RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-16-2020, 12:43 AM   #1

How to properly drive a Ford 460 7.5L? Please advice

Hi

There may have been a thread about this somewhere but I can’t seem to find it. I’m new to motorhome. Can someone tell me how properly drive a Ford 460 7.5 (E40D transmission) when going through hills and when to turn off over-drive, or when I need down shift to 2nd with or without over-drive? I was going through the Rockies and I think my rig was struggling and it maybe because of my driving.

2nd is

This 1996 Winnebago vectra grand tour (43k miles) that I just bought from the original owner and it is in literally like new condition, no signs of age at all on the interior. Very lil wear and aging slightly on the exterior. The previous owner had put brand new stuff (hoses, belts, radiator, exhaust system). He also had AAMCO rebuilt the transmission in 2018 but the tranny is now broken and I’m rebuilding it again with AAMCO with the promise of a extended warranty at no additional cost (plus I have no choice because AAMCO is the only place near by when we got stranded). I made it through the Rockies just fine. The next day we take the rig going around Denver for couple hours just fine as well. And then while taking my family (8 adults + 8 kids) going slowly through “Garden of Gods”, I notice the over-drive flashing after I downshift to 1 gear when going downhill. Then I completely stall (doesn’t move when I gas) and we got stranded.