Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-16-2017, 07:20 AM   #1

Homemade DIY Front Cover/Bra

I have a 2004 Diplomat. I was never a great fan of the shape and colors on the front. Looks kinda dated and boring. The clear protector had nearly cracked itself to death...removed. Tried to use another DIY film, and that wasn't great. When I bought the rig, the front already had some quarter-size nicks. Now it has lots and lots of nicks, but honestly, it needed to be repainted the day I bought it.

So my options were: 1) repaint the whole front and put back on a 3M clear protector. Lots of money. 2) Cover up the ugly front and not care about painting it right now with a purchased cover. Kinda ugly and still a good bit of money. 3) DIY front cover.

I chose #3. Why? I don't care if the paint on the front gets scratched, faded, oxidized or the clear coat is messed with. It's already in need of a complete repaint, but I don't want to repaint something that I really didn't like the look of anyway. In my mind, my RV is really nice looking, except for the front. Why pay all the money to repaint something that even with a fresh coat of paint is...ehh.