in the manual - it's about 5 pages - mostly about how to install.


EDIT I see someone posted a link to a complete manual. I'm reviewing it, now.
opa6x57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2020, 01:37 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 3,422
Quote:
Originally Posted by opa6x57 View Post
In the stack of manuals, I have a book that says "Suburban - SF-42F"

I have a picture of the top of the furnace - where there's a label that says "Suburban" - but, I cannot see a model number on the furnace.


I located the 15A DC fuse in the fuse panel - checks GOOD with multimeter.

There are only a few AC circuit breakers - none are labeled Furnace.
Your furnace is 100% DC.

Stand by, Old-Biscuit will have some troubleshooting suggestions and questions. In the mean time I suggest you read the manual because O-B will be referring to it.
__________________
2005 Four Winds Majestic 23A
ďTo the world you may be one person; but to one person you may be the world.Ē - Dr Suess
Solo_RV_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2020, 01:45 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 56
Quote:
No exterior panel//////
then you have to remove intake/exhaust ports and then remove furnace from the interior casing (PITA)
Yeah - no external panel - just intake/exhaust ports.

I don't see much in the way of screws or anything on that interior casing - unless I'm just missing something.

Oh, boy.
opa6x57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2020, 02:10 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 56
Since the blower never starts - I'm thinking this is not just something simple.

Crap.
opa6x57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2020, 03:28 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
OldWEB's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 292
Like the commercial says "You're in good hands with Old-Biscuit"
OldWEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2020, 03:35 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 17,057
Quote:
Originally Posted by opa6x57 View Post
Yeah - no external panel - just intake/exhaust ports.

I don't see much in the way of screws or anything on that interior casing - unless I'm just missing something.

Oh, boy.
Pg 7 ...removal

Quote:
Originally Posted by opa6x57 View Post
Since the blower never starts - I'm thinking this is not just something simple.

Crap.
Fan not starting...
Could be that On/Off CB Switch has tripped
It is pathway for 12VDC TO thermostat
Could be bad thermostat
Could be bad connection on circuit board
Could be bad circuit board

Voltmeter is your friend
Follow the DC to furnace, to thermostat, from thermostat, to circuit board

Link has wiring diagram and I also posted the wiring diagram

W/O external panel...you HAVE to remove furnace to test cause RV MFG designer never had to work on one.
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2020, 04:24 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old-Biscuit View Post
<snip>
Could be that On/Off CB Switch has tripped
<snip>

I'm guessing that switch is 'internal'?
opa6x57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ace, furnace



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Atwood Furnace - Blower Won't Start SteveZ494 RV Systems & Appliances 8 04-10-2017 11:16 AM
Furnace won't start - Georgetown 378XL CapnJustice Class A Motorhome Discussions 3 12-31-2016 05:30 PM
Atwood furnace won't start Stan&Jacquie Class A Motorhome Discussions 4 05-21-2016 09:23 AM
Furnace/fan/heat won't start CC Allure 2000 CntryBumpkin Country Coach Owners Forum 7 02-09-2016 01:33 AM
Atwood Furnace won't start drolds442w30 Class A Motorhome Discussions 20 11-28-2011 11:01 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.