Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2023, 12:43 AM   #1
Member
 
Mr.Mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 46
Just a question about 30A/50A switch

Hello from Germany,
I have a question.
My National Dolphin has a switch that allows me to switch from 30A to 50A shore power.
We don't have this at our campsites in germany, but I would still like to know the function of this switch.
Does it simply switch off a phase on which the second air conditioning system is running, for example?
Maybe someone can explain the function behind this switch to me.
Thank you and greetings from Germany.
__________________
National Dolphin 6375LX MY 2004 Worhorse W24
Dodge RAM Laramie MY 2014 AWD, Ford F150 MY 2008 AWD, Chrysler 300c AWD, RAM Van B250 1983 RWD V8
Mr.Mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-27-2023, 09:33 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Tha_Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 8,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Mo View Post
Hello from Germany,

I have a question.

My National Dolphin has a switch that allows me to switch from 30A to 50A shore power.

We don't have this at our campsites in germany, but I would still like to know the function of this switch.

Does it simply switch off a phase on which the second air conditioning system is running, for example?

Maybe someone can explain the function behind this switch to me.

Thank you and greetings from Germany.


I might be the only one but Ive never heard of such a thing. Could you post picture?
__________________
2007 Fleetwood Revolution LE 40V
Tha_Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2023, 09:40 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 9,462
Never heard of one either!

Usually a 30A to 20A switch.

50A is noticed by electronics.
__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2023, 09:59 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 148
I'm with Tha_Rooster, will follow and hopefully learn something new.
__________________
2019 Palomino Solaire 147X
2013 Ford F150
TacomaJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2023, 10:42 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 33,194
You guys over there use straight 240 volt electric, right ?

With everything 240 volts, don't see a need to switch between 30 and 50 amp, unless it just switchs some stuff off.
Do they make a 30/50 adaptor ?
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2023, 10:55 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 3,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
You guys over there use straight 240 volt electric, right ?

With everything 240 volts, don't see a need to switch between 30 and 50 amp, unless it just switchs some stuff off.
Do they make a 30/50 adaptor ?
Europe is 240/ 50hertz. So his rv is wired to use 240 maybe. They have those little adapters for razors and toothbrushes and the like for when we travel.
__________________
2004 Dynasty 4
shootist is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2023, 11:06 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 6,643
Most using U.S. spec motorhomes in Europe use "European shore power" to power a high output battery charger and then a pure sine wave inverter to power the coach electrical system.


Less $$ than replacing all the 120 VAC/60 HZ appliances.
__________________
Brett Wolfe
Ex: 2003 Alpine 38FDDS. Ex: 1997 Safari Sahara. Ex: 1993 Foretravel U240
wolfe10 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2023, 01:34 PM   #8
Member
 
Mr.Mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 46
Funny that I'm asking you about a US RV and no one knows what I mean.
I mean the switch in the photo. It's also just a matter of interest.
I have to swap and convert a lot of the electrics.
(LP too. The tank, the stove and all LP lines have to go. You can't use them here. Stupid Germans:-/)
We have 220V and 50Hz here. But converting is not a problem. The US generator will later supply my RV with 110V and 220V.
If we want, we can even have 400V in every house here :-)
However, we only have a maximum of 16A at 220V on our campsites.
Unfortunately, this is not enough for both compressors in the US air conditioning system.
So this one has to go out and a "German" one has to go in. If you drive to Spain or further south/west you will also have less than 16A here and there.
I don't need to use the US AC there. That blows up the whole campsite :-)
Well, my thought was that this switch would switch off one phase. I'll find out with the gauge and report back.
But it will take a while, I'm currently working abroad for 6 weeks.

Sorry guys...
While writing this I found the solution. It seems to switch off the second compressor when you only have 30A shore power.

