Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2020, 04:28 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 7
HVAC power issues on shore power/not with generator

Could use some help, please. We have a 2014 4369. Having issue with HVAC. Cold 42 this morning in WY, turned heat on and no response/no error message. Checked post where plugged into shore power; looked ok.
Checked fuses. Tried again and got E7 error message on the thermostat control panel, but central monitoring panel says we are getting 50 amps to coach. Electric stove also will not turn on but everything else seems ok. We moved south, now in CO. Stopped on the way down, turned on generator and everything works. At site, again plugged into shore and same issue when trying AC. E7 message on zones 1 & 2. Zone 3 running fine. Getting 50 amps power. Flipped all fuses in mid bath. Anything else we can do? Automatic Transfer Switch was not tripped.


Bev_n_Boose is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-30-2020, 06:06 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,908
Sounds like a transfer switch problem on the shore side but when generator is running you've got power since it gives it priority.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 08:23 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacwjames View Post
Sounds like a transfer switch problem on the shore side but when generator is running you've got power since it gives it priority.

Thanks, jacwjames. We show 50 amps coming in to coach, but Line 1 shows
L1 2volts/ 0 amps; L2 118volts/15 amps. Will talk to the Newmar tech tomorrow and see if they can help.
Bev_n_Boose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 09:27 PM   #4
Community Moderator
 
Lt Dan's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 10,014
First off, Welcome to IRV2!

You definitely have a power problem on one leg. It could be the transfer switch as previously noted or a defective shore power cord. If you have a power reel for your shore cord, those are known to lose contact with the rotary brushes.
__________________
2017 Phaeton 40IH XSH Maroon Coral - Power Glide Chassis with IFS
Previously '15 Tiffin Allegro RED 38QRA and '06 Itasca Sunrise 35A
'16 Jeep JKU Wrangler Sahara or '08 Honda Goldwing
Lt Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 09:28 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Sky_Boss's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ON THE ROAD...SOMEWHERE
Posts: 6,958
Check the breaker for the block heater.

(OK...EDIT...I see you may have flipped all the breakers in the bathroom but double check it.)

Did you try to connect to another power post?
__________________
Don, Sandee & GSD Zeus. Guardian GSDs Gunny (7/11/15) & Thor (5/5/15)
2006 2015 DSDP 4320 4369, FL Chassis, 2013 CR-V 2020 Jeep Overland, Blue Ox Avail, SMI AF1.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Sky_Boss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 07:03 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lt Dan View Post
First off, Welcome to IRV2!

You definitely have a power problem on one leg. It could be the transfer switch as previously noted or a defective shore power cord. If you have a power reel for your shore cord, those are known to lose contact with the rotary brushes.

Thank you, Lt Dan. Hope to have answers soon. We removed our power reel 18 months ago due to similar, but different issues. Just praying we can get an appointment.
Bev_n_Boose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 07:12 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sky_Boss View Post
Check the breaker for the block heater.

(OK...EDIT...I see you may have flipped all the breakers in the bathroom but double check it.)

Did you try to connect to another power post?

Okay, I went back and reflipped the breakers. No luck. We have connected to 50 amp power in two locations.



Thanks for your suggestions, Sky Boss.
Bev_n_Boose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 07:45 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Wainscott NY
Posts: 247
Have you checked all the wire connections inside the transfer switch? They do become loose from time to time. While you are in there, check all voltage. Stan
__________________
Stan & Mary, and Lucy a Canine Princess in Training....

2021 Tiffin Allegro Bus 35cp, 2014 Cadillac SRX toad
36PFT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 01:10 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Sky_Boss's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ON THE ROAD...SOMEWHERE
Posts: 6,958
Quote:
Originally Posted by 36PFT View Post
Have you checked all the wire connections inside the transfer switch? They do become loose from time to time. While you are in there, check all voltage. Stan
That is the next step. Also if you have a separate surge protector:

1. If it is an external device isolate it and plug in without the device.

2. If it is internal you will also want to check the wiring "under the cover". I once had one where one screw holding a wire was loose. While a loose connection has other symptoms that can be strange and/or intermittent, it is worth the look see. Actually, I make that an annual check.

OH...also...

I'm not sure what years were most affected but some power cord reels have had an issue with the contacts going bad. You may need to find a way to check voltage and/or continuity to the reel and then coming out of the reel. Of course, start by validating those things at the power post first and work back towards any surge protector that might be before the ATS, power into the ATS then out of the ATS.

Time to go "Sherlock Holmes".
__________________
Don, Sandee & GSD Zeus. Guardian GSDs Gunny (7/11/15) & Thor (5/5/15)
2006 2015 DSDP 4320 4369, FL Chassis, 2013 CR-V 2020 Jeep Overland, Blue Ox Avail, SMI AF1.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Sky_Boss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 07:28 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 7
Thanks for the suggestion. Will check. We do have an appt for service on Monday if we can't figure it out prior. We will be heading south in a few weeks and will need all 3 ACs.
Bev_n_Boose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 07:51 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Domo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 1,096
When you say checked fuses and flipped breakers do you actually mean;
1. you used a meter to verify the fuses where good, removed them from their sockets and reinserted them? (that will mean the fuse link is good AND you've help clean/break any corrosions that might be on the fuse/socket contacts)
2. You FORCEFULLY pushed the breaker switch into the OFF position and then pushed it all the way to ON and it remained in the ON position and the "tab" is in alignment with all the other breakers.

I only ask, because many folks "look" for a blown fuse thinking there will always be a blackened spot that can be seen, or that the fuse-link will be noticeably broken.

Also, many folks simply push a breaker to the "on" position (or gently push it off and then on) and walk away - which is NOT the proper way to reset a tripped breaker.

I'm hoping you might still have a simple problem that may have been overlooked when frustrated and moving too fast...
__________________
2008 Phaeton 36QSH, Safe-t-Plus, Quadra Bigfoot
2017 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk w/ flat tow wiring mod.
Blue ox, BrakeMaster + BrakeAway, diode lights and charge.
Domo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 11:30 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Rkesselus's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Bastrop Texas
Posts: 1,320
Not sure on your system but some systems require 12 to thermostates etc. Have you checked the 12 v. side of things. Shore vs Gen.
__________________
2000 Allegro Bus 35R 3126 Cat 300 Allison 3060MD 6 speed
Rkesselus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 11:38 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
KanzKran's Avatar


 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 1,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Domo View Post
Also, many folks simply push a breaker to the "on" position (or gently push it off and then on) and walk away - which is NOT the proper way to reset a tripped breaker.
That's DW's sister. I don't know how many hours I've spent on the phone in the last 30 years talking her through resetting them. It just doesn't compute I guess.
__________________
Tom & Jeri
2018 Coachmen Galleria 24T Li3
KanzKran is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2020, 11:25 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rkesselus View Post
Not sure on your system but some systems require 12 to thermostates etc. Have you checked the 12 v. side of things. Shore vs Gen.
While talking with Neumar, we disconnected and reset the thermostats. They were fine. Reset did not make a difference. Thanks
Bev_n_Boose is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator, power, shore power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power issues, no shore power, no generator power. Only some when engine running Goebs Fleetwood Owner's Forum 13 03-25-2020 07:06 AM
Converter going bad when on 50 amp shore, but not 30 amp shore Loraura RV Systems & Appliances 10 10-07-2017 02:21 PM
Plugging into shore power trips shore power breaker BFF Travel Supreme Owner's Forum 8 07-28-2017 10:53 PM
Onan EC-30 auto start issues...won't start for HVAC CALL jstdreamin MH-General Discussions & Problems 7 05-24-2016 11:04 AM
Denso HVAC issues mchero Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 2 03-18-2015 07:19 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.