So now you know that too :-)

https://www.irv2.com/forums/f105/ope...ce-469014.html
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Switch.png
Views:	11
Size:	1.09 MB
ID:	389030  
__________________
National Dolphin 6375LX MY 2004 Worhorse W24
Dodge RAM Laramie MY 2014 AWD, Ford F150 MY 2008 AWD, Chrysler 300c AWD, RAM Van B250 1983 RWD V8
Mr.Mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2023, 02:27 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2023
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Mo View Post
Funny that I'm asking you about a US RV and no one knows what I mean.
I mean the switch in the photo. It's also just a matter of interest.
I have to swap and convert a lot of the electrics.
(LP too. The tank, the stove and all LP lines have to go. You can't use them here. Stupid Germans:-/)
We have 220V and 50Hz here. But converting is not a problem. The US generator will later supply my RV with 110V and 220V.
If we want, we can even have 400V in every house here :-)
However, we only have a maximum of 16A at 220V on our campsites.
Unfortunately, this is not enough for both compressors in the US air conditioning system.
So this one has to go out and a "German" one has to go in. If you drive to Spain or further south/west you will also have less than 16A here and there.
I don't need to use the US AC there. That blows up the whole campsite :-)
Well, my thought was that this switch would switch off one phase. I'll find out with the gauge and report back.
But it will take a while, I'm currently working abroad for 6 weeks.

Sorry guys...
While writing this I found the solution. It seems to switch off the second compressor when you only have 30A shore power.

So now you know that too :-)

https://www.irv2.com/forums/f105/ope...ce-469014.html
Yeah that seems like it would be something if you were for instance staying in a park with only a 30a service at the pedestal that would keep you from overloading the circuit
__________________
2000 Monaco La Palma 34s Ford F53 chassis 6.8 V10

Resealing the roof - A process
IcePyro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2023, 02:33 PM   #10
Community Administrator
 
Lt Dan's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 18,198
I had a basement air in our '06 Itasca and when on 30 amp service the second compressor was disabled. According to what I read in the page you posted, that switch just disables the second compressor.
__________________
2017 Phaeton 40IH XSH Maroon Coral - Power Glide Chassis with IFS
Previous '15 Tiffin Allegro RED 38QRA and '06 Itasca Sunrise 35A
'16 Jeep JKU Wrangler Sahara or '08 Honda Goldwing
Lt Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2023, 05:28 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Ray Lenning's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 198
I have a 2005 Dolphin . Lt.Dan is correct. The switch disconnects the #2 compressor on the basement heat pump to prevent overloading a 30 amp shore power breaker .
__________________
Ray & Melinda
2005 National Dolphin 5355 (MEPAW) , Koni FDS shocks, Safe-T-Plus , Front & Rear track bar , Sumo springs . She tows a 2006 Tacoma 4X4
Ray Lenning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2023, 11:29 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Ray Lenning's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 198
Mr. Mo . You will get better results on this forum if you post on the Chassis and Owner sections . With your current rig Workhorse section for chassis questions and the National owners section for anything to do with the house part .
Hope this helps .
__________________
Ray & Melinda
2005 National Dolphin 5355 (MEPAW) , Koni FDS shocks, Safe-T-Plus , Front & Rear track bar , Sumo springs . She tows a 2006 Tacoma 4X4
Ray Lenning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2023, 03:36 AM   #13
Member
 
Mr.Mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 46
Yes, that's right, but this question was not type-dependent for me.
__________________
National Dolphin 6375LX MY 2004 Worhorse W24
Dodge RAM Laramie MY 2014 AWD, Ford F150 MY 2008 AWD, Chrysler 300c AWD, RAM Van B250 1983 RWD V8
Mr.Mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2023, 03:13 PM   #14
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: West Palm Beach, FL. USA
Posts: 26,268
That switch is strictly to control how the basement a/c unit works when only 30A/120v power is available. Basically the 30A position prevents one of the two a/c compressors from coming on, substantially reducing the amp load on the source power connection. You never need to use it if you have more than 30A of external power available.
Your German power system is operating at 220v but not necessarily more than 30A, e.g. your 16A campsites. Use the switch if the available amps is less than about 35-38. If is probably not sufficient if the available amps is only 16; the a/c can run at about 14A but the start-up power surge will exceed 16A every time.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition and several other RVs
Home is West Palm Beach, FL
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
switch



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30a fixed umbilical to 30a twist lock Pdx camper RV Systems & Appliances 0 04-14-2022 11:29 PM
Question on "power selector" 50A, 30A, 20A, Gen on new coaches brokenrule RV Systems & Appliances 7 07-04-2017 10:36 AM
Use of 50A Surge Protector with 30A Pigtail for 30A Shore Power hugh37 Newmar Owner's Forum 9 07-08-2016 01:14 PM
50A to 30A question TXredfish Class A Motorhome Discussions 9 02-16-2013 09:16 PM
30A to 50A Step Up Transformer? Houdini52 5th Wheel Discussion 53 12-04-2010 08:06 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